We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent location, good staff, nice touches”
Review of Aloft Harlem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aloft Harlem
Ranked #246 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Been staying here regularly on trips to NYC since April. Great location near the ABCD subway lines and walkable to Riverside Drive and the Columbia University undergraduate campus, so the Harlem location doesn't limit you to just doing things in the immediate area. Rooms are W-lite, there's a good bar and quick place to grab a packaged salad or breakfast sandwich (made fresh) by the front desk. Friendly staff and very helpful. Light sleepers will want to ask for a room away from the street on a high floor (5 or 6), as the street is a typically hectic NYC street and the bar can get noisy on Friday and Saturday nights. Good small gym with cardio, weights and yoga mats in the basement, as the building also houses apartments on the floors above the hotel. Recommended for location, price, nice amenity touches and staff.

Thank Seattlenerd
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Seattlenerd,

Thank you for your great review! You have noted the great offerings of our property to the T. We hope that you enjoyed using our facilities and you will also return to stay with us again in the very near future. Stay Sassy and Savvy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 725 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. Very reasonably priced. Close to great food. Subway is close by and easy access to downtown. Rooms are small but very clean and well kept. Staff was very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank User85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

User85,

Thank you for such a great review! It’s an honor to have you stay with us! We hope to see you again in the very near future. Stay Savvy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed for three nights on a business trip and the property was first class. the staff was helpful and attentive. On site services were fine for a few days stay. Public transit is convienient and easy with the D express taking you to Columbus Circle in a couple of minutes. The neighborhood is fine during the day. Like many neighborhoods in NY common sense rules. Get where you are going and don't wander around late if you don't know your surroundings. If you are late in midtown or downtown it's easy and cheap to get a cab back uptown. The rest of the time the subway is great. Pick up a pass at one of the machines in LGA or JFK and you are good to go. I stayed at the Marriott Marquis in Times Square when it opened in 1985 and this neighborhood experience is much nicer than that was. Take that $150 a night that you save and see a show.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Sean M,

Thank you for such a wonderful review! You hit our great offerings right on the nail! We hope that more business brings you back to NYC and to our hotel. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Stay Sassy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had great time at the Aloft Harlem Hotel. The neighborhood is good and safe, not as it used to be years ago. There some good restaurants nearby within short walking distance, and some major fashion chains have branches there as well (H&M, Old Navy and others). The subway is one block from the hotel, and there are two express lines (A and D) which take you directly downtown.
The Hotel itself is very nice, with friendly stuff. The rooms are vast (comparing hotels of same level downtown) and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable. Free in room Wi-Fi. There is a small refrigerator which may be helpful. There is some action in the lobby / first floor at nights , but I didn't try. Liked it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ezpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Ezpass,

Thank you for such a good review of our hotel! Next time you stay you will have to be sure to check out the WXYZ Bar, it's a really good time. We’re also glad to know that you felt safe and comfortable in the neighborhood. We look forward to your return to NYC! Stay Savvy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed here for one night after seeing a show at the Apollo. It was very clean, safe and well appointed. Free wifi, fridge, coffee maker, huge shower and HD tv with a picture clearer than home! Staff was friendly and accommodating and their bar was lively on a Saturday night. Downfalls? Narrow room, tiny window overlooking roof that does not open, thin walls (but quiet neighbors) and no upgrades for SPG members because all rooms are the same.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 57alisonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

57alisonm,

Thank you for your great review! With the Apollo right around the corner and Aloft being the only hotel in Harlem, we’re the perfect place to stay. Our rooms are all the same, but some provide different views. Next time be sure to ask for something more appealing. We hope that you decide to stay with us again when you’re in NYC. Stay Sassy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Very hip, modern European style hotel in a dramatically revitalized Harlem. The hotel bar, wxyz, has a great selection of liquor and beer, with a line of HD TVs for sports programming. Highly recommended for business and family travelers.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Mderman,

Thank you for your wonderful review! It only takes 15 minutes by subway to get to Times Square, so why not save some $$ on your room and spend it elsewhere? Our TV programming is a great offering to guest with hundreds of channels to choose from. We hope to see you again here at the Aloft Harlem. Stay Sassy and Savvy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I have been visiting NYC a few weekends a year for about 12 years to visit our daughter and sightsee. We have stayed in hotels in lower Manhattan, midtown, and Upper West Side and usually pick the most convenient location for what we are doing that weekend, but when I tried to get reservations for our most recent visit we found most hotels filled (because of the NYC Marathon, which of course ended up canceled due to Hurricane Sandy). A Starwood reservations agent found us a room at the Aloft Harlem and we decided to give it a try. We are glad that we did! It's a nicely designed and comfortable hotel with friendly and helpful staff, and the location was not inconvenient to midtown even with the partial loss of subway service due to the storm. We were able to get the A train a couple of blocks away and it took us to 34th in about 20 minutes. We felt safe walking to and from the train, and we mostly felt safe walking a few blocks in the other direction. There is a police station practically across from the hotel, and the area seems to be in the process of gentrification.
We were there Friday and Saturday nights so requested a quiet room that would not get noise from the lounge, and the room they gave us on the 4th floor was perfectly quiet. It did not face the street, and I was pleasantly surprised to find that we did not even hear noise from people walking down the hall or slamming room doors, as you often do in other hotels. The room was clean and was large by NYC standards, though the relatively limited storage space could be a problem if you are staying more than a couple of nights. I liked having the sink area separated from the toilet/shower area, but as another reviewer noted this separation was a sliding door (my husband said it is a "pocket door") that did not lock or even seal well. So if you are a private person who does not like to share bathroom noises (sorry, I'm trying to put it delicately), this may bother you if you are sharing the room. The other significant problem with the toilet/shower area is that there is no way to turn on the light in there without also turning on the light in the sink area (which is not far from the bed), so if you need to use the toilet during the night you either have to do so in the dark or turn on the light and wake up the other person in bed. I always bring a plug-in nightlight to hotels but it did not help in this case because there was no outlet in the toilet/shower area. So it might be a good idea to bring a mini-flashlight for nighttime bathroom visits! Another nitpick is that there was no wastebasket in the toilet/shower area, although there were wastebaskets in the sink area and in the desk area.
Other things that we liked: The bed and pillows were very comfortable; the towels were sufficiently thick and there were enough of them; there is a convenient charging station for cell phone, computer, etc.; there is an in-room safe that's big enough for a laptop and some other stuff; the walk-in shower is large and has built-in dispensers for soap and shampoo (but it is conditioning shampoo, so if you are like me and need separate shampoo and conditioner you should bring your own); they have recycling bins in the room and in the lobby.
They have a large L-shaped counter in the room which can be used as a desk, but there is only one chair (there is enough counter space for two chairs) and one lamp. My husband had to do some work and felt that the lamp did not give adequate lighting, but this would not be an issue if you were not there on business.
Breakfast is not included (other than free coffee and tea in the lobby and room, and there are free water bottles in the room), but they do provide some breakfast items (for a price) in the lobby or you can get something from the corner deli (did not look appetizing) or nearby Dunkin Donuts. We walked a few blocks to get breakfast at Les Ambassades (I'll review that separately).
The hotel bar/lounge is a nice place to hang out--it even has a pool table. It's very loud at night (at least on weekends) but quiet in the morning (bar is not open then), and seems like a nice place to relax and socialize when quiet.
If not for the bathroom issues, this hotel would be my first choice for future NYC stays. Even with these issues, we are likely to return if we get a good room rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that will not get noise from the lounge on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank freedshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Freedshop,

Wow! Thank you for such a detailed review! We are happy that you decided to stay with us and that we exceeding your expectations. As you noted, Harlem is going through a new renaissance of sorts and the hotel is right in the middle of it. We appreciate your notes on how to better provide service regarding the bathroom. Thank you again for staying with us and we’re looking forward to serving you again when you return to NYC. Stay savvy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#397 of 470 in New York City
1,542 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#320 of 470 in New York City
1,586 reviews
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#35 of 470 in New York City
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper East Side
The Marmara Manhattan
The Marmara Manhattan
#150 of 470 in New York City
920 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#207 of 470 in New York City
826 reviews
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bronx
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Harlem

Address: 2296 Frederick Douglass Blvd, New York City, NY 10027-5324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Family Hotel in New York City
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
#208 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $157 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Harlem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Harlem hotel is steps from the Apollo Theater, Central Park, and NYC express subway stations. Our boutique accommodation has free wifi, on-site dining, and Plug & Play equipped guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Harlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Harlem Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing