We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aloft Harlem
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Astor on the Park(New York City)
View Hotel
Morningside Inn(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Broadway Tower(New York City)
View Hotel
Marrakech Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Park Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Comfort Inn(Edgewater)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Newton(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
744 results
Traveler rating
314
328
71
15
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
328
71
15
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscolumbia universityfrederick douglassapollo theatrefree bottles of waternew yorklaguardia airportbliss productssubway stationstreet levelwould stay here againfront desk stafftrendy hoteltwo blockslobby areamini fridgefree coffeearound the corner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
402 - 407 of 744 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is a gem. The rooms are large, clean, very well equipped and modern. Only minor criticism was a lack of wardrobe hanging space. Very good value. The location in Harlem is a bit out of the way for Manhattan attractions but the cab ride to Times Square is only 15 minutes and costs around $15. Cabs at any time of day or night can be hailed on the street outside the hotel in a matter of minutes.

Room Tip: The ground floor Bar is next to reception and there is sometimes a DJ and loud music and a lively atmosphere, so avoid rooms on the 1st floor if you are a light sleeper!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thanks for the great words!! We are glad you thought our hotel is very convenient and you loved everything about it!

Please come back to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Courteous, friendly staff and efficient use of space mark this hotel. While there are very few frills at Aloft Harlem (take your own shower cap, etc.) and not a drawer in sight, all your major needs are well met. Our room was pleasant and lit by a large window. It was exceptionally quiet. A second chair would have been nice, as it was a king-sized room, with two knee holes for working at a window-wide counter surface which have easily accommodated each of us and our computers. Breakfast was provided by a stocked mini-mart-like lobby area. The Tuesday night we were there, we were able to spend pleasant and quiet time in the bar area.

Room Tip: Our room was on fifth floor and looked out on a side street and was probably quieter than some.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thanks for staying with us! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our hotel. We are very lucky to have such wonderful staff who cares about the guest. Please come visit us again when you are in the NYC area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My husband & I had the pleasure of staying at the Aloft in Harlem, just around the corner from the Apollo. Not only are the prices much cheaper than downtown Manhattan the room was clean, modern and a decent size with a big desk and TV, and the staff were all fantastic. Every time we came back to the hotel every staff member we encountered said 'welcome back!'. Although we didn't hang out in the bar it was always packed full of people playing pool or having a late night drink. It was only a 15 minute subway ride to Times Square for those that like the touristy areas. For us we prefer going where the locals go, and we did just that in the area. The Harlem Vintage store just re-opened and we scored some great deals on wine. The Harlem Tavern is a 10 minute walk and it's a lively bar with big TVs for sports and good food. The Red Rooster was my favorite restaurant of our trip, a nice eclectic mix of food. The best fried chicken I ever had. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to get away from the touristy areas and try something different.

Room Tip: The bar gets quite loud on the weekends so if you want something quieter get a room on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thanks for staying with us and thank you for giving us such great review! We are glad that you not only enjoyed the hotel but everything else that Harlem has to offer. It seems that we have a loyal guest in you, so please keep visiting our hotel when ever you are in NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

After several trips to New York, I wanted to change location from my normal stay. I chose the Aloft in Harlem. What a treat. I enjoyed the rich day to day culture of life in Harlem. The Hotel was clean and the service was nice. Transportation was accessible, although I was not in time square there was no problem moving around the city. I loved my stay at the Aloft.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Awesome to hear that you enjoyed your stay!! We are glad that you gave our hotel a try even though we are not right in midtown, we are lucky to have transportation very close to the hotel. We hope that you keep coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Really enjoyed the two times I stayed at the Aloft. The location, though a bit far from the Manhattan hotspots for tourism and shopping, is interesting with some good bars and restaurants around.
Great thanks to the front office guys and the crew at the very lively inhouse bar. The rooms were spotless and modern.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
Thank JonesHeinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for liking our staff and hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope that you visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews