We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (789)
Filter reviews
789 results
Traveler rating
323
348
84
17
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
323
348
84
17
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews columbia university frederick douglass apollo theatre morningside park new york free bottles of water laguardia airport subway station front desk staff two blocks around the corner quiet room convenient location coffee maker street noise times square lobby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 789 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2019 via mobile

We stayed at the ALoft Harlem due to its close proximity to the Manhattan School of Music and because the school recommended it!

Great hotel, awesome front desk staff, four minute walk to Starbucks and the AMC theater was right across the street.

My only complaint would be the hotel could use a bit of spring cleaning soon.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank alzinsmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2019

The hotel is pretty clean and comfortable. Several things, however, ruined the stay. First off, the hotel booking was made with breakfast included for an extra $10. Save your money as that entitles you to 1 juice, 1 croissant or 2 danish and a coffee. Coffee in the room is free, anyway, plus the elevator advertises some sort of cooked breakfast bowl (but I never found out where I could get one and I would have paid the up-charge) which might have mollified me. The second thing was the room which was always cold as I could not change the thermostat. I was between 2 brutal storms so it wasn't so bad but I would have balked had the temperatures outside been any lower. Third - and they probably knocked but I'm deaf so it didn't help - 2 people just barged into my room one night checking WiFi signal! When I asked them for ID, one of them pointed to his Aloft team-shirt but had nothing else. Not cool, people, not cool at all. That cost them a point as I might have given them 3 stars.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TucsonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2019

This location is convenient to everything. The subway is close, the Schomburg is within walking distance and you are right in the vibrant area of Harlem with lots of restaurants and entertainment. The room is comfortable but why would you stay in the room with Harlem at your footsteps!

Date of stay: February 2019
2  Thank MamaNandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2019

If you're making a quick trip to NYC and plan to be out most of the time exploring the city this is your place. It's fun and upbeat and the staff are beyond courteous. The rooms aren't big (and why you should be outside exploring) but have enough space to rest, but not really chill. My room (i don't know if all the rooms are similar) only has a desk chair and an ottoman and the bed ... no where in the room to just hangout and chill, but THAT ... is what downstairs is for. The lobby of the hotel is cozy with a bar that rivals some of the local spots. In the immediate area (immediate meaning 10 blocks) there are some 20+ places to grab food, good food. One thing however, there's a very small fridge so don't have too many leftovers.The hotel itself is close to a major subway hub that you can go anywhere in the city and feel comforted to not have a car.

overall: small slightly elevated cost for what they give you buy is perfectly located.

Room tip: large family? they can block off a three room suite for you
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

great little boutique hotel in the heart of Harlem, New York. Centrally located to 125th street and subways and buses. nice bar to meet friend and have cocktails. not too noisy. the décor is modern and fresh.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 794ainsleyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews