We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Scandinavian Heaven in the City”
Review of Fika Espresso Bar

Fika Espresso Bar
Ranked #65 of 475 Coffee & Tea in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
Neighborhood: Midtown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Midtown
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little Scandinavian Heaven in the City”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I love this place!
Great coffee, biscotti, deserts, fresh Scandinavian sandwiches, salads and friendly service. Not a huge fan of their cinnamon swirl biscotti ( cinnamon bun and biscotti's child) but the rest of the deserts are delicious, especially chocolate balls. I had their chicken curry sandwich, salmon platter and tried almost all of their deserts. Consistently fresh and tasty.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Basakkaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    63
    23
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“A taste from home”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I'd been travelling for a few weeks when I visited Fika, so it was great to have a taste of home (Sweden). Had a classic cinnamon bun and a cup of tea. They have a good selection of traditional Scandinavian foodstuff, so it's a great place to try them out if you are interested in what this fika thing is! Be aware there's limited space to sit, most people seem to take their order to go.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lars R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Had what was supposed to be a flat white, but tasted more like a latte.
Lemon meringue tart was tasty; overall pricey and there are many other options for great coffee in nyc!

Helpful?
Thank Hautesucre15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Damn the coffee is good”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

I don't like going out to eat now because most places are disappointing, but you will get a good cup of coffee/latte/whatever you want here. It is knockdown, drag-out, industrial sized great coffee and pastries here. I wanted to buy their coffee but they didn't know if it was fair trade or not.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaitaP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best espresso in NYC”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I've searched high in low in NYC for a decent espresso- all the "hottest" spots or trendiest cafes have been a huge disappointment. The espresso is usually burnt. Fika is the ONE place in the city where I have had consistently amazing espressos. Number one, hands down.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fika Espresso Bar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Fika Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing