We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel convenient to theaters”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. The hotel is located right in the theater district, across the street from the Eugene O'Neill Theater where Book of Mormon is playing. It's a short walk from here to Times Square and Rockefeller Center as well as not too far from some west side attractions like The Daily Show and the Intrepid. The staff was extremely helpful, and they sent up a complimentary bottle of champagne and a nice card when they found out it was our anniversary. There is free continental breakfast available, standard bagels, muffins, etc. but a nice option if you're looking to avoid paying for breakfast in the city. The room was a nice size though the bathroom was a tiny bit cramped...not much space near the sink. We were on the 8th floor overlooking 49th street and the traffic noise was noticeable during the day but not at night.

Overall, a great hotel if you're staying in the city to see some shows.

Room Tip: Try for 8th floor and above to minimize traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PearlHotelNYC, General Manager at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thank you for selecting us to to celebrate your occasion, i'm glad you enjoyed your time here. I appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,436 - 1,442 of 2,428 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

Had to change my reservation due to an AA flight cancellation, hotle agreed to change for free but hotels.com refused and charged me $150 to change, so not hotel's fault (i did not know hoels.com was actually expedia or i would not have used them, i hat expedia).... Anyway hotel rooms small but normal for NYC, and very nice, fridge, microwave in room,; nice showers, comfortable bed, friendly staff, good breakfast buffet included. Great room service food provided by popular restaurant in lobby.

Noisiest elevators i have ever experienced, serious need of oil or something. Normally dont care if i am near elevators, usually sleep through anything but i met my match being beside these ones. Had to change rooms, its was like sleeping in a haunted house.

Room Tip: Stay away from that elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We took a short trip to New York City and stayed overnight at the Pearl Hotel. As soon as we walked in we were greeted by the friendly hotel staff. We arrived a little early, so we did not expect our room to be ready. Jesseña (sp?) helped check us in and told us she would give us a call when the room was ready. We were able to store our luggage at the hotel, and went out to grab some lunch. About two hours later we received a call from Jesseña telling us our room was ready. We went back to the hotel to check into our room. Jesseña remembered who we were and handed us our room keys and wished us a happy anniversary. That was very nice of her to acknowledge it. I didn't think they would have the comments I wrote down from when I booked the room online. We had a beautiful room on the tenth floor, and to our surprise we were upgraded to a room with a balcony. There was a bottle and champagne and a card from the hotel wishing us a happy anniversary. Within minutes we had a phone call in the room and it was Jesseña calling checking to see how we liked the room. I must say, I've stayed at many hotels before, and the service we received here was outstanding. Jesseña really made this trip special! She went above and beyond our expectations! She has set the bar high for our future visit! We will definitely be returning to the Pearl. The location is great! Just a few minutes from Times Square and much more!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jinja704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed at the Pearl with my partner in June of last year. I was very impressed with the size of the room. I'm pretty sure he booked through a discount site, (hotwire or priceline). We were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves at the Pearl. The main room comfortably accommodated 2 queen sized beds, and even had a separate sitting/office area. There were 3 flat screens: TV, bedroom, bath. Very maintained rooms, lobby and the staff was very nice. The location may not be ideal for those vacationing, but it for us it was very convenient to my bf's meeting.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelLover731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights early March 2013 rooms were very spacious and very clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Excellent position so close to Times Square, theatres and restaurants. Thoroughly recommended we had an amazing time!

Room Tip: We were on the six floor and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CarleenChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Another great visit to this superbly run hotel. It is perfectly located, extremely clean, good sized rooms, wonderful shower, comfortable beds and Philosophy products. What's not to love? Complimentary wine happy hour and breakfast complete the package. You won't be disappointed!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
7  Thank vivvitale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times when info overnight broadway show and dinner nights with my wife. Great location.. Prices are not cheap but then this is manhattan but it is clean modern and so cozy . Friendly staff and a nice continental breakfast..

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jemilio74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#27 of 469 in New York City
3,087 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#68 of 469 in New York City
3,271 reviews
Midtown
LUMA Hotel Times Square
LUMA Hotel Times Square
#23 of 469 in New York City
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#84 of 469 in New York City
464 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 469 in New York City
3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $241 - $697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing