We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect NY visit”
Review of Aloft Harlem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft Harlem
Ranked #239 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect NY visit”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I booked the hotel on Lufthansa's miles and more web site since I used partly my LH points for this stay. I have to admit that this hotel was my 2nd choice, it was a last minute rebooking. However, I am happy that I had made this change.
Aloft Harlem has a very kind and helpful hotel personnel. Room was clean, and rather quiet to New York standards I guess.
There is no traditional breakfast facility like in European hotels but the Hotel offers good alternative. You find everything for a good morning start at the buffet (coffee,bagels, muffins, yoghurts, cereals, smoothies,fruits, etc) or there is a grocery store nearby.
There is a nice hotel bar with occasional live music and good restaurants in the neighborhood. I strongly recommend Bad Horse, Chocolata would only be my second choice.
Hotel is very well situated, Central Park (Columbus Circle) is only one stop away by Subway line A while Lower Manhattan is only a few stops further down the same subway line.
On the down side, they could not really help me with organizing airport transfer, I had to take care of that myself which was easy using the free internet connection.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csongor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We are glad your stay was perfect! We are very lucky to have such a great staff and be in such great area! Be sure to visit us again in the near future.

Thanks for staying!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    310
    64
    14
    16
See reviews for
162
171
69
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I booked through hotels.com and prepaid
They gave my room away and attempted to send me 5 miles away downtown to a 4 points sheraton
This is a horror to find out at midnight when tour car is already in parking garage and you need to be uptown in the morning
Thank God I had a friend closer who put me up for the night
I am a Starwood member but will Not be staying in any of their hotels anytime soon
I am a very very frequent traveler and so upset they didn't hold a PREPAiD hotel room

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pasinishta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
The Aloft Harlem is truly sorry for what you encountered this past weekend at our hotel, this is not common practice but we did have unfortunate situations that placed us in an oversold situation. Although we were placing you in another hotel, that stay would have been paid for and of course your prepaid room would have been refunded with hotels.com. You did mentioned that you are a Starwood preferred member since this information was not listed on your reservation due to you booking with a third party, please email us directly your SPG number so we can award some points for the inconvenience. Please email us at aloftharlem@aloftharlem.com, again we apologize for the inconvenience and hope that you give Starwood another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed at the Aloft Hotel in Harlem. Very friendly front desk staff - nice hotel, nice room, great service. Forgot my phone charger and Malika Franklin, Front Desk Talent lent me hers - charged my phone and gave me directions to a great restaurant for breakfast - in walking distance from the hotel. Amy Ruth's restaurant - make sure you come hungry - plan to go back tonight for their sweat potato pie.
Aloft located right around the corner from the Apollo Theater

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fields J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Aloft Harlem, and were able to enjoy a few restaurants around the hotel. I will make sure to let Malika know that you appreciated her help.

Thanks again for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

get a room in the 09 line as these are the most quiet. location is close to A/E line which is great. all local restaurants will deliver to the hotel. Impossible to catch a taxi here. Hotel needs to do something about this as it has not improved in a year. Good breakfast choices and very convenient.

Room Tip: O9 line is VERY quiet. Upper floor is best as there are often parties in the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsfcmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
It sounds like you are a repeat guest and we love the fact that you choose our hotel again! Thank you for the feedback and yes the 09 rooms are the best in terms of the noise. We have partner up with 3 different car service companies so when a guest has an issue hailing a yellow cab then we call a car service for them and they are usually at the hotel within 3-5 minutes. We would hope that we can do something to make yellow cabs stand by the hotel more often, however, we have no control over that. Thanks again for staying and keep coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great location in Harlem on Frederick Douglass Blvd. which was close to the 125th St subway, restaurants, theatres, and jazz clubs. Central Park was close--a nice walk from the hotel. The staff was helpful although it took one of the front desk staff a long time to get directions to the National Black Theatre. Modern hotel with rooms that are smallish but efficienty designed. Loved the bathroom and the large shower. On Saturday evening, there was a DJ in the lobby near the bar who was jamming! Drinks were good. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked Frederick Douglass Blvd., right across from the Magic Johnson theatre. It was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at our hotel, we are very lucky to have a great staff and to be in a great location near all of the important things in Harlem. It sounds like you also had a good time at WXYZ lounge. Be sure to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 8 night stay at Aloft Harlem recently, chosen after a lot of research of various hotel reviews.

First impressions were excellent, we arrived mid-afternoon and had a very easy and speedy check-in with very friendly and welcoming host. It took about 30-40 minutes to get to by cab from JFK. The entrance is down some steps, but we found a lift from street level.

We had a room on the 4th floor (based on earlier reviews here on Trip Advisor I asked for a quiet room in my booking). We were really impressed. It was a really decent size, with a massive (and massively comfy!) bed, huge tv on a good size workspace/desk under the window, a chair and stool. It was very clean and nicely furnished. The hotel has decent wi-fi too.

It was a well-equipped room. The storage was really well done, we had plenty of space for our 8 night stay with the hanging space and shelves. The room has a small fridge, safe, hairdryer and iron and ironing board. The fridge was really useful for us, we bought some juice, fruit and beers from the ‘Best Yet Market’ just down Frederick Douglass Boulevard. Water, coffee and tea were provided in the room with a small coffee machine.

We used the computers in the lobby which had free printing (useful for boarding passes etc..). We didn’t make it to the bar but it looked good. Everywhere in the hotel was spotless, really well maintained.

We used the green room option, where you put a card on your door if you don’t need the room cleaned the next day (which includes not getting water/coffee refreshed), and you get a $5 coupon for the shop. We did this a few nights and got drinks/snacks from the shop the next day.

We were pleased with the location, always felt safe. It’s so close to the subway (with the quicker express lines) and bus stops so well located for a day’s sightseeing. On our first afternoon we walked down Frederick Douglass Boulevard to the top of Central Park (which took about 10-15 minutes). There are some shops/bars/restaurants nearby. One night we ate out at the Harlem Tavern, which was great. We also picked up some great bargains in a couple of the shops on 125th St after some impromptu shopping on the way back to the hotel one evening!

Everyone who works at Aloft Harlem is so friendly and helpful! There was always a good morning/evening/hello from everyone, which made us feel very welcome. There was a 12noon checkout, so not a massive rush on our last day and they let us store our bags while we went out for a walk over to Columbia University and some lunch before we left.

We had a wonderful stay, and feel that for the price we paid we got a really good deal for NYC. I’d certainly recommend to friends going over to NYC. Thank you Aloft Harlem :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowdrop82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
THANK YOU!! We really appreciate all of the kind things that you had to say about our hotel, our staff and our neighborhood. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you got to enjoy many things around the area and the city. Sounds like we have a loyal guest in you, so please come visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel stafff is very helpful, however, I found the manager to be in need of some diversity training. The hotel accomodations were very good and the location is prime for visitors to Harlem or upper Manhattan.

Room Tip: Corner rooms and higher floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and thank you for the great review! We are glad you found our hotel to be pleasant and an asset to the community. We do apologize if one of our managers was not up to par when dealing with you. We will address that immediately! Please be sure to stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#394 of 468 in New York City
1,496 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#314 of 468 in New York City
1,507 reviews
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bronx
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#392 of 468 in New York City
1,585 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#46 of 468 in New York City
239 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#438 of 468 in New York City
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Harlem

Property: Aloft Harlem
Address: 2296 Frederick Douglass Blvd, New York City, NY 10027-5324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#133 Business Hotel in New York City
#212 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#237 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Harlem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Harlem hotel is steps from the Apollo Theater, Central Park, and NYC express subway stations. Our boutique accommodation has free wifi, on-site dining, and Plug & Play equipped guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Aloft Harlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Harlem Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing