We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Aloft Harlem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aloft Harlem
Ranked #232 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
State College, PA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed my short stay at the Aloft Harlem. The room was lovely and clean and the staff was friendly. My one complaint was that I could hear music and shouting from the bar three floors down on a Friday night. I wound up sleeping with the white noise app on. Aside from that it was great. I would stay there again, but ask for a quieter room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theaquitaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Theaquitaine,
Thank you for your beautiful review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your room and our talent and apologize for the noise. We try our best to maintain a level of comfort for our guest both in our room and in our WXYZ Lounge. I again apologize for the noise and hope that we can make your stay even more comfortable next time around. We are looking forward to you staying again! Stay Sassy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    314
    64
    14
    16
See reviews for
162
173
70
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Aloft Harlem is a new, modern property in a very convenient location. It's a two block walk to the 125th st subway station which is on the B and D express lines. Only a couple of stops and you're at 42nd st. The hotel itself is clean and nicely decorated. Rooms are huge for NYC, and have all the usual amenities - flat screen tv, large tile shower, coffee/tea maker, iron, safe, free wifi. Kind of a cool vibe, like a more relaxed version of W hotels. The staff is what made our experience though. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. We had the pleasure of dealing with Jinny and Martha for most of our stay. They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. We wanted to add a second room to our stay and they were extremely accommodating. They were always smiling and laughing with us and treated us like friends. They transformed what would have been a good stay in a nice hotel into a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nybos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Nybos,

Thank you for your fabulous review of the Aloft Hotel. You hit what make us the best place to stay in the city right on the nail - Our Space, Savvy location, and our Sassy Talent! Martha and Jennie have been recognized for providing you with the sassiest service possible. We look forward to you staying again with us when you return to New York City. Thank you and stay sassy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The location of the hotel is good. It is only a few minutes walk to 125th Street which is on lines A/B/C/D which you can take to get downtown. The area is safe to walk around and perfectly fine. The style of the hotel is a vision of a W hotel so very modern and clean cut without the price of a W.

The staff at the hotel are so friendly. Nothing is a problem and they are very upbeat. From check-in to check-out they were cheery and efficient.

The Aloft room I had contained a king bed and was comfortable. Room size was good for New York and bathroom had a shower only but it was a double shower. Good sized. There was free wifi. The only quibble I had with room was the noise from the air conditioner as it was not ducted but a stand alone one. There was also a bit of street noise coming into the room too. They were minor issues though.

The hotel is good value considering how expensive NYC hotel prices can be. I would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Rc33,

Thanks for your cool review of our hotel! Being so close to the subway is one of my favorite amenities our hotel has to offer! I also confident that the Harlem area will overcome the “idea” it has, by this review and others. Next time you stay, be sure to reach out so that we can get you away from the street noise! We look forward to your return! Stay sassy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I very much enjoyed the Aloft Harlem. The staff was among the most helpful, most knowledgable, and friendly hotel staff I have experienced. The value is excellent, the rooms are big (compared to NYC hotels), and the area is safe. The gym is decent and the proximity to central park is good (less than a mile). Like any Aloft, there is no restaurant, but with all the places in eat in NYC, who needs a hotel restaurant. The only criticisim is although Harlem is safe, there isn't much to do walking distance from the hotel for tourists. But there are plenty of taxi-cabs and the subway is a block away. If you are looking for a relaxing stay, about six miles from Midtown, and excellent value....stay at the Aloft Harlem!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob6104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Bob6104,

Wow, and to see that you’re a frequent traveler to say that our Talent is among the best you ever encountered is amazing! Did you get a chance to check out the Studio Museum, Dwyer Cultural Center, Schomburg, or the famous Strivers Row? Aren’t there so many outstanding restaurants within 20 blocks of our hotel? Next time you visit, we will be sure to direct you in the right direction! Thanks for your review! We look forward to your return and stay savvy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We loved the minimalist decor with bold colors of this hotel. Very original. Good sized modern rooms, well lit (especially our corner room, though it had views of the next door buildings, not bad though) and very clean. Good equipment - large cable TV, A/C, safe, wifi, usb-ports for your phone charger, hairdryer etc.
Staff is very friendly and accommodating, offering complementary water and discounts for not requesting room cleaning. Adjacent to the lobby there is a nice bar and sometimes there are parties there. We didn't join but all seemed in good taste.

Hotel is in walking distance of Central Park (~10-15 minutes) in an area of Harlem where we felt safe. 2 minutes walk to the famous Apollo Theater which shouldn't be missed.

We totally recommend this hotel, especially cause the price is very good for NYC.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagCri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
MagCri,

Being able to walk down to Central Park is amazing, not to mention we are surrounded by Morningside, St. Nicholas, and Marcus Garvey Parks respectively. Next time you stay you will have to be sure to join us in our WXYZ bar and have an eclectic time. Thank you again for you bold and original review and we look forward to your return! Stay sassy and savvy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Why everyone wants to stay in midtown when they come to NYC is beyond me. The Aloft Hotel Harlem is conveniently located in Spanish Harlem a short walk from Central Park. You can get anywhere on the subway or in taxis - and, the cost is dramatically more manageable.

Whenever I go to New York, I stay at the Aloft Harlem Hotel. Convenience, quality, cost and accessibility make it the perfect business travelers hotel. In fact, with Harlem continuing it's renaissance - there are fantastic restaurants, boutiques and hot-spots cropping up all over this part of Manhattan. It is really a great place to stay - especially if you have any work in midtown or at Columbia.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room off of FD Blvd - much too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Wayne C,

It’s beyond me as well, why people choose to stay downtown, but that’s why our hotel was built! Our Central Harlem location provides easy access to get downtown as you stated is another reason why we are so great! We look forward to your return and prior to your arrival, give us a ring and we will be sure to put that request into your reservation! Thank you for your amazing review and stay sassy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Have just returned from quick trip to New York City where I stayed at the Aloft Harlem. The hotel is quite new and therefore everything seems to be shiny and clean. The staff are very friendly and very helpful and the rooms and furnishings are modern but simple. Although it seems to be a bit of a distance from the major attractions of Manhattan it is really only minutes away from the action by subway. Also, if flying in and out of Laguardia Airport, the M60 bus runs from 125th St (just steps away from the hotel) to the airport and is very convenient. Although I never felt unsafe in the area, if you are returning to the hotel late at night it seems a bit desolate. It also seems as though there are not an abundance of cabs available to wave down in this area at any time of day . I got a fantastic deal on the room so if the same rate were available, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this property again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyJayClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashton P, Manager at Aloft Harlem, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
FlyJayClass,

Thank you for your high flying review! One of my favorite amenities is the M60 Bus from LGA, it’s a hidden treasure and of course how quickly is takes to get to Times Square, 12 minutes to be exact by subway. Our website usually provides the best deals and if you’re a Starwood Preferred Guest member other options to save money may be available, be sure to join if you are not! We thank you for your review and look forward to you staying again with us! Stay savvy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New York City
Manhattan
Edge Hotel
Edge Hotel
#57 of 466 in New York City
249 reviews
Upper West Side
Astor on the Park
Astor on the Park
#392 of 466 in New York City
1,504 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#313 of 466 in New York City
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera House Hotel
#2 of 14 in Bronx
612 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#391 of 466 in New York City
1,600 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#437 of 466 in New York City
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft Harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft Harlem

Property: Aloft Harlem
Address: 2296 Frederick Douglass Blvd, New York City, NY 10027-5324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Business Hotel in New York City
#210 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#234 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft Harlem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Harlem hotel is steps from the Apollo Theater, Central Park, and NYC express subway stations. Our boutique accommodation has free wifi, on-site dining, and Plug & Play equipped guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aloft Harlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Harlem Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing