We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for good beer and food”
Review of B. Cafe West

B. Cafe West
Ranked #3,577 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: 87th and 88th
Transit: Line 1 on 86th street and Broadway Line A,B,C on 86th street and Central Park West.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot for good beer and food”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I visited New York this weekend and after checking into our hotel, this was our first stop. We came here once before. Both times, we had great bartenders... just very friendly and enjoyable. We also met great people who live in the city and stop there quite often. It is just a great place. The beer selection is superb. We have only had appetizers both times we ate here, but those were extremely good!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good beer selection, ambience and food!”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Delicious food and beer selection. Sit at the bar and place your order. I had the mussels with fries and highly recommend it. Honest prices!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LuisaValentim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
598 reviews
374 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Modest Belgian Cafe”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

WE tried this cafe for the first time two days ago- ordering one of their species- all the mussels and fries one can eat plus one of a selected list of beers- and all for $25. This is good value for money. Unfortunately, the list of beers available under this deal turned out to be just one brand - disappointing but it wasn't a deal breaker. The joules were uneven. About half of the mussels were nice and plump; the rest were small and shrivelled. AS for the fries I liked the twice fried style while my wife complained about the poor quality of the oil used. This was a quick, first visit and there are other items on the menu we'd need to sample before making a final judgement. Friendly service,and some side-walk tables made this place a good vantage point for enjoying passers by.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tiny but outstanding”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

It is easy to overlook the narrow "storefront" of this outstanding restaurant. It specializes in Moule with frite and one can choose between many different kinds as well as an even larger number of Belgian beers. The extremely helpful staff will consider your taste and offer friendly advice as to the best blend of the restaurant's specialities. You may have to wait for a table and, on the downside, it can be loud and crowded but the food makes it more than worthwhile.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best moules frites in town with a great selection of beers on tap”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

In this tiny narrow little restaurant on Amsterdam Avenue, Belgian food and beer reign supreme. You can have beef carbonade, several varieties of mussels in a huge tub, belgian stews and of course the ever present really exquisite fries served hot and crisp.These fries have not spent all day sitting in grease to be re-fried just before you eat them--they are fresh. You can reserve but be prepared to sit very close to your neighbors. There are one or two roomier tables but they cannot be guaranteed so if you don't like listening to other people's chat, this is not for you. But if you are a fan of true Belgian beer, you will find everything here, from wheat beers to flavored beers with everything in between plus seasonal additions. The food is excellent, the prices moderate for the Upper West Side and the cafe atmosphere charming if cramped.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ceilidhnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B. Cafe West also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to B. Cafe West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing