We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, nice looking Hotel but very noisy at night with security eventually sorting out the problem guests” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Ranked #356 of 467 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location, nice looking Hotel but very noisy at night with security eventually sorting out the problem guests”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

On checking in my first impressions of the hotel were very good. The location of the place is a plus due to its quiet side street setting. Reception staff are polite, friendly and assured me that I would get a great nights sleep (little did he know). The rooms are very small but are well maintained, modern,clean and well equiped with a nice flatscreen tv etc. The bathroom is great and was spotless.

The downside of the stay was the general noise. The corridors are very small, cramped and I was constantly woken by doors slamming, people talking loudly and antisocial behaviour. Having gone to sleep at about 10 I was woken by noisy guests coming in and out of the lift. This lasted for about half an hour and then I drifted back to sleep only to be woken again by more people and noise in the corridor. I eventually opened the door to find a small group of people lying drunk by the emergency exits. I called security who eventually came but the group had left. Same thing happened 15 mins later and by this time I was fully awake. Security was called again and dealt with the issue.

Overall the hotel was very good but I suffered at the hands of some very noisy guests and think that security could have reacted quicker.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    813
    512
    213
    155
See reviews for
379
674
146
704
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2011

I travelled to new york for a business meeting and extended my stay for personal. We could have moved hotels, but decided to stay here - it was a good choice. It's not centrally located, but its in a safe, clean neighborhood, close to Bowling Green Subway and Wall Street. We even walked home one night from Greewich Villagem, it only took 40 minutes walking down Broadway. It is a quiet location at night, except when we were there, there was a huge snow storm so at night you could hear the trucks clearing snow - but otherwise quiet.
And very tasty cookies at reception!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Payster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

Just returned from a five night stay in this new hotel. It proved to be one of the best lodging experiences I have in nearly six years of traveling to NYC. This new hotel features clean rooms with comfy beds. The staff are friendly, helpful, and professional. Great location with R train access across the street and 1/4/5 train access one block away. Situated at the intersection of historic Battery Park/Bowling Green/Financial districts. Nice bars and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neptune318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

May be this review was influenced by the adverse weather New York has just experienced but the hotel was definitely challenged by the cold conditions.

Starting from the beginning, I have been visiting New York on business for the last 10 years and was keen to try this new hotel in the financial district having stayed at all the other local hotels. The Doubletree's location is good and, being on the first part of Stone Street means it does not suffer undue street noise. Also on the positive side was the size and quality of the shower in the bathroom (NB there are no baths) and the wide choice of TV Channels in the bedroom, all of which could be viewed clearly without interference. Like other nearby hotels, it was clean and the bed was comfortable.

Turning to the not so positives, the hotel is over 44 floors and has nearly 400 bedrooms. However, they are served by only three (fairly slow) lifts which could be very frustrating at peak times once the hotel gets booked up. Downstairs, the ground restaurant has little ambience and is only rated for 55 seated of which around ten would be in a conservatory off of the restaurant. The latter also doubled as the area where the breakfast buffet was laid out. With sub-zero temperatures outside, this area was very cold indeed at breakfast time. The bar and restaurant area is also far smaller than the nearby Marriott, Andaz and Millenium Hilton hotels.

Moving up the building, I was staying with a number of colleagues on different floors. From our collective experience, on the lower floors, the communal hallway areas were cold with the hotel warming up the higher you went. However, this benefit in heat was offset by an increase in extraction noise via a vent in the ceiling of the bathrooms from the communal building ventilation system. A number of colleagues closed their bathroom doors at night which cured the noise but also meant the bathroom was then not heated (all heating is supplied by a single wall mounted fan under the window of the bedroom). Basically a choice between noise and comfort. For a hotel of this price in the financial district, it is also very unusual to have wall mounted fan heaters at all. Normally, it is via ducted heating/AC in the bedrooms. As a consequence, in cold weather (and presumably the reverse also being true for AC in the summer), your sleep is disturbed by the fan switching on and off to maintain temperature. Being a relatively light sleeper, I switched mine off at night which resulted in a cold start to the day.

The bedrooms are the smallest I have stayed in locally which would not necessarily be a problem if the tariff was substantially less than the other hotels listed above. However, when we booked, it was comparable which, for us would be a deciding factor in looking to book again.

Overall, I would suggest only going for this hotel if the tariff quoted gives a good saving over and above the Downtown Marriot or the Andaz on Wall/Water Street.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYTraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

I stayed for 4 nights for business. The hotel was 200 yards from the office door which made commuting a breeze.
My room was small but beautiful, great facilities, nice decor and a really comfy bed. It was immaculate every day when I came back. The bar was open til 11 and they will deliver up to your room.
The free breakfast was great, really classy restaurant, great selection of hot food and great service. It really appealed to me as an alternative to slugging through the snow to Au Bon Pain.
The elevator situation was my only annoyance. There are 44 floors and only 2 elevators, so be prepared to wait. And the Financial Dist is dead at night, but Stone Street is only 2 blocks away, many of their restaurants are open til 3.
Highly recommended though, and really great value!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
262 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

New property. Price was right and the rate included breakfast. Overall pleasant stay

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

Firstly, in 2010, I spent 46 weeks on the road. I tend to write constructive critical reviews to encourage hotels to pull their socks up. Not in this case.
Doubletree's new Stone Street location is superb. Its clean, new, very friendly and already working like its been open for 6 months which is very hard to do. My room was on the 31st floor and while not great views, the room was excellent for the value. Compact but served all my needs. Very cosy bed, great pillows, good size tv, great shower (power and large size shower head) and stylishly done.
While a little bit of a walk from the World Financial District, the walk is well worth. I used to stay at the Holiday inn on Nassau Street. Never again. This place is excellent value for money. Well done.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charlieSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#211 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#320 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,356 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#203 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#322 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#176 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Address: 8 Stone Street, New York City, NY 10004-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #356 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing