We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No bed bugs here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hornchurch, Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“No bed bugs here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed 4 nights early October 2011 with my fiance and we are both very fussy but loved it, the tipadvisor reports are true. Perfect location, clean and friendly. Breakfast a plus also..
Only down side was bit noisey during the night because you are right in the thick of it and used the phone for 2 mins only and was charged $17 which left a bad taste on check out so do beware on that point.
Overall, would not hesitate to recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJH-MDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,693
    529
    67
    11
    10
See reviews for
755
908
66
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

My recent four-night stay at the Pearl started off disastrously. On reading the positive reviews on TripAdvisor, I'd thrown caution to the wind and booked the cheapest room, a 'superior queen' at nearly $400 per night - far more than I've ever paid for a NY hotel before.

After three nights travelling on a train to NY, I was looking so forward to checking in and enjoying the wonderful facilities I'd read about - kitchenette with microwave and fridge, coffee maker, luxurious bathroom with a second flat-screen TV. Having had to endure the tiny showers on the train, I was particularly looking forward to having a hot bubble bath to relax and feel human again. I'd requested a room high up, and not facing a brick wall. Well, on entering my room (908) - what a disappointment!! To start with, It was small and dark (tiny windows), and yes, it looked straight on to the back of another building! There was also a constant humming, droning noise in the room, apparently from some machinery nearby. There was no kitchenette, and worst of all - no bath tub in the tiny bathroom (never mind no TV)!! I went straight back down to the front desk, and after the stress of the day and my high expectations, was ready to burst into tears! They said I should have requested a bathtub, as not all queen rooms have them. This is not indicated anywhere on their website, where I made my booking. Thankfully the Manager on duty, Jaime, took pity on me and offered to upgrade me to a much better room at no extra charge - however, this would only happen the next day as nothing else was available that night. The next day I was moved to a light, bright, Luxury King room (903), facing the street, with all the amenities I'd hoped for, so my final three nights made up for the disappointing first one.

Bottom line, I'd recommend the hotel with its high prices, but only if you can afford to stay in one of the better rooms.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loveusa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

I research very carefully as cleanliness is very important to me. We arrived very early a though our room was not ready they offered to call me when room was ready. We happily received a phone call a couple hours later. The room was very decent size (especially compared to other hotels) and very clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly, remembering me on sight. It was a one night stay but it was very pleasant and relaxing. PROS: size, new, quiet, clean, helpful staff, 12 pm checkout time, location, could open windows. CONS: a little pricey, broken elevator, continental breakfast nothing special, unattended maid cart left outside door for 24 hours. Best hotel stay in NYC. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marbs978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

After reading reviews on tripadvisor we made arrangements to stay four nights earlier this month. The staff was helpful, the beds were comfortable and, most importantly, the rooms were very quiet. We were in a room overlooking 49th street and the double seal on the windows was very efficient. There are, however, two drawbacks. We were surprised that there was no magnifying mirror in the bathroom, so if you have aging eyes you might want to go elsewhere. The breakfast options were lacking; the cut up fruit bowl was either not in its place or sad looking, the bananas way beyond their prime, the breads looked sub-par and there were no organic yogurt choices.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

This was one of the few places I found where a room with two doubles wasn't nearly double the price of a single. It was reasonably priced with the discount I found, the room was very comfortable and quiet, great bathroom, excellent breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mabelle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco CO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

We stayed at the Hilton a few blocks away earlier in the week for a conference my husband attended. I thought that is what you get for $370/nt (at the conference reduced rate) in NYC, peeling wall paper, sad decor, etc. I realized luckily I was wrong when we moved on to The Pearl. I chose The Pearl based on TripAdvisor reviews which is why I'm reviewing now. It is exactly what I'm always looking for. I like things clean and this was immaculate. The furnishings and finishes were fabulous and I felt like I was staying in a luxury hotel for the price of $370/nt. The continental breakfast was also a nice plus. I am picky and am often disappointed at the wear and tear on hotels and the general lack of cleanliness but this was absolutely perfect. I cannot wait to go back to NYC now that I have found a little gem of a place. The location was great too, with subway close by, the shows, etc. Thank you to The Pearl for offering a reasonable option that offers what I would expect from a large luxury hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaSkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
293 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We chose The Pearl for our stay in September after reading reviews on trip advisor and found it to be fabulous. The place is clean, comfortable, quiet yet close to everything you want to do. The vanity area is a little tight but not impossible. Have stayed in more expensive hotels in NY and been disappointed. Breakfast choices are fine and the free internet a bonus.

Room Tip: We had a king room and away from the elevators on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankChris545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing