We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good price”
Review of Cafe 53 - CLOSED

Cafe 53
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Neighborhood: Midtown
Mexico City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, good price”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Had breakfast a couple of days and it was really good, considering the price. You can get even wine or beer at very reasonable cost.

Helpful?
Thank Ernesto L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    104
    24
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value, great food”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We enjoyed a lite lunch and was pleasantly surprised with the value. Great selection of food from the buffet and counter (sandwiches) with clean tables. Nice people working here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sevenodds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

NYC can be an expensive place to eat but not at this deli. When I visit NYC, I always eat most of my meals here. Love their bagels and their breakfast sandwiches are huge. I love being able to get a large coffee for $1.45, instead of paying $5-$6 for something at Starbucks which is nearby. Their lunch sandwiches are awesome and they use the freshest ingredients. Their buffet looks amazing, but I didn't get anything from it on this visit.

They are open 24/7 and there is indoor and outdoor seating. I also love that you can buy alcohol for a good price to bring back to your hotel to enjoy (instead of paying $10 bucks for a domestic beer at the hotel bar).

If you are staying at the Hilton Midtown or the Warwick, make sure to check this place out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast and Lunch Place”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The first night at the Sheraton Manhattan I asked one of the employees where do you eat breakfast and without blinking an eye - next door at the 53rd street deli.

The breakfast was good, and a great place to people watch as the locals stream in and out.

Had a lunch meeting with a potential client there as well. Was able to get away from the conference and have a quality lunch.

Enjoy

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve4608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Ignore anything bad about this place! ”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

The food here is fresh, FANTASTIC value for money & delicious! The patrons are lovely too, if theres nothing you fancy on the menu just tell the man behind the counter what u fancy and he'll create you something to suit!

A deffinate must for NYC!

Helpful?
Thank LaurenOh
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 53 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing