We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Original”

MONO+MONO - East Village
Ranked #6,414 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: East Village
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Original”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Is a unusual korean reatsaurant, with a original design, warm and trendy.
We had the korean pancakes and the tofu for appetizer and I wanted to take them twice, they were both delicious.
The glazed fried chicken is really good, but the spicy one was really too spicy, my wife could not feel anything after it. Unless you are used to spicy food, take the honey garlic one, you will enjoy it more. Very good also the beer selection.
Service is very good, friedly and professional.
For sure we will go back next time we are in New York

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucaacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and music”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The restaurant gives off a very relaxed vibe, dark walls, low light and jazz music playing. There were three of us and we ate family style, ordering a few dishes and sharing. Great idea, as everything was a bit different but wonderful. The fried chicken was spectacular, fresh and moist and sinfully delicious. I would highly recommend checking out this place for a fun night out with friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arienette_fever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stinson Beach, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Korean Fried Chicken & ambiance”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Live music, great decor, 30,000+ record albums displayed on a rotating overhead device--fun place. Everyone gets the Korean double-fried chicken and they have great drinks, too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaryAnn0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An excellent local neighbourhood find, highly recommended.”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

4 of us for mid week dinner and we had a great time, what a find!

Nestled in the middle of the East Village, a 10 minute walk from Bleeker subway in a vibrant and really interesting area, Mono+Mono is a fantastic little restaurant.

The interior decor is lovely - you sit surrounded by thousands upon thousands of Vinyl LP's, all stacked on shelves with heavy dark wood and steel everywhere. Live music was playing - a great little jazz band and the service was excellent - attentive and friendly.

The menu is interesting mix of Japensese meets Korean. We bought a few things and shared which was a great way to try the menu. We had Jeon - little Korean pankakes with pepper and ground bee4 at $7.95 (my favourite) and a lovely garlic seafood rice at $10.95 and then we shared a medium fried chicken which was 10 pieces for $16.95. The friend chicken is their house speciality and was worth it - not greasy, twice friend with a heavy, crispy batter. It was my first time with fried chicken and I wasn't disappointed.

Good cocktail menu, we had three during the meal and the waiter also appeared three separate times with complimentary shots from the bar which were greedily welcomed.

Definitely on my favourite list for a return! They do do delivery as well, but I would go because the experience and atmosphere is great.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Glenn-LondonW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Gotta try the Mono+mono chicken..."”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

On Friday night before 11pm, this restaurant was perfect for a late night dinner with friends. Finding it can be a challenge but parking was not too bad if you get lucky! The outside is small but once you get in-wow..the atmosphere was inviting, great music, modern decor. Service was quick, and the food-absolutely divine!! The best part of the meal, the monomono chicken must be their specialty because it was so good we must have ordered about 3 plates of it..sweet, spicy, crunchy, tender...The sushi, especially the soft-shelled crab, was delicious-battered and fried but had leafy greens and rice with it..everything we ordered-we enjoyed. We stayed til about 3am and the servers kept coming and took good care of us. The price we paid was worth it (a little pricey) but we didn't just pay for the good food but the whole experience!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MONO+MONO - East Village also viewed

 

Been to MONO+MONO - East Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing