We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“when you find a quiet room, its great!”
Review of Aloft Harlem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft Harlem
Ranked #235 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

get a room in the 09 line as these are the most quiet. location is close to A/E line which is great. all local restaurants will deliver to the hotel. Impossible to catch a taxi here. Hotel needs to do something about this as it has not improved in a year. Good breakfast choices and very convenient.

Room Tip: O9 line is VERY quiet. Upper floor is best as there are often parties in the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsfcmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

It sounds like you are a repeat guest and we love the fact that you choose our hotel again! Thank you for the feedback and yes the 09 rooms are the best in terms of the noise. We have partner up with 3 different car service companies so when a guest has an issue hailing a yellow cab then we call a car service for them and they are usually at the hotel within 3-5 minutes. We would hope that we can do something to make yellow cabs stand by the hotel more often, however, we have no control over that. Thanks again for staying and keep coming back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 719 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

Great location in Harlem on Frederick Douglass Blvd. which was close to the 125th St subway, restaurants, theatres, and jazz clubs. Central Park was close--a nice walk from the hotel. The staff was helpful although it took one of the front desk staff a long time to get directions to the National Black Theatre. Modern hotel with rooms that are smallish but efficienty designed. Loved the bathroom and the large shower. On Saturday evening, there was a DJ in the lobby near the bar who was jamming! Drinks were good. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked Frederick Douglass Blvd., right across from the Magic Johnson theatre. It was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at our hotel, we are very lucky to have a great staff and to be in a great location near all of the important things in Harlem. It sounds like you also had a good time at WXYZ lounge. Be sure to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 8 night stay at Aloft Harlem recently, chosen after a lot of research of various hotel reviews.

First impressions were excellent, we arrived mid-afternoon and had a very easy and speedy check-in with very friendly and welcoming host. It took about 30-40 minutes to get to by cab from JFK. The entrance is down some steps, but we found a lift from street level.

We had a room on the 4th floor (based on earlier reviews here on Trip Advisor I asked for a quiet room in my booking). We were really impressed. It was a really decent size, with a massive (and massively comfy!) bed, huge tv on a good size workspace/desk under the window, a chair and stool. It was very clean and nicely furnished. The hotel has decent wi-fi too.

It was a well-equipped room. The storage was really well done, we had plenty of space for our 8 night stay with the hanging space and shelves. The room has a small fridge, safe, hairdryer and iron and ironing board. The fridge was really useful for us, we bought some juice, fruit and beers from the ‘Best Yet Market’ just down Frederick Douglass Boulevard. Water, coffee and tea were provided in the room with a small coffee machine.

We used the computers in the lobby which had free printing (useful for boarding passes etc..). We didn’t make it to the bar but it looked good. Everywhere in the hotel was spotless, really well maintained.

We used the green room option, where you put a card on your door if you don’t need the room cleaned the next day (which includes not getting water/coffee refreshed), and you get a $5 coupon for the shop. We did this a few nights and got drinks/snacks from the shop the next day.

We were pleased with the location, always felt safe. It’s so close to the subway (with the quicker express lines) and bus stops so well located for a day’s sightseeing. On our first afternoon we walked down Frederick Douglass Boulevard to the top of Central Park (which took about 10-15 minutes). There are some shops/bars/restaurants nearby. One night we ate out at the Harlem Tavern, which was great. We also picked up some great bargains in a couple of the shops on 125th St after some impromptu shopping on the way back to the hotel one evening!

Everyone who works at Aloft Harlem is so friendly and helpful! There was always a good morning/evening/hello from everyone, which made us feel very welcome. There was a 12noon checkout, so not a massive rush on our last day and they let us store our bags while we went out for a walk over to Columbia University and some lunch before we left.

We had a wonderful stay, and feel that for the price we paid we got a really good deal for NYC. I’d certainly recommend to friends going over to NYC. Thank you Aloft Harlem :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snowdrop82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

THANK YOU!! We really appreciate all of the kind things that you had to say about our hotel, our staff and our neighborhood. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you got to enjoy many things around the area and the city. Sounds like we have a loyal guest in you, so please come visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The hotel stafff is very helpful, however, I found the manager to be in need of some diversity training. The hotel accomodations were very good and the location is prime for visitors to Harlem or upper Manhattan.

Room Tip: Corner rooms and higher floors are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay and thank you for the great review! We are glad you found our hotel to be pleasant and an asset to the community. We do apologize if one of our managers was not up to par when dealing with you. We will address that immediately! Please be sure to stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I love Starwood hotels, particularly the consistency of the Aloft Hotels. I love the smell just walking into their lobbies. The lobby here has very loud music and is very upbeat. It makes for a trendy, modern feel, but it does make it hard to communicate at the front desk. The rooms were small, but the decor and cleanliness make up for it. Nice television. Pricier than what I normally like to spend on 3 nights, but it was rather close to transportation and somewhat less expensive than other places we looked into. I love hanging out in the lobby and at the lobby bar in our down time, but on the last day, there was a large children's family birthday party there. I felt unwelcomed and uncomfortable while in the lobby area trying to use the computer to print our boarding passes and finding somewhere to sit to wait for our friends & cab, while I was literally in the center of someone's family/party anywhere I went. That was odd to me, to inconvenience guests who are paying for use of the facility to rent out the lobby or however they arranged it. Otherwise, overall good place.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bijou53077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for your review! We are glad you found a clean, modern hotel for your stay, our bar is one of the "it" places in Harlem so sometimes it does get a bit busy. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you will visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed one night in this still fairly new ALOFT Hotel. Quiet room on the 4th floor on a side street ... and that was perfect. For those familiar with the ALOFT set up ... do ask for a room that is not too close to the lively lounge bar. This one had live music and a happy crowd. It didn't bother us at all since we were a good distance removed. The room has a pleasant designer feel to it. The TV is huge. The shower adequate. Staff very friendly and more than accommodating to help out with any special needs. The hotel is just a block away from a subway station with an express D line train that drops you without stops at Columbus Circle and 8th Ave in just 7 minutes. Many good restaurants walking distance from the hotel in this very lively neighbourhood. A winner !

Room Tip: Ask for a room where lounge noise won't be a nuisance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SniggyBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for the great review! We are glad that you found our hotel to be convenient and pleasant to stay in. We are lucky to have staff that really cares about the guest and that is what really makes a difference. Please come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Aloft Harlem hotel is one of the hotels under the Starwood brand and I must say it is one of the best hotels I have ever visited. I work in Manhattan and just about a year ago, I checked into the Aloft and was pleasantly surprised to find a hotel like this in Harlem.

The number one feature of the hotel is the staff. From the GM, Daniel, to the managers, Vivian, Luiza and Babene, they are fantastic hosts. All of the staff at the front desk, the bar, security, maintenance and housekeeping have treated me like family. The rooms are always clean and may not be very big, but the 42" TV is a plus. There are a lot of fun activities happening at the lounge area, which includes a pool table and Apple computers provided to you free of charge. I truly look forward to seeing my "friends" at the Aloft weekly.

By the way, the price

Room Tip: Select a room above the 3rd floor. The music maybe too loud if a function is occuring
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayPee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luisa P, Guest Relations Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

THANK YOU!! You are awesome and we are very lucky to have you as a permanent guest of ours. It is a pleasure to serve you every week and hopefully we could continue to do it. Thanks for being a great guest and for pointing out our best asset, our staff!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#392 of 469 in New York City
1,527 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#38 of 469 in New York City
268 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#320 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#394 of 469 in New York City
1,630 reviews
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bronx
637 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#442 of 469 in New York City
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Harlem

Address: 2296 Frederick Douglass Blvd, New York City, NY 10027-5324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
#208 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#232 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $180 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Harlem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Harlem hotel is steps from the Apollo Theater, Central Park, and NYC express subway stations. Our boutique accommodation has free wifi, on-site dining, and Plug & Play equipped guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Harlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Harlem Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing