We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!! Great hotel!!”
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #26 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We just got back from NY and the Pearl is an excellent hotel. The staff is super friendly. The hotel is conveniently located to Times Square and the Theatre District. The subway is located a block from the hotel! The hotel is very clean!! Loved this place and will definately be back!!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inosin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,947 - 1,953 of 2,453 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2011

I had to write a review due to the fact that having read up before we stayed I was under no illusion that they had all the amenities available being a newly opened establishment, unlike others that seem to have not done their homework (see below!)

Location, spot on, could not have asked for a better place right in the heart of Theatre Land and 2 minute walk at a slow pace from Times Square.

Hotel staff were not over friendly which suited us but very polite and it appeared that everyone was still getting to know the place and each other so no real negatives there. I did ask where the ice machine was one evening and struggled with the receptionist over who was going to get the ice, personally I have no problem jumping in the lift and filling up a bucket of ice. Others may want for more but I managed to convince her it was no problem although she did say it was a hotel and that is what they done.

As stated by many no restaurant or bar on site although these are being finished at present. A wine hour is available to all and there are menus in the rooms from local establishments if you want room service but you are in New York FFS, who wants to sit in a hotel room and eat?

Due to the fact there was no bar we had to endure six different establishments for late night drinks. What a chore it was trawling round one of the liveliest cities I have ever been to and trying out a different bar every night, three of which were within less than a minutes walk away and highly recommended. Even when hotels have onsite bars, which most do these days, its much more fun to get out and about don’t you think?

The rooms are great, very new and modern and extremely comfortable. Showers are more than up to the job and fresh towels are plentiful, if you want your bed changed which we did half way through our stay this was also done without fuss.

Breakfast was perfect, yes they had paper plates and the seating arrangements are not the best but coupled with the superb coffee machine in the rooms to make a fresh brew no more is needed.

Did I mention the superb coffee machine, lovely coffee. We had a fridge in our room that we stocked with water, soft drinks and chocolate to satisfy the odd craving after a hard night out enjoying ourselves.

As a footnote, I stay in many hotels for business and would rate this as one of the best.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrBenagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PearlHotelNYC, Manager at The Pearl Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your praise as much as we appreciate the kind way you point out the areas in which we can improve. It was our pleasure to host you on your trip to New York, and we hope to have the opportunity again to show you how seriously we take your thoughts on our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Very nice despite still being under construction. Two issues, first the walls are very thin and we heard a lot of ambient noise. Second, there was only one mirror in the entire king suite. With 4 of us including a teenage girl this was nearly catastrophic. For us the fitness center could be an issue as well, only 2 treadmills and 1 bike.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goofy-Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Bad points ..hotel is not a 3 or 4 * hotel by european standards .. not even close to it. Probably relate it to a very good 2* .. no restaurant.. no bar...no mini bar...no room service.....no inside catering.. limited continental.breakfast is served on paper plates and plastic cups in an area that seats approx 20 people and has nowhere near enough seats.

The rooms are new and very clean. No point wasting money on an upgrade to a king as you do not even get a bath for the extra cash. All you get is a bigger bed.

The location is fantastic.

the photographs you see are accurate but the bigger picture is not.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dannyboy3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Staff was very helpful, always had smiles, made our stay very enjoyable.
Rooms are nice with ample space - big for NYC.
Hotel conversion completed in past year so nice and new feel.
Very close to Time Square, Radio City Music Hall, Theatre district.
Nice walk to Central Park or Empire State Building - 20 minutes +/-.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellingfamily503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

This place is a real gem - great place, great location, great value. When we went they still hadn't had there grand opening - were in the midst of their soft opening so breakfast area wasnt done.

I would definitely stay here again.

Biggest issue were some of the staff - the concierge was just lazy and didn't even know how many people you could legally get into a cab and made us pay twice as much for a private cab to the airport. In addition, she wouldn't help us just after 5 pm because she said she wasn't getting paid overtime!

This aside I still think for the money this really is a gem and when in NYC how much time do you spend in the hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reversing_vehicle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed at The Pearl the last week of March 2011. It was immaculate and the room was very comfortable. Although there were a few things unfinished this being a new hotel (grout was needed in the marble by the elevators) it in no way diminished our stay.

They had a very good continental breakfast (coffee, juice, cereals, bread stuffs, pancakes, boiled eggs). The location is also excellent with a food store, restaurants, subways all within a short walk.

The doormen are welcoming and ready to help with the door, luggage or a taxi.

We will go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KadyBone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 471 in New York City
3,299 reviews
Midtown
LUMA Hotel Times Square
LUMA Hotel Times Square
#21 of 471 in New York City
313 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#106 of 471 in New York City
514 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#16 of 471 in New York City
3,215 reviews
Midtown
Crowne Plaza HY36 Midtown Manhattan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $204 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing