We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Pearl” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #17 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A true Pearl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had 10 nights in this fantastic hotel. Lovely hotel, perfect location, and good service. We had a Superior Queen Suite, which gave us 2 queen size beds in a large room, with a small sitting room attached and a large ensuite. The bedroom was very comfortable, although like some other reviews, the TV remotes do not seem to work some of the time. The sitting room is a small room with a lounge, TV and "kitchenette". We specifically booked this room for the kitchenette, but was very disappointed to see that the kitchenette is just a microwave and a small fridge. I could not understand why provide a microwave, but absolutely no crockery or cutlery. There was a coffee machine that room service would supply paper cups for, but that was it as far as kitchen facilities. It does seem a bit useless to have a kitchenette with NO plates. The bathroom was large and beautifully appointed. The rooms are kept very clean by the lovely room service staff.

The breakfast was adequate for the first few days, but I must admit we were really sick of the same food day after day. The door men were really lovely and polite and always greeted us with a smile. The staff on the front desk were also very pleasant.

The location is superb with everything so close. The coffee shop (Caffe Bene) on the corner is excellent, and the Food Emporium supermarket on the other corner is very convenient. We saw quite a few shows whilst in NY and it is so nice to stroll back to the hotel afterwards. Everything in NY is within walking distance, or a short ride on the subway, which is so easy to use.

Overall we loved the hotel, as its location is fantastic. It is nice that it is just down a side street from the madness of Times Square, as it seems like you can escape this madness. We would not look anywhere else when it comes to choosing a hotel in NY.

One tip to note is don't try to see a show on a Sunday or Monday night if using the TKTS booth to obtain cheap tickets, as most of the shows are not on those 2 nights, so the options are very limited.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EddiOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,574
    484
    61
    10
    10
See reviews for
688
847
63
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
228 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked this hotel for its proximity to the Eugene O'Neill theater as my trip was entirely planned around seeing the Book of Mormon. It is directly across the street from the theater and Chicago is playing right next door to the hotel. The hotel features ultra modern furnishings and a lovely TV right in front of the toilet (this, I do not understand). The room was very clean and the bell service was friendly. I had them hold my fancy luggage--my backpack--as I traipsed around town before my room was ready. There is a subway stop less than a block from the hotel and, without needing any connections, you can get to all the big stuff on Manhattan from there. I did the WTC memorial, Empire State Building, and of course, Broadway. You are also just a few blocks from central park, but the weekend I went it was unexpectedly cold and I wasn't prepared for any kind of outdoor activity. The restaurant in the hotel was excellent (for a price) as well. The hotel was not cheap, but it was neat and clean, with good security, and in a perfect location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TammyS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, SD
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here the last week in April and were very pleased with the hotel. The location can't be beat. It is 1/2 block off of Times Square, across the street from "Book of Mormon" and next door to "Chicago". Several subways stops are with in a block or two. The staff was wonderful and eager to please. The decor was very nice - especially the bathrooms. The beds were very comfortable and it was nice to be able to open the windows. We all enjoyed the breakfast and always found a variety of food and a place to sit. My only complaints (and the are small) are that the TV in the bedroom didn't always turn on with the remote control. It's not like we were sitting around the room for hours watching it, but when we were getting ready in the morning and wanted some news and weather, it took several minutes of fiddling with the remote to get it to work. The other small complaint is that the hallway tended to be a little stuffy and dark, but again, that was pretty minor. Tip for travelers who don't want to take a taxi to the airport: From the hotel, take the subway to the Times Square station. Then do the long walk through the tunnel to the E train to Sutphin Blvd/JFK Airport. From there take the AirTrain ($5) and you will get dropped off right in front of your terminal. The subway ride took 1/2 hour. The AirTrain was another 15 or so minutes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoDakTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked on the hotel website and obtained a weekend rate. On arrival our booking could not be found. A manager was called and the error was corrected, another person with the same name had made a similar booking. The room was very nice, clean and well maintained. Plenty of good quality towels and good bed linen. Very nice toiletries. Internet was included and good connection.
Staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on rear, although no view are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyXSteveUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Excellent location, small,quite and very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are clean and fairly large by New York standard. Parked car with valet and got it back on time as promised.Complimentary breakfast nice touch.Will go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michou32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

What can be said about The Pearl that hasn't already been said? The location is near perfect - walking distance to many New York attractions and if you need to use public transport (and it is so easy) there is a subway entrance nearby and bus stops for travel in all directions. The rooms are big (by New York stndards) and very well equipped (TV in the bathroom!) with very comfortable beds. A continental breakfast is available, although it must be said it is fairly basic, and the wine and cheese in the afternoon is a gerat way to relax after a busy day seeing the sights. And if you have tickets to The Book of Morman, the theatre is directly opposite.

Room Tip: We had room 807. It was excellent - comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Spent 4 nights in NYC with my family for spring break. I had stayed at The Pearl last year and thought it was our best choice for this trip.

The location is the best feature of this hotel, since it is steps away from Times Square and Broadway...but on a relatively quiet street.

Check-in went OK - front desk insisted on seeing my husband's ID even though I had made the reservations (held us up as he was outside handling luggage unloading and handing off car to valet).

Rooms we stayed in were spacious with plenty of storage space, but did not have much of a view (overlooked the workout room of another building). I was disapponted to find that our rooms did not have bath tubs - only showers. After a long day of walking in the city, a hot bath would have been nice.

We had some problems with the tv ... Had to use the remote from the bathroom to turn on the bedroom tv sometimes. We didn't have any problems with street noise because we faced another building, but we could hear the people in the next room ( a British family with a baby that cried a lot).

We went to the second floor for breakfast a couple times. It is pretty basic: yogurt, bagels, muffins, cereal. Will meet your needs for a simple breakfast - otherwise there is a coffee shop on the corner of Broadway and 49th with more choices.

We did pick up some tickets to Wicked - theater was only two blocks away. Nice to leave a show and only have a quick walk to the hotel.

We went to Times square each night - great people watching and some good shopping options.
The area was on high security at the time due to the bombings in Boston. There was a large police presence in many parts of the city.

Hotel is small enough for front desk to keep track of the guests and who is coming and going. The ins and outs were slowed a little by elevators...there are only 2 and there was sometimes a long wait.

Hotel was good, but not as good as first visit last year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnGHartfordCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
Casablanca Hotel Times Square
#4 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 5,017 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#29 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Hotel Giraffe
#3 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,117 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel
Library Hotel
#5 of 479 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 3,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing