We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Price and Harlem is Awesome !!!!”
Review of Aloft Harlem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aloft Harlem
Ranked #236 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Price and Harlem is Awesome !!!!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I live in Harlem and needed a place to stay for the weekend. I decided to stay local and try out the Aloft in Harlem. The Harlem Aloft is a typical Aloft and I always say if IKEA could design a hotel it would be the Aloft. Aloft is in a great location and the price is very reasonable for Manhattan. If you don’t need to be downtown or in midtown then Aloft Harlem is for you. Please find my thoughts below:

Staff:
I did not have much interaction with the staff but when I did they were pleasant and performed their duties as expected. However, they did a good job of recommending restaurants.

Cleanliness:
The rooms were clean and the housekeeping staff was professional.

Location:
The Aloft hotel is a cool hotel. On Friday and Saturday nights there is a DJ in the lobby and hotel guests in addition to locals come out to have a good time. Plus it's Harlem.
The Aloft is also near the famous 125th street. You are within walking distance to several restaurants, lounges and the subway. If you want to go midtown or downtown then it’s just a hop, jump and a skip away.

Transportation:
The Aloft is close to the 2, 3, B and C trains. The 2 and 3 trains are the express trains and 42nd street is only 4 stops away. You can get there in about 10 minutes. The B and C will not take you to the heart of 42nd street but you can walk over a few blocks to get there.

Food:
Dunkin Donuts is right at the corner and you can easily walk to neighborhood favorites such as the Red Rooster, Corner Social and Chez Lucienne. There are a few lounge spots a few blocks from the Aloft such as Mocha Lounge, L Lounge, Chocolate and 67 Orange.

What to Do:
The Apollo theater is a must see and you should go to Amateur night. Target also has a museum that hosts events and its kid friendly as well. The Schomburg Center is a must see museum and has an event called First Fridays. You can view African American art, have a drink and listen to some good music. Harlem has a rich culture which includes the Harlem Renaissance and so there are self guided walking tours that you can do to explore the neighborhood.

If you want to go to other museums then you are not too far from museum mile and on a nice day you can actually walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercedes F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Mercedes F,

Thanks for your outstanding review! As a fellow Harlemite, your awesome comments and feedback is greatly appreciated. We’re exuberant that you decided to stay local and stay with us. We hope to also see you again soon! Stay Savvy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    314
    64
    14
    16
See reviews for
162
173
70
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is an amazing hotel. Great bar and fun vibe. Plus the front desk folks are the fabulous and very service-oriented. The northern part of Central Park is withing walking distance. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room on a top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate Hyatt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Kate Hyatt H,

Thanks for your amazing review! Your excellent comments on our staff and bar are greatly appreciated. We cannot wait for you to stay with us again. Stay Sassy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Woow, what a surprise! We have been to NYC for Columbia University Parents Weekend. After
trying out and suffering at hotels near CU on earlier trips we came across Aloft in Harlem. Being a frequent guest at W hotels we immediately liked W´s little sister "Aloft".

Location: Trendy Harlem, absolutely safe area.

Rooms: Unusually large for NYC standard. Clean, clean, clean! Modern furnitures. The bathrooms have rain forrest showers.

Lobby: Cool, young atmosphere, loud music at night which wasn´t heard in the rooms.

Staff: Extremly friendly,

Food: Not worth mentioning, but who wants to eat in the hotel ,having thousands restaurants
around the corner.

As spoiled Europeans we will definitely stay at that hidden jewel once visiting NYC again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TateleMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
TateleMunich,

Thank you for your fabulous review! You have pointed out the very amenities and offerings that make the Aloft Harlem a JEWEL. We hope that you have a chance next time to try a bite out at our WXYZ bar and can’t wait for Parents Weekend again. We look forward to your return to NYC! Stay Savvy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Ive stayed in ALofts before and love them. This is a typical property for them. Stylish and well laid out rooms with great amenities. Terrific property. However, the location, especially if walking from subway, is not totally without risk late in the evening. Dark side streets and few open businesses -- not much foot traffic. All warning signs, especially if you are solo. I would recommend a cab uptown to the property after dark.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Rob S,

Thank you for your review! We value and appreciate your comments. Any area after a certain time becomes a risk, but we have guests returning at all hours and have never had any issues. We are surrounded by prime real estate, shops, eats and a police precinct directly across the street from our hotel. Harlem is ever changing and the area has come a long way from its past reputation. We hope that you decide to stay with us again in the future to appreciate all that our wonderful area has to offer. Stay Sassy and Savvy!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I normally don't post review of hotels online but Aloft Harlem really exceeded my expectations. It is close to everything and very accessible to numerous public transportation and subway. Manhattan is so close you can actually get there in less than 10 minutes via the metro (125th street). I never had any issues during our stay everything was clean and organized. The only feature I didn't like was the bathroom's main sliding door which can't be locked. It felt like going into a closet but other than that the bathroom is very safe and highly maintained and the hotel truly has amazing features. Gotta love the lively atmosphere at the mini bar located downstairs. They offer live music and yes the staffs were friendly and accommodating at least to us. I will definitely stay at this hotel when I visit NYC again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostnomad92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Keeptravelin26,

Thank you for your first review! It’s an honor that you took the time to brag about your experience here at the Aloft Harlem. Your feedback is very valued! Our aim is to always exceed expectations and we thank you for staying with us. We will be looking forward to your return! Stay Savvy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed at the Aloft Harlem on October 10th. The hotel is very clean, very new and very nice. I love the retro decor. Staff are super friendly. There is a nice selection of light fare for a quick bit and some sweets for your sweet tooth if you prefer. The prices I thought were very reasonable. A bottle of soda was $2, which by NYC standards is cheap! There are several convenience type shops within walking distance for snacks, beer, wine, etc and the police station is directly across the street from the hotel - so I felt safe. As for the room - it was very spacious and clean. Comfy bed and pillows. A giant flat screen tv, a nice long desk area that is the length of the windows (which take up the entire wall). The bathroom, for me, was fine. Sink is separate from the toilet and shower - which I personally prefer if you there is more than 1 person in the room - while one is showering the other can be using the sink to wash up or whatever. The lighting was odd, but not so difficult to figure out to be an issue. We had one drink at the bar - which was delicious and the bar staff were very very friendly and accomodating. We went to Dinosaur BBQ (125th street) for dinner and were easily able to get a cab both there and back ($8 ea way). I will definitely be back to Aloft even if my business is not in the Harlem area - its that nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cab1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Cab1002,

Thank you for your amazing review! We can’t wait until your definite return! I’m glad that you enjoyed our fabulous amenities, including the WXYZ Lounge. Next time you come, be sure to join us for Karaoke night! Your review will provide amazing information to future guests, we really appreciate your review. Thank you again for staying at Aloft Harlem. Stay Sassy and Savvy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just got back from New York and were quite impressed by the aloft concept. Style and design of the hotel is very appealing, fresh and hip. We liked the modern hall with efficient reception desk, the option to get food in the lobby 24 hours if you want, even though we didn't make any use of it as we wanted to have a full breakfast at a diner on the Upper West side, and the possibility to meet, have a drink or play pool. The rooms are spacious with every amenity necessary. We really liked the design of it as well.You were supposed to be able to hook up your electronic devices such as iPhone and iPod to your TV but we didn't have the appropriate cables and the hotel couldn't supply us with the cables either. That was actually the only draw back. We also enjoyed coming back to the hotel in the evenings as it actually functions as a happening Harlem get together with great music and dance in the hall. We didn't mind the location at all. The 125th A,C,B,D metro stop station is a 5 minute walk, which we found safe at all times of the day. The neighboorhood has been upgraded the past years and it is an easy walk up through Morningside Park to get to Columbia and the other metro as well. We are totally convinced that the aloft concept is the way to go and we will be looking out for aloft hotels elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bas_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Bas_8,

Thank you for your hip review! I first would like to apologize for not having extra cords to supply your iPod; guests grab them up very quickly. I glad that otherwise you had an amazing stay with us and will hopefully try our B&F options next time you stay with us and around the world as well. We are looking forward to your return! Thank you again for staying at Aloft Harlem. Stay Sassy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#67 of 467 in New York City
248 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#394 of 467 in New York City
1,504 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#314 of 467 in New York City
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bronx
612 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#392 of 467 in New York City
1,598 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#437 of 467 in New York City
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Harlem

Property: Aloft Harlem
Address: 2296 Frederick Douglass Blvd, New York City, NY 10027-5324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#235 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Harlem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Harlem hotel is steps from the Apollo Theater, Central Park, and NYC express subway stations. Our boutique accommodation has free wifi, on-site dining, and Plug & Play equipped guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Harlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Harlem Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing