We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will definitely stay there again!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pearl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pearl Hotel
Ranked #16 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“I will definitely stay there again!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

So you know how every hotel has photos of their spacious accommodations online for you to see, but when you get there you are disappointed? Well, this will NOT happen to you at The Pearl!!! The photos ARE actually what you get :) The rooms are huge, the bathroom is spotless, and the staff is uber friendly. I stayed there with some co-workers, and was impressed by how well we were treated. There was free wi-fi, a complimentary continental breakfast, and they even had a "wine hour" for their guests to enjoy!
Cleanliness is always at the top of my list when looking for a place to stay...You can stay at The Pearl!!! I was impressed with the clean rooms and hallways. The beds were super comfortable, and we never heard the neighbours (quiet). The hotel staff was amazing...They were always ready to help you with any of your needs...I seriously loved staying at this "Pearl" of a hotel ;)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmac09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,679
    522
    67
    10
    10
See reviews for
747
900
65
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2011

I wanted to give The Pearl four stars, I really did. But it sucks that many little slip-ups knocked off a full star.

I had a four night stay in room 1001 (Deluxe Queen with Balcony), for which I paid $335 inclusive. Note this room was next to the elevator. Breakfast and free wifi are included which is really great, and I commend the Pearl!

The room was fine in terms of furnishings. But the room is loaded with small design errors that mar the experience.

The closet is very small, and the hangars, umbrella, iron and board, pillows, safe, and robes just take up too much space and it was a pain to get my suit and three other hung items in there.

The toilet paper is a few inches off the ground directly in front of the pot. Next to the commode, where the TP should be, is a towel bar that never had any towels on it.

The bath towels were under the sink while the hand towels were next to the shower\bath. Nothing like dripping across a bathroom looking for a towel...

The showerhead is not adjustable in any way-flow, angle, or spray pattern and that's stupid. There is a hand-held showerhead though, and a handle to adjust the flow to the two outflows. But housekeeping set the controls to "hand-held" and turned the hand-held toward the exterior, so turning on the water resulted in a blast of cold water to my face. Nice!

The (terrible as always) Gilchrist & Soames toiletries were not replaced when empty, and water temperature was inconsistent and required constant adjusting to maintain the desired temperature.

There's a convenient fridge, but inconveniently two doors are required to be opened to access it. There is no bottle opener or corkscrew in the room, and I had to beg the front desk for one (I was sworn to return it immediately). Same with a pair of scissors-the desk simply did not want a guest to actually use its stuff.

The other option was to have a houseman bring one up, but only if I returned it as soon as possible. Bad in a Motel 6, inexcusable for the $300+/nt Pearl.

The lock on the balcony door was broken and did not lock. I asked them to fix it, but they didn't. The next day I asked again, and they did fix it...by locking it shut so I couldn't USE the balcony. Come on, guys!

Otherwise, excellent location and a lovely balcony. Coffee maker in room, HDTV, but a lying guide-many channels listed are not available. How tough is it to have a guide that lists only available stations?

The Lower Lobby level (LL) has an ice machine and an inexpensive vending machine right across from the elevator (otherwise you have to call for ice), and there's a grocery a few steps away for water, bread, snacks, etc.

Not much else to say, really. Nice try, Pearl, but you need to tighten it up some.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LittleCupcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

This is probably one of the best hotels we've ever stayed at. Our room was more than we expected, we had one with a balcony, which was very spacious. This is the first boutique style hotel we have stayed at and I think we much prefer it over a big box chain hotels. From the moment our cab pulled up in front until the time we left, we were treated like royalty. From the 24 hour doorman, front desk and concierge, everyone was welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was a perfect way to start the day. Cereals, oatmeal, juice, breads, fruits, tea and coffee........very tasty and plentiful. Amy and Julie at the Concierge desk were more than helpful with tips on getting around and reservations for dinner. They are a wealth of information. The check-in went smoothly and without any hassles. Our room was just as described. As it was St. Pat's Day, they were booked and everyone checking in seemed to do so without any problems. Various subway stops are only steps away. So it's easy to get around the city. Our room was on the back, so it was very nice and quiet at night. Our room did not have any problems at all. It was much bigger than we had expected, by New York City standards. Nicely furnished, comfy beds, spacious closet with a safe. They do have phones with voicemail so no need for them to come banging on the door, and the maid service never bothered us, we always made sure to put out the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the doorknob. When we left for the day, we stopped at the front desk to let them know, so they could make up the room. When we got back, it was done.

Tips: They do have an afternoon wine hour from 4 to 5 pm on the second floor.
Ice is on the "LL" level. There you will also find a vending machine with soda and chips and sweets. And reasonably priced, considering most hotels usually gouge you on that stuff.
Down the street going west there is a small grocery store to buy food, drinks, etc.

They are still doing some last minute touch ups on the hotel, but it did not interfere with our visit.

So overall, great place, will stay there again, definitely!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unfiction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

The Pearl Hotel met and exceeded our expectations. The location was perfect and although in Times Square was very quiet at night. Continental breakfast was more than we imagined and started the day off right for us. Very friendly staff and the rooms were spacious. We had a queen size bed and there was plenty of room to walk around and store all those shopping bags! Looking forward to staying at The Pearl Hotel on our next trip to NYC!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lgiles11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

I really liked the Pearl Hotel. The room was above average - large, modern, clean - nice perks. Good sized washroom, new - clean- with modern decor. There is also a nice mini kitchen area with a sink and microwave, modern fridge and coffee maker - this was very handy and much appreciated - especially in NY.

The location was perfect for us.... never had to take TAXI anywhere - just walked to Ed Sullivan Theatre (Letterman) Central Park and many many Theatres. We felt like we were a stones-throw from times square - but just far enough to be reasonably quiet (well again - for NY)

The breakfast was basic, but nice, fresh enough and plentiful - Tea, Coffee, Milk, Juice, Yogurt, Apples, Bananas, Muffins, Cereal, Bagels and Cream Cheese.

Our ONLY "let-down" was some weird interactions with the front desk staff. They tend to BANG on the door endlessly when they want to communicate and our housekeeping staff also banged on the door 4 - 5 times between 9 and 10 am. We asked if they could come back in the afternoon and missed out on housekeeping twice because of that.

We also did experience the racket of a pretty noisey elevator system - luckily we were exhausted at the end of each day and fell asleep quiet easily despite the buzz, humm and groaning. (Plus the beds and pillows were VERY soft, cozy and comfy.)

But overall - we liked the HOTEL - were very happy with this choice and would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toronto-deNISEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a 5 night stay at the Pearl. The hotel is in a great location; Times Square is just around the corner and Central Park is less than a 10 minute walk. The room was well finished and large with quality fittings. The bathroom didn't have a bath but the shower was large and modern. The sheets were extremely soft and the pillows were excellent, which resulted in a great night's sleep! An LCD TV, a good quality coffee maker with real coffee, and dimmer lights were nice touches.

The staff were always polite and helpful (they always opened the front door for us whenever we went in or out!). An especially nice touch was the free wine between 4-5.

For a hotel without a kitchen, the breakfast offering was good; plenty of bagels, danish, cereals, fruit, etc and juice and coffee (with handy take out cups and lids). Nothing hot, but if you fancy that there are numerous diners close by.

There was a subway station really close by, which made getting uptown/downtown really easy (just buy a metro card and top up when needed)

All in all, a great boutique hotel with a nice feel, quality finishes and in a great location, with more character than a chain-type affair. What more could you want?!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMysteryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

The Pearl NYC is an excellent deal for the leisure traveler. It's new and everything works as it should. The Pearl offers an outstanding location on 49th Street only a few steps from Times Square. The style is crisp and utilitarian but lacking in any real aesthetic rationale.
The breakfast is nothing to write home about, but if you like bread stuffs I'm sure you can get filled up before leaving the hotel in the morning.
The rooms are large by NYC or European standards, the baths are mostly marble with nice enclosed showers. The bath room amenities are quite good and towels plentiful and quite thick.
The windows are sound proofed (some occasional street sounds are unavoidable in NYC I believe) and there is no sound transfer between rooms or from the hallwalls.
This is a botique hotel but the services are quite good. We got help with our bags, there is limited room service, a small but modern fitness room, and a free mornning newspaper available from the front desk.
My only small complaint was that the room lighting is quite dim and the bed side lamps only have 57 Watt bulbs; probably not strong enough for most readers.
We would stay here again, especially for the pittance we paid for our three night stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ofteninlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,512 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,406 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pearl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pearl Hotel

Property: The Pearl Hotel
Address: 233 West 49th Street, New York City, NY 10019-7404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pearl Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Pearl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing