We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh, my....”
Review of Eataly

Eataly
Ranked #11 of 439 Dessert in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Union City, California, USA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Oh, my....”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Huge and busy food marketplace with multiple restaurants amidst the grocery, meat and fish markets, etc. We ate in the pasta/pizza section. Started with the Salumi Misti appetizer. The small salami was a savory morsel you just wanted to last. The other meats of the appetizer were good, but a tad salty, which should be expected. I had the Tagliatelle al Ragu Di Manzo - fresh fettucini pasta with shortrib ragu. Oh. My. God. I paired it with a Rose wine, which was light and fruity - a delicious recommendation from our server, Massimo. My husband had the Paccheri con sugo De Mare - large rotelle pasta with seafood, white wine and parsley. same O.M.G. Again the server had the perfect wine recommendation. Terrific meal. =)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newdella2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,605 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,726
    2,779
    756
    215
    129
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“yow”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

everything italy, fresh off the plane, in an atmosphere and space only nyc could dish up, with a restaurant and a wine bar to boot. first place i will visit on my next ny trip

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank arielko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“More time needed”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Ate at the bar at the fish station bec. of the crowd but we liked the freshness of the food, fast attentive service. Should have opt for another time to be able to sample everything! Bought pastries and some lobster tails and it was delicious.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank packflashpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
278 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and market”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is my second time at Eataly. My husband and I were there last year and ate at the pasta station...the butternut ravioli with sage butter was OUTSTANDING! Lydia's house red wine (Vespa Rosso 2009) was also excellent and the service was good. This time we ate at the fish and seafood station. Amazing choices and food! We had the sea urchin...the best we ever had. In fact, my husband wasn't sure he wanted it since he's had it before and it's an unusual taste, but this was the best either of us ever had. We shared the tomato-base fish soup, which was also really good. Then we had the dayboat scallops with gooseberries and baby carrots and a prosecco reduction that was outstanding. We also ordered a side of greens that were awesome. The server was also awesome. He explained all of the specials in detail (and there were a lot of them) and was very attentive. Unfortunately, we don't remember his name, but he was from Ft Lauderdale FL and has short light red hair. He was great!

As far as the rest of the place, this has a very big market with all kinds of goodies, including fresh pastas, cheeses, meats like salami and hams, breads, desserts, wines, and more...and at the cheese and salumi counter, they give you samples of what you may want to buy, to make sure you like it. We will be back again to try another of its many food sections.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“The beef roll is so good.”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Enter from 5th Ave and go straight in and you will see a meat
stall on the right - selling the best beef rolls ever !
Smothered in olive oil and with beautiful thinly sliced beef - they
are fantastic. Worth the trip to Eataly. Has to be a dream place for
all food lovers but it is not cheap !!

Helpful?
Thank SimonJRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eataly also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Eataly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing