We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pearl hotel new york”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #27 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

this hotel is one of the best hotels we have stayed at the staff are great it is right on broadway
it has everthing you want for your stay you get a breakfast at 4till 5pm you can have wine and cheese not many hotels in ny offer this it was5star to us

Room Tip: we was on the 9 floor it was quiet did not hear enything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndanil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,569 - 1,575 of 2,410 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Wow! What a great decision it was to select and stay at the Pearl New York during a recent stay between 9/1-9/7/2012. With all the hotel choices there are in New York City and especially in the Time Square area, the Pearl New York stood out like a bright shining gem. This hotel was recently opened (2010), small (approximately 90 rooms), exceptionally clean, and the staff is very friendly, professional, and courteous. From the very moment when we checked in we were greeted with smiles. We were especially pleased to notice that the entire staff seemed very happy being part of this great hotel team. The hotel is perfectly located just a half a block away from Time Square and many of the other popular visitor areas to include restaurant row, Columbus Circle, the Empire State Building, and many other sites. Public transportation is very accessible and we found using the subway when visiting the 911 Memorial Site was fast and easy. It was a straight shot from the hotel to the memorial using the "E" Train. The hotel rooms were very large and comfortable. We selected a one bedroom suite which was very nice. It had three led tvs; one in the living room, one in the bedroom, and one in the bathroom. So, if you need to have a regular tv fix rest assured you won't miss any of your favorite shows. The continental breakfast was available every morning and quite frankly if you are a cereal, muffin, fruit, pastry, coffee, juice, tea, milk, or whatever junkie, then this expanded continental breakfast will certainly get you going in the morning. Between 4-5pm everyday they offer a nice wine, cheese, cracker, and fruit reception which if you are in the area of the hotel you should definitely take advantage of. What a way to wind down after a long day visiting the time square tourist areas. During our stay we took advantage of seeing three broadway plays, The Lion King, Jersey Boys, and Wicked. All three of these productions are definite see's! Finally, let me extend my personal thanks to a few of the Pearl professionals who helped make our stay a memorable one. Juliet, Teresa, and Jaime at the front desk greeted us on our first day during check in with professionalism and everyday after that always had a smile on their face and greeted us by name. Next, Brit and Christian the concierge's helped us with directions, restaurant reservations, and show information. There was never a moment where they would not make themselves available to help out. Thanks. Finally, the doormen, Manuel, Mourad, and Robert were always on top of their game when it came to greeting us when we departed and arrived back at the hotel, helped with our luggage or transporation requirements or just information on where to go and how to get there. Well done guys. Your professionalism, courtesy, and smiles are the reasons that we will be back to visit you again. Now, I know I forgot some of the great hotel staff professionals while recognizing them in this review. I apologize for this oversight but please know that we appreciated each of you that touched us during our stay. The Pearl New York Management Staff should be very proud to have all of you on their team. Your definitely have made a lasting impression with us; so much, that we will be back next year for our annual trip to NYC. Thanks again for all of your kind, courteous, and professional support and service.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a large, spacious room consider the one bedroom suite. Room 709 is a great c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tejas4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Staying here at the moment. This is a great hotel well suited to our needs. The plus points are:

- very quiet - you get a great night's sleep
- very clean
- all the staff are extremely pleasant & helpful. I forgot a UK adaptor and when I mentioned it one of them just offered to get me one without me asking
- good location
- spacious room
- it looks stylish
- there is a coffee maker, microwave and fridge (and a very good food shop a few doors along the street)
- continental breakfast is fine/good quality
- comfy bed
- no rip off minibar
- nice toiletries
- the hotel has a calm relaxed feel to it

Some travellers might find the lack of hotel bar/restaurant a problem but there are plenty places to go locally and if you want chilled wine or beer there's room to stock the fridge. There is a (possibly ?) linked restaurant right next door but it seems empty and uninviting to us.

There is a slight issue with counter intuitive appliances etc - some displaying slightly more style than substances eg the shower/bath contols are a bit complicated and the switches on some of the lights are unusual. The TV controls are not straightforward. However this is nitpicking.

All in all - Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We had a Deluxe King on a high floor - very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kerrser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is a great hotel. Perfect location - few blocks from Times Square and theatre district. New hotel, very nice staff, clean room, spacious. Good continental breakfast that was well stocked. This is an excellent property to stay at. We will definetly stay here again when we come back to NYC next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trav875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The room we had was very spacious and peaceful. The continental breakfast was outstanding with something for everyone. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The location could not be beaten as it was only 2 minutes from the madness of Times Square, but was very peaceful and quiet inside. We will definitely be back again if only to watch the T.V. In the bathroom!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bunessan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised when I stayed in this hotel, just 1 1/2 blocks off of Times Square. The staff is extremely helpful and genuinely friendly. Rooms are roomy, modern and exceptionally clean. I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

If your looking for a spacious hotel at a great price close to times sqaure, theatre, shopping, look no farther. This hotel is in a perfect location. The staff are friendly, courteous and knowledgable. I reseached New York hotels before choosing this one and I was extremely happy with this choice. The continental breakfast was more then anyone could ask for. Free wifi was a nice bonus as well as wine hour where they served wine and cheese up on the 2nd floor.
Check in and check out was without a doubt the best service, they looked after our luggage, helped us pre board on line and ordered us a car to take back to the hotel, Our room was 2 delux double beds very roomy with a tv in the bathroom, lots of towels, tolietries and hot water. The air conditioner a little noisey but really 5STAR hotel, will definitely stay here again when I am back in New York.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iampeanut2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#26 of 469 in New York City
2,947 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#44 of 469 in New York City
3,620 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#69 of 469 in New York City
4,075 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#66 of 469 in New York City
3,247 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $285 - $713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing