We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, friendly hotel in the Heart of Harlem”
Review of Aloft Harlem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Harlem
Ranked #255 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel has a great atmosphere. It is a division of the W Hotels so it has swank and modern decor. There is a great lobby with a good seating area and bar. The rooms are nice, clean and spacious for New York although dresser drawers in the guest rooms would have been nice. There was closet space, cubby areas for clothes, coffee maker, free wi-fi, a safe and mini-fridge in the room. The staff was super friendly, nice and helpful. There is no hotel restaurant but food options nearby.

A bonus for me was that our stay included a Friday night where they were having a live band in the bar area that played some Nu-Soul music. It wasn't too noisy and they ended at an appropriate time. It added some liveliness to the hotel!

The location is great - only a block and a half from the A-train and two blocks from the historic Apollo Theater. There is also a nice little grocery market - Best Yet Foods - down the street that has prepared foods, a deli and upscale grocery items - similar items you would find at a Whole Foods. They also sell food (sandwiches and breakfast items) in the hotel lobby if you don't want to take a walk. There are a lot of street vendors in the day time and along 125th so the shopping is fun and eclectic. The room was more reasonably priced than hotels in Midtown. The neighborhood is not as developed as other parts of the city but I felt safe the whole time I was there. All in all a hotel I would stay at again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YYWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

YYWC,

Thank you for such a friendly and great review! We’re happy to know that you enjoyed the liveliness of our space and also felt safe staying here. Our location is one of the best features of the hotel! Close to restaurants, transportation, recreation, and sightseeing. We look forward to your return! Thank you again for staying at Aloft Harlem. It’s always a pleasure to serve you! Stay Sassy and Savvy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 726 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

I am in New York City often and have stayed in my fair share of hotels and this one is not bad. First, the location. I will admit- it is on the "grity" side since it is Central Harlem but I felt safe the whole time. The hotel is located two blocks away from the express subway line so it makes it easy and fast to get anywhere.

The hotel itself is small and lacks a huge formal lobby. But they do make it for it with a small reception area, a bar area, and a lounge which are all nicely furnished. The rooms are decent sized even for NYC standards. Pretty much everything in the room is what you would find in a typical hotel so nothing too crazy to rave about. Everything was clean and everything that you would need is there. Aloft hotels are a subset of the W hotels so there is a sort of "W" hotel vibe. I didn't really interact with the staff except for check-in but they were friendly and greeted me as I walked in and out of the hotel.

So all in all it was good stay. When you consider that this hotel was about $400/ per night less expensive than other hotels in the city, it is a great deal. If you are on a budget, and don't necessarily mind being in Harlem or are not an overly fussy traveler, you'll be just fine here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1234lolola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

1234lolola,

Thanks for the great review! We’re glad to know that you felt safe in the neighborhood, could get to your destination, and saved some $$. We will be looking forward to your return. Thank you again for choosing the Aloft Harlem. See you soon! Stay Savvy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Just adding my agreement to all of the positive reviews. I was surprised to find that the hotel was as nice and pleasant as it is. This is a super hotel for value and comfort in NY. The subway ride into the city is easy; and if you're attending an event at Columbia U, then the location is ideal: an easy walk. As others have noted, the staff is extremely welcoming and friendly, making for a pleasant experience. I had asked in advance for a quiet room, and was assigned to a corner room on the top floor: great. Never heard a sound. The rooms are nice--not luxurious, but very pleasant and comfortable. If you opt out of having your towels and sheets changed on any day, you are given a coupon for the lobby grab and go breakfast/snack bar, and can get a decent Continental breakfast. The reasonable price for a NY hotel and all of the other pluses--clean, quiet, friendly, and new--make this Aloft a great choice. I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank literatureprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Literatureprof,

Thank you for such a great review! We’re glad to know that we’ve exceeded your expectations. We also look forward to your return. Thank you again for choosing the Aloft Harlem. See you soon! Stay Sassy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed at Aloft for four days in December conducting business in NYC. Centrally located in Harlem, close to subway and good bus connection to uptown Manhattan. Aloft was opened in December 2010. Harlem has become a nice area with a lot of good restaurants and hip shops. Reception area and the bar is really nice and trendy. Rooms are comfortable, good need, nice bathroom, free WIFI, Flatscreen TV. Complimentary water bottles, complimentary coffe in the room, hair dryer, iron.

Staff is very friendly, security is good. There is also a small shop in the lobby area were you can buy a simple breakfast, snacks, soda water etc.

Overall a hotel I can recommend.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Runar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Runar P,

Thanks for your trendy and fabulous review! It’s an honor to have such a top reviewer be able to recommend our hotel. With the many hotel options, your choice of the Aloft Harlem is greatly appreciated. We value you and looking forward to your return. Thank you again for staying at the Aloft Harlem. Stay Savvy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I just returned from our stay at Aloft Harlem. The hotel was great and very affordable. The hotel itself was modern and the room was spacious for New York City. What set Aloft Harlem apart from other hotels was their staff. From the time we checked in and was assisted by Victor to the time we checked out the entire staff was super friendly and helpful. They answered every question we had with a smile. We're already planning a return trip and we won't stay anyplace besides Aloft Harlem!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STLtraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

STLtraveler15,

Thank you for your great review! Victor is such a great asset to our team as is every other member of the team. This is definitely something we like to brag about. We hope that our talented staff will bring you back more and more! Thank you again for staying and we look forward to your return! Stay Sassy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Considering That my son and I were at The Aloft between 28th October and 1st November during Sandy, I must say we had a great time there. All the staff were extremely helpful. They have a great bar with a pool table adjacent to it. We spent a lot of time there. The only hiccup during the trip was a breakdown of the net between 31st October and 1st November.

Room Tip: All rooms are good I assume. Our room with two queen beds was pretty spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prasan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Prasan68,

Thank you for spending Sandy with us! She caused a lot of problems around the area that we are still facing, but we were kept safe here in Harlem. Luckily the internet was the only thing to down and we maintained power and all our other services throughout the tragedy. We hope that you'll return to our hotel when there isn’t a superstorm. See you soon! Stay Savvy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Been staying here regularly on trips to NYC since April. Great location near the ABCD subway lines and walkable to Riverside Drive and the Columbia University undergraduate campus, so the Harlem location doesn't limit you to just doing things in the immediate area. Rooms are W-lite, there's a good bar and quick place to grab a packaged salad or breakfast sandwich (made fresh) by the front desk. Friendly staff and very helpful. Light sleepers will want to ask for a room away from the street on a high floor (5 or 6), as the street is a typically hectic NYC street and the bar can get noisy on Friday and Saturday nights. Good small gym with cardio, weights and yoga mats in the basement, as the building also houses apartments on the floors above the hotel. Recommended for location, price, nice amenity touches and staff.

Thank Seattlenerd
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Seattlenerd,

Thank you for your great review! You have noted the great offerings of our property to the T. We hope that you enjoyed using our facilities and you will also return to stay with us again in the very near future. Stay Sassy and Savvy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#398 of 471 in New York City
1,549 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#95 of 471 in New York City
279 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#326 of 471 in New York City
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#151 of 471 in New York City
935 reviews
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bronx
653 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#174 of 471 in New York City
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Harlem

Address: 2296 Frederick Douglass Blvd, New York City, NY 10027-5324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Family Hotel in New York City
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
#208 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $150 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Harlem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Harlem hotel is steps from the Apollo Theater, Central Park, and NYC express subway stations. Our boutique accommodation has free wifi, on-site dining, and Plug & Play equipped guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Harlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Harlem Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing