We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYC Financial District”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Ranked #365 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Good value and great location for subway system. Significantly cheaper than mid-town hotels for a family weekend, yet with multiple subways within two blocks, it is very easy to get around NYC. Especially convenient to attend events at the Barclay Center in nearby Brooklyn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Alfred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Alfred,

We are very pleased that you found our property's proximity to the newly built Barclay Center and local subway system accomodating for your most recent visit in New York. We hope that you had a memorable time at the Barclay. Thank you for taking the time to write a response.

Joshua Daly
DoubleTree Financial District
8 Stone St
New York, NY 10004
212-480-9100
joshua.daly@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,596 - 1,602 of 2,570 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Got a great deal on this hotel for $120 a night in December. The location is convenient to the Bowling Green Subway station and just a couple blocks from the Wall Street & Rector Street stations as well. It's in the heart of the financial district on a quiet side street. Staying here was an escape from all the hustle and bustle and I enjoyed it. Of course the rooms are modest in size, but very modern and in my opinion, nicer than a number of Hilton "name brand" properties I've stayed at. The staff was friendly and put me in a room with a fantastic view of the city. Warm cookie at check in is a nice touch. My only complaint was the elevators are very slow. But that's almost to be expected staying in a high-rise in Manhattan. Overall a fantastic experience and would stay again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high-floor with a view of the city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear John Mark,

Thank you for your response. We are happy to hear that you obtained such a great deal at our property and that you found our location a comforting and quiet escape from the mayhem of Manhattan. Please, visit us again; we look forward to it.

Joshua Daly
DoubleTree Financial District
8 Stone St
New York, NY 10004
212-480-9100
joshua.daly@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked this hotel after finding a great deal on Booking.com (£441 for four nights) and it was worth every penny. I am speechless at some of the reviews on here so if you want a truthfull and honest review then read on. My husband and I are in our early thirties and have travelled the world, staying in both budget and luxury accommodation so I would say that we have enough experience to rate this hotel!

Welcome - the lobby is located on the first floor - who cares! There is always a door man/member of staff on hand to point you in the right direction. The receptionist was quick and efficient and sent us on our way with a yummy, warm cookie.

Room - we had a standard double (1510) and it was a perfect size, with a small wardrobe and plenty of other space to pop our belongings. The bathroom was more than adequate and for those who complained about the size of the shower.... you need to lose some weight! Both me and my husband could fit in! Great water pressure and the bed was ridiculously comfortable. Brilliant choice of channels on the TV and the heating could be tailored to your ideal temperature.

Elevators/lift - I can only guess that it is the fatties again complaining about this! When we took the lift, you could bet a tenner that whoever was in it would be complaining about the wait and it got quite boring! The longest we waited was about 4 minutes and once you are in they are pretty quick. Unbelievable what frustrates some people.

Location- perfect for us. So peaceful and Bowling Green and Whitehall subway stations are literally moments away. When you go from the hotel towards Whitehall stop off at the deli on the left hand side. I have no idea what it is called but they do the best roast beef sandwichs so grab one on your way to the train or the Staten Island ferry!

New York is fabulous and if we go again we will book this hotel and also recommend to our friends!Whilst you are there go to Brooklyn Bridge followed by a pizza lunch at Grimaldis. Check out Toloache mexican for a gorgeous dinner before a show and Flex Mussells for a super yummy fishy treat complete with excellent wine! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidayqueen0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Holiday Queen,

We can't thank you enough for your detailed and thorough review of our hotel! We are very honored that such a set of world travellers would speak so highly of our amenities, services, and location. We hope to accomodate all of your future visits to New York and wish you a great day!

Joshua Daly
DoubleTree Financial District
8 Stone St
New York, NY 10004
212-480-9100
joshua.daly@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Nice hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. Unfortunately, during our stay (December), they were experiencing problems with their boiler -- thus hot water for showering was inconsistent at best. The bathroom looked great, but was not very practical -- it lacked flat surfaces to place toiletries on or hooks for hanging fresh clothes or towels. Having said that, the staff was exceptionally pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Brian,

We apologize for any inconvenience that our emergency plumbing repairs may have caused your stay with us, we are very grateful that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly, and we will forward your comment regarding bathroom toiletry surface space to the necessary department heads. Thank you for your choosing DoubleTree Financial District and have a great day!

Joshua Daly
DoubleTree Financial District
8 Stone St
New York, NY 10004
212-480-9100
joshua.daly@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Doubletree on Stone Street in New York City offers a great location for exploring the beginnings of this great country and city as well as the natural beauty of the Battery Park walkways along the Bay and Hudson River. It's a full-service hotel, including a restaurant, with excellent facilities and rooms and a wonderful staff. This was our fourth stay, and we were pleased with the value and comfort offered by this hotel. It's close to the Smithsonian Museum of the American Indian NY branch in the old Customs House, Stone Street restaurants and bistros, subway stations, Wall Street, and the old Federal Hall.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank jackie49506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Jackie,

We are very glad that you enjoyed all of the attractions surrounding our hotel. On your next visit, you may also want to check out Frances Tavern Museum and Restaurant, Delmonico’s (America’s oldest standing fine dining restaurant), and Governor’s Island, all conveniently located within close proximity to the hotel. Thank you for choosing DoubleTree Financial and have a great day!

Joshua Daly
DoubleTree Financial District
8 Stone St
New York, NY 10004
212-480-9100
joshua.daly@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

A wonderful experience, helpful, happy hotel staff, from the time the door opened to when I left. The room was clean and quiet. This hotel is close to the 9-11 memorial, Wall Street and within walking distance of Canal Street, where you can find just about anything you could want! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Susie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Susie,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to having you stay with us again, as well!

Joshua Daly
DoubleTree Financial District
8 Stone St
New York, NY 10004
212-480-9100
joshua.daly@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for an extended period over Christmas. From before we even arrived the staff, specifically Nardine, went above and beyond to assure our stay was comfortable! The location was actually excellent with many subway access points extremely close! Historic Stone Street is worth exploring. And for those that don't want to spend an arm and a leg for dinner, the staff recommended several places close by. (China Chalet was one of our favorites!)
I can't say enough about the valet staff!! Every one was extremely friendly and helpful! But above all, Tony and my personal favorite, Barry truly made each encounter helpful and enjoyable!
Room was spacious enough for New York. Asked for a fridge and one was in our room almost instantly. Housekeeping staff were so good and conscientious, you could tell they took pride in their job.
I would definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanders4846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua D, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Sanders,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and recognizing the services of our Team Members: Nardine, Tony, and Barry. I will see to it that this recognition is passed on to the mentioned Team Members, as well as recognition from the DoubleTree Financial Guest Services Management Team.

Joshua Daly
DoubleTree Financial District
8 Stone St
New York, NY 10004
212-480-9100
joshua.daly@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hilton Garden Inn NYC Financial Center/Manhattan Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn NYC Financial ...
#181 of 471 in New York City
102 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#241 of 471 in New York City
595 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#346 of 471 in New York City
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#220 of 471 in New York City
1,391 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#215 of 471 in New York City
1,535 reviews
Financial District
Four Points by Sheraton New York Downtown
Four Points by Sheraton New York...
#352 of 471 in New York City
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District

Address: 8 Stone Street, New York City, NY 10004-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $97 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelPower, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing