We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Terrific Value for the City!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Ranked #346 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Dallas, United States
1 review
“Terrific Value for the City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was the perfect hotel for meetings in the financial district, but I would also consider staying here for pleasure. It's not far from shopping and is a 10 min cab ride from Time Square or a 25 min train ride.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Porscha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    710
    425
    170
    120
See reviews for
316
547
126
627
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

From start to finish this was an amazing stay my husband and I were greeted by the bell person Abrahima he was very friendly and helpfull, checkin was smooth and quick special thanks to Justina, Cinthia and Kemisha who made us feel welcome right throughout our stay, this is a great location for seeing the sights in Ny city, such as 9/11 memorial the wall street bull etc great breakfast, VERY clean rooms, OHH the cookies WHAT A TREAT !! I could go on and on but I won"t lol most definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adanna f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Not a bad location for Wall Street and access to The Statute of Liberty and Ellis Island as well as Federal Hall where George Washington was inaugurated as the first President of the United States. Also great open air restaurants close by on Stone Street.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Yes, the reviews are true - the elevators are slow, the front desk staff is less than enthusiastic to see you, and the views are really bad from lower floors. However, let me just say that the guys on the street were AMAZING! Upon our arrival they confirmed with me that the cab fare we were being charged was appropriate, and every time we needed directions, advice or even someone to complain to about the construction, they were there with expert (and accurate) information. I would definitely stay here again. The location can't be beat for lower Manhattan, and the attached restaurant is quite good (though service is pretty slow).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toomanycarryons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica G, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I apologize for the extended elevator wait time that you have reported as well as any inconvenience that this may have caused you. I would like to thank you for your kind words towards our bell staff; I will be sure to share your feedback with all our Team. Please, make us your hotel of choice, whenever visiting the New York City area. We greatly appreciate your business. Thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial District and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are small but first it is NYC and hopefully your not there to stay in the room all day. Elevators took awhile but not a big deal. The only down fall was the shower took forever to drain but otherwise the stay was wonderful and definitely would stay there again. Awesome tavern right next door.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Megini2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were staying down in the Financial District because of a wedding that was a few blocks away. The hotel is very affordable, the rooms are clean, the parking across the street was nice, and the staff is generally friendly.

All that said, the elevator situation is an absolute joke. It's a 44 story building with 3 half elevators. That means during busy times (see Sunday morning at 9am) I had to wait for 5 elevators to pass before there was one large enough for my wife and I (a combined 275lbs) to fit into. There were multiple instances of having to wait 7-9 minutes before a single elevator stopped at our floor. Adding to this issue is the fact that there does not appear to be a service elevator. That means all hotel employees must use these same 3 tiny elevators. I'm sorry, but it is not acceptable to have to wait that long just to get off your floor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica G, Guest Services at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologize for the extended elevator wait time that you have reported as well as any inconvenience that this may have caused you. I am glad to hear that you found our rates, location, and rooms appropriate for you travel needs. If there is any way that I can be of any service to you, regarding this most recent stay, or any future stays that you may have with us, please contact me at veronica.guerrero3@hilton.com and I will do everything in my power to assist you. I sincerely appreciate your feedback and I thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial District. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

If you need a place to stay that's a decent price and near the office then its not a bad choice. The rooms are small but have everything you need. I haven't tried the food so I can't speak on the service or quality

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alexander A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#198 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#122 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#309 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 3,760 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#203 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,155 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#63 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Address: 8 Stone Street, New York City, NY 10004-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing