We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel, great staff, nice rooms, historic location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Ranked #364 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel, great staff, nice rooms, historic location.”
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Just returned from a five night stay in this new hotel. It proved to be one of the best lodging experiences I have in nearly six years of traveling to NYC. This new hotel features clean rooms with comfy beds. The staff are friendly, helpful, and professional. Great location with R train access across the street and 1/4/5 train access one block away. Situated at the intersection of historic Battery Park/Bowling Green/Financial districts. Nice bars and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neptune318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    868
    548
    231
    169
See reviews for
416
720
157
740
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

May be this review was influenced by the adverse weather New York has just experienced but the hotel was definitely challenged by the cold conditions.

Starting from the beginning, I have been visiting New York on business for the last 10 years and was keen to try this new hotel in the financial district having stayed at all the other local hotels. The Doubletree's location is good and, being on the first part of Stone Street means it does not suffer undue street noise. Also on the positive side was the size and quality of the shower in the bathroom (NB there are no baths) and the wide choice of TV Channels in the bedroom, all of which could be viewed clearly without interference. Like other nearby hotels, it was clean and the bed was comfortable.

Turning to the not so positives, the hotel is over 44 floors and has nearly 400 bedrooms. However, they are served by only three (fairly slow) lifts which could be very frustrating at peak times once the hotel gets booked up. Downstairs, the ground restaurant has little ambience and is only rated for 55 seated of which around ten would be in a conservatory off of the restaurant. The latter also doubled as the area where the breakfast buffet was laid out. With sub-zero temperatures outside, this area was very cold indeed at breakfast time. The bar and restaurant area is also far smaller than the nearby Marriott, Andaz and Millenium Hilton hotels.

Moving up the building, I was staying with a number of colleagues on different floors. From our collective experience, on the lower floors, the communal hallway areas were cold with the hotel warming up the higher you went. However, this benefit in heat was offset by an increase in extraction noise via a vent in the ceiling of the bathrooms from the communal building ventilation system. A number of colleagues closed their bathroom doors at night which cured the noise but also meant the bathroom was then not heated (all heating is supplied by a single wall mounted fan under the window of the bedroom). Basically a choice between noise and comfort. For a hotel of this price in the financial district, it is also very unusual to have wall mounted fan heaters at all. Normally, it is via ducted heating/AC in the bedrooms. As a consequence, in cold weather (and presumably the reverse also being true for AC in the summer), your sleep is disturbed by the fan switching on and off to maintain temperature. Being a relatively light sleeper, I switched mine off at night which resulted in a cold start to the day.

The bedrooms are the smallest I have stayed in locally which would not necessarily be a problem if the tariff was substantially less than the other hotels listed above. However, when we booked, it was comparable which, for us would be a deciding factor in looking to book again.

Overall, I would suggest only going for this hotel if the tariff quoted gives a good saving over and above the Downtown Marriot or the Andaz on Wall/Water Street.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYTraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I stayed for 4 nights for business. The hotel was 200 yards from the office door which made commuting a breeze.
My room was small but beautiful, great facilities, nice decor and a really comfy bed. It was immaculate every day when I came back. The bar was open til 11 and they will deliver up to your room.
The free breakfast was great, really classy restaurant, great selection of hot food and great service. It really appealed to me as an alternative to slugging through the snow to Au Bon Pain.
The elevator situation was my only annoyance. There are 44 floors and only 2 elevators, so be prepared to wait. And the Financial Dist is dead at night, but Stone Street is only 2 blocks away, many of their restaurants are open til 3.
Highly recommended though, and really great value!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jdhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
205 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

New property. Price was right and the rate included breakfast. Overall pleasant stay

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Firstly, in 2010, I spent 46 weeks on the road. I tend to write constructive critical reviews to encourage hotels to pull their socks up. Not in this case.
Doubletree's new Stone Street location is superb. Its clean, new, very friendly and already working like its been open for 6 months which is very hard to do. My room was on the 31st floor and while not great views, the room was excellent for the value. Compact but served all my needs. Very cosy bed, great pillows, good size tv, great shower (power and large size shower head) and stylishly done.
While a little bit of a walk from the World Financial District, the walk is well worth. I used to stay at the Holiday inn on Nassau Street. Never again. This place is excellent value for money. Well done.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank charlieSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for news years eve and new years day as it was cheaper than times sqaure and we are so glad we did! Hotel lobby was gorgeous and staff very friendly.Handed a warm cookie on arrival which was a lovely touch.I hate lifts so to be put on the 33th floor was my idea of hell so they changed me to floor 6 which was perfect.Rooms are stunning.Bathrooms are so modern with a massive walk in shower with a huge waterfall shower head.Tv channels are endless and the bed is one of the best it wassoooooo comfy i didnt want to get out of it!!!Coffee making machine was quirky and a nice touch.Breakfast was included in the ultra low rate now this was the only tiny negative way too small for all the guests and didnt restock the bread etc quickly enough.The waiters were friendly especially josh and always topped up your orange juice etc but was just to crammed in and when the hotel is full full i think they will struggle with this.The prices for food and drink were just crazy so avoid this and go out to nearby restaurants and bars..becketts was anice one which is a stones throw away.All in all an excellent hotel with staff who have a smile constantly a friendly attitude which is unusual in new york compared to other service we recieved!! Def Def stay here you will not be dissapointed...I didnt want to leave!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TLA080216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Just got back from spending 3 nights in this brand new, "squeaky clean" hotel. The staff could not have been more accommodating, and we really enjoyed the location. Yes, the rooms are small, but it's Manhattan! We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#216 of 467 in New York City
537 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#222 of 467 in New York City
1,229 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#217 of 467 in New York City
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
The Wall Street Inn
The Wall Street Inn
#289 of 467 in New York City
506 reviews
Financial District
Andaz Wall Street
Andaz Wall Street
#122 of 467 in New York City
2,912 reviews
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#305 of 467 in New York City
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Address: 8 Stone Street, New York City, NY 10004-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing