We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS!!!!!”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FABULOUS!!!!!”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in August 2011, to celebrate his 40th Birthday. (We became 'stranded' for an extra 2 days because of flight cancellations due to Hurricane Irene. Management were very supportive of our predicament!) Our room was beautiful. The bed was the most comfortable that I have ever slept in. The bathroom catered for every need, with toiletries regularly replenished. Fridge and microwave were an excellent in room facility. Beautifully furnished, large, spotless room. Breakfast was ideal, fresh pastries, muffins, bagels and fruit. Plenty of seating available. Really wouldnt book anywhere else as so close to Times Sqaure and walking distance of most other attractions. Staff were excellent and extremely helpful. Concierge were attentive to every need. Top Class Hotel!! A*******

Room Tip: ... I really couldnt fault it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poohleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,711
    532
    67
    11
    10
See reviews for
761
918
66
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We realized less than two weeks before our scheduled weekend in New York that we had neglected to finalize a hotel room. Unfortunately, by that time the usually expensive rates had gone thru the roof and in addition, we had limited options. I was insistent on wanting a place with at least a continental breakfast. After reading the reviews on tripadvisor we settled on the Pearl.

For the most part our experience was quite good. The front desk was friendly and efficient. We were given a very clean, nicely appointed room including a mini frig and microwave on the 10th floor with a view into the interior area toward the buildings next door. The room was a comfortable size for NYC and was nicely laid out. It was very quiet except for the obnoxious drunk people staying on our floor who returned to their room between 1-3:00 am both nights we were there who were impossible to sleep through. We did not feel like getting up to complain to the front desk but for the price we paid for the room ($600+/night), you would think the night desk clerk might have been on top of managing late night drunken revelers when they returned to insure they didn't disturb other guests...

We thought the continental breakfast was fine. It is after all, a continental breakfast! If what you're looking for is a hot buffet, this is the not the hotel for you. If all you need is coffee, a piece of fruit, some muffins, and a yogurt or cereal, this will work nicely. I do agree with other reviewers that the breakfast/happy hour space is awkward as there are not real tables to eat at only coffee tables. We were happy just to take the food back to our room, however. (And that was easy to do since the silverware and plates were disposable.) The wine and cheese happy hour is exactly what it says "wine and cheese". I did think perhaps they would have additional appetizers but it was limited to wine and cheese. That was fine for us though as we just wanted a little snack before heading out to an early pre-theater dinner.

We liked the Pearl because it was quiet and secure and included some extra features like the frig, microwave, breakfast and wine hour. It was a little hard for us to locate initially (the sign is small, dark gray and not well lit) but it is immediately across the street from the Eugene O'Neill theater where Book of Mormon is playing so once you find that landmark, it's hard to miss! The location is ideal and very close to Times Square, Broadway, and many restaurants and shops. It is easy walking distance to just about everything. We even walked down to the USS Intrepid Museum.

I do think we overpaid for the room ($100-200 more than it would ordinarily cost) but that is our own fault for not securing reservations well ahead of time. If you could get a decent price for the room, I think it would be an excellent value for the money and you can't beat the location.

Room Tip: Our room was not immediately adjacent to the elevator but there was a room on our floor that was and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spgtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

In the heart of the theater area but far enough off the crowded streets. Wonderful, clean, friendly, always there to help. Great recommendations for dinner. Breakfast was wonderful. I wasn't expecting much reading the reviews online, but was pleasantly surprised. Who doesn't like a chocolate filled croissant? Would definitely return!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
186 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

After a nightmare at another midtown hotel, The Pearl saved my work trip. Clean, modern, comfortable, quiet, convenient, relaxing, easy. Nothing missing!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDCGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We have just returned from a 6 night stay in this excellent boutique hotel. The room was large compared to normal NY rooms. The hotel also has many advantages, bed was so comfortable we did not want to get up. The bathroom had high quality equipment including a TV and luxury towels and bathrobes. The staff were extremely polite and helpful, and the adequate buffet breakfast mean't that we could immediately start our tours of NY without having to look for a restaurant or diner.

Room Tip: Our room was on the front of the hotel, but we had no noise from traffic outside, and as we were the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CloneyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

What a nice hotel. We stayed here for three nights. Price is expensive, but what you would expect in downtown Manhattan.

This hotel has many advantages. First, it is very nice - almost new. We received an upgrade to a king, and the room was bigger than you'd expect in NYC. VERY nice bathroom with a TV - nice! The location is fantastic - one block from Times Square - and we walked almost everywhere. You can grab one of those hop on-hop off buses nearby to take you anywhere you can't walk. Also, breakfast and newspaper were included, not to mention the friendliest staff on the planet, including the chamber staff.

We couls not have asked for better and were completely satisfied with our stay here. A very strong recommendation from us.

Room Tip: Ask for a king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedFoxOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I styed here Sept 2011 (10th anniversary week) - based on Tripadvisor ratings. Other choice was the Sofitel, which was a bit more expensive. This hotel is only 9 months old at time of writing, so everything is still quite new. Rooms are nicely appointed and clean, and the bathroom is particularly spacious and lovely. Both a tub and a stand-up shower with rainhead. Very nice. Since it is a small hotel, there are only limited rooms on each floor, so overall it's a very quiet hotel. The location is superb! This is only a few blocks away from all major theaters, and right accross the street from the Eugene O'Neil Theater. If your going to see Chicago or The Book of Mormon, you are literally ten steps away from each. This hotel is also very close to major subways, which is great. There is a direct line to the theatre where War Horse is playing.

Only small downside was that our room was not ready when we checked in, and was not ready when we came back from shopping on Day 1 at about 4:30. We were told the time for room refresh is 5:00PM, but this seemed rather late. We spoke to the front desk manager, Jaime (pronounced Hay-ime-ay), who was fantastic and dealt with this very quickly. We had no other issues with our room for the remainding 5 night we were there. Since this is a small hotel, we found that if there are any issues, there is somone at your room wihtin 10 minutes. We had TV issues (our fault), but someone was there in no time to help us.

Our room faced the "back", which was great in that there was no noise whatsoever. Very quiet and great for sleeping. All the heat and AC worked great, and the light switches all have dimmers. There is also an IpOd dock. Also a flat-screen in the bathroom.

Overall a great stay. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canada_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,651 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,361 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing