We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Before the Grand Opening, and it was great!”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #18 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Before the Grand Opening, and it was great!”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This hotel was brand new, that while we were there the lobby was still being constructed. The Pearl is a couple of blocks from time square and so close to many subways. If you are planning on sightseeing, subways will be a must if you stay at this hotel; which is a quick and easy mode of transportation. When we arrive we had no idea how to read the map and the concierge Amy was SO helpful. We were all over the city in no time. We also went to Carlo's Bakery in New Jersey by Subway which was so much fun. Hoboken seems like a different world after being in New York, but its right across the Hudson River. If you are looking to have a nice dinner you MUST go to Chez Josephine, it is not far from the hotel and the concierge will know.

Our room was on the smaller size but it was beautiful and new. The bathroom was very large and the shower was so relaxing after a freezing day. The only critique I would give is that they need more light in the bathroom to put on make up and get ready. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast; don't get there too late to enjoy all the good stuff. They also had complimentary wine and cheese in the lobby around noon which was nice. The staff were very friendly. We arrived very early before our check in and we had to wait a while to get into our room, but it was expected. They worked to get us in as soon as possible, so we just explored in the mean time. I would definitely come back to stay at the Pearl.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,712
    532
    68
    11
    10
See reviews for
761
920
66
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Marys, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This beautifully decorated boutique hotel is the perfect place to stay if you want to be in the hub of it all. The room had every amenity, very clean, and newly renovated. The staff were extremely friendly and the concierges were very well informed. Will definitely return and highly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debnewc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This hotel is located in the heart of the Theatre district and Times Square. Fabulous service, accomodating staff and gorgeous rooms. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: fabulous rooms..well appointed and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I am a traveler, and am in NY often for business. I have stayed all over NY. I found this place and fell in love. The service remarkable. Melissa was super nice, and gave us an upgrade which was greatly appreciated. Ari, ( I think I have it right) helped us with our luggage, and send us to the most remarkable Mexican restaurant ever.

New Yorkers can be rude..and you have to have a tough skin. Not here. I thought that we were blessed with amazing location ( very close to Times Square but quiet). Clean, clean clean..and nice and new. Nice little breakfast and happy hour included. We did not make happy hour, but will next time. I already booked a return trip in two weeks.

Do not hesitate to stay here...I would go on and on, but its just all about service here, including free wi fi, in room nice coffee, fridge, grocery store close, and smiles...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dressedlikeastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherokee Village, Arkansas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

After getting off the train at Penn Station, we walked the short distance to the hotel. It is very handy if you want to gander about while you head to the hotel itself. Upon reaching West 49th, take a left turn and it is very handily next to the play, Chicago, and across the street from the play, The Book of Morman. Check in was a breeze, the rooms are extraordinarily nice and large (although they gave us a complimentary "upgrade" without asking), very clean, and very well appointed. The hotel is very close to both the playhouses as well as Times Square albeit, because it is a block away, it is quiet and without a lot of fan fare, lights, or noise. If you are looking for something that is beyond the norm in regards to on-the-shelf hotel rooms, this is it. The only slight tweaking would be being able to have a drink brought up as you must go downstairs to the bar next door (connected) in order to do so (they will put everything in plastic). The other thing is that for some reason, the maids begin knocking on your door around 8:30 am which can be annoying if you stayed out late the night before and would like to have had a little more sleep. Other than that, it was everything that I could expect in order to get around. In fact, it was very "handy".

Room Tip: Be nice, be happy, and be flexible...you may get more than you pay for, but you'll never get les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachatthedoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Though we usually prefer to stay in the various neighborhoods NYC has to offer, this trip prompted a Times Square stay. And rather than staying in the generic big name boxes, we opted for The Pearl. It turned out to be a great choice. Incredibly clean, exceptionally quiet, very nice and responsive staff, adds up to a great 3 nights.

If you need/want to be in this area of NYC - this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3hands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The rooms were spacious, modern and clean. We were on the street side and we heard no noise at all. The staff at the front desk was helpful and knowledgeable. The location was the best! We were close to Times sq, Rockfeller Center, Subway, David Letterman, etc........ I would recommend this hotels to anyone

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dts1418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,658 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#10 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,368 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing