We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location, extremely comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location, extremely comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were here for a week in May and had requested a quiet room as we were concerned about the noise on New York's streets. We were delighted with our lovely, super-quiet room away from the hustle and bustle. It was perfect to return to after a busy day. The room was spacious and very clean and although the bed was a bit too soft for our liking it was large and reasonably comfortable. The staff were extremely polite and helpful. We will definitely be recommending this marvellous little hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,695
    529
    67
    11
    10
See reviews for
757
908
66
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at The Pearl for a week from may 4th to May -11th.the booking was made entirely based on the reviews on this website.the room was big and spacious, with an excellent bathroom,the shower was excellent and separate tub was great too. Everything was very clean, I couldn't believe this as I I have traveled a lot and I have never found a clean hotel, as they claim to be. The coffee making machine intake room with a microwave was great as we could make our own coffee anytime and warm any takeaways without the need to throw them away.Location location, what can I say, so close to Times Square and Central Park and everywhere you'd want to go. It was even a $10taxi fare to the cruise terminal which was great!!!The staff were very nice and accommodating to any requests we made , was able to get a luggage scale and even borrowed their office stapler to staple luggage tags to our luggage.the breakfast was small but sufficient for us, as this was something better than nothing. The wine and cheese house from 4 to 5 was wonderful and I s able to taste some of the American wines which was good.overall I loved our stay at The Pearl, I will highly recommend if you are a clean freak and like everything clean and tidy.Excellent location and facilities.lovely friendly staff.Looking forward to visit New York and stay at your hotel..:).

Room Tip: Quiet side is towards back of hotel. Higher floors are reccomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Spent 5 nights here with my mum for my 40 th and her 65th. We got a free upgrade and bottle of wine! Room was lovely. Could fit whole family in the shower! Staff were lovely. They printed tickets for ground zero and our boarding passes for us. Jassina was really sweet. Location was perfect. Next door to Chicago and across from the Book of Mormon. You can buy cheaper tickets on the day at Tkts in Times Square. Popular shows such as Lucky guy, Jersey Town and Motown don't go cheap so boom them in advance. We had a fantastic holiday. Could not fault the hotel or the location. Thank you.

Room Tip: We had 805. No view but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for the last four days of our trip to the USA and were very happy with our choice. The hotel is located just off Times Square and is in easy walking distance of many of the attractions. The hotel is modern and very clean and despite its proximity to Times Square, the noise was not an issue at all. Breakfast was also good, with a great selection of pastries and bagels.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor and didn't hear the noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perthtravellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Last week we made last-minutes plans to spend 2 nights in NYC and found The Pearl thanks to a listing in Trip Advisor. It is indeed a "gem" and a huge value. We reserved the last room available at the time of booking, but when we checked in were immediately given a choice of 2 upgrades - one with a large terrace with comfortable outdoor furniture.
Our king-sized room (we opted not to take the terrace room since the weather forecast was not great) was large, modern, well-furnished, impeccable and, although only on the 6th floor near the corner of 8th Ave and 49th St, absolutely sound-proof.
The bed was extremely comfortable, the ample breakfast is an added plus and the hotel offers a wine hour each afternoon.
Finally, the staff was friendly and accommodating without being overbearing.
This will definitely be our new "go to" hotel when we're in New York.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbripple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Pearl is a "gem" in the theatre district . It is about 2 years young. The modern accommodations, the service, the value and the location are exceptional. They even include a generous continental breakfast. We plan to stay at The Pearl whenever we are in New York for shows. All are in walking distance. This hotel is a home run.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are quiet. To make sure, we make that request. They accommodated us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBerry5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhampton Beach, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Pearl was a great find - I'm actually hesitant to post this review because I want to keep it a secret! The location is ideal - whether you are going to see a show or want to be central to it all - this is the spot. We are New Yorkers who Live on the East End of Long Island who decided to have a simple honeymoon close to home in NYC. We were definitely NOT disappointed! The staff was very friendly, accommodating and helpful. The hotel is CLEAN, the beds are comfortable and the rooms are spacious. We were upgraded from the Queen Deluxe to the King - It was great! I cannot say enough positive things about this hotel. We are anxious to book our next stay here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,313 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing