We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but too many things too small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Ranked #363 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed October 19, 2013

First off, this is a nice hotel, and was built in the last couple of years. The staff were friendly and it is in a nice location in downtown Manhattan central to all including subways, Wall St, Battery Park, etc. The rooms were in very good condition, and somehow they manage to fit alot of things in the room including a long desk, TV, coffee maker, and furniture to hang your clothes in.

The main negative about the hotel was its size.. The guest rooms were small and the hallways were really small. The bed was a king sized bed but was shorter than a typical king sized bed. I'm 6'3" and my feet were past the edge of the bed.

The bathroom was a decent size given the overall size of the guest room, and there was a good sized shower stall within it.

There are probably about only 8-10 rooms per floor, but since it is 44 stories high and only 3 elevators, the wait for elevators can be painful. And if you are on a lower floor, there is a good chance you are taking the stairs down. It also doesnt help that the lobby is on the 2nd floor and the same elevators are used to to to the guest floors that are used to go from the ground level to the lobby on the 2nd floor.

Also - the noise level was a little too loud for me. I had a corner room, and still heard alot of doors shutting, people moving suitcases around in the hallway and alot of outside noise even though I was in a room on a high floor (thankfully, the construction going on down at the street stopped at 11-11:30 pm. Not sure I could have handled the jackhammer noise if it lasted longer). This is all a little surprising given that the hotel is fairly new.

I live in NYC and haven't seen the size of more than one or two hotel rooms, but I was taken back by the smallness of the main areas of the hotel. If you are a solo traveler this hotel will do, but if you are traveling with anyone else, things can get very tight.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petertom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,684 - 1,690 of 2,575 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

I've stayed at this location some times before. This time, I purchased the breakfast package however, due to a large tour group with same, the lines waiting to grab a bite were extremely long, and I was not able to delay the length of time, and meet my work obligations. Two breakfast coupons unclaimed. I know now to now pre-charge and just pay the extra amount should I get a table.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

the staff here was super nice, and very friendly. over the weekend, this part of the city is very quiet, which made it nice to walk around after dinner. in the morning we had the buffet breakfast, and it was delicious! it's like a hidden gem in the financial district. we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Katerina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here a couple of nights after a disastrous first hotel - short notice, managed to get a room for a decent price, and it was wonderful. Admittedly we didn't try breakfast, so cannot say anything there, but the room itself was spacious and lovely, with a nice view. The main thing that we noticed was that every single member of staff was really, really nice - willing to help with anything from directions to keeping bags over time, etc. The hotel restaurant food was very good as well, though priced a bit high to us. Location is hard to find the first time, but really well-situated once you've got your bearings, with close Subway access and various nearby areas full of interest as well.

The only gripe I would have would be the price of the internet access - 10$ for 24hours in the room, though free in the lobby area - but that is just a small inconvenience these days.

Overall - it's a chain you really can count on, and this location especially; if nothing else, the people here are lovely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harriet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel was absolutely fine. The room was on the small side, but we didn't spend a lot of time in it anyway. It's easy to get on the subway, so though there might not be a lot to do in the immediate surroundings, moving around the city is no trouble. The staff were perfectly nice and we enjoyed our stay. The two things I was not so fond of: the elevators required an unusually long wait (there are only three serving 44 floors), and while there are certainly times when this place is a good deal, it was hardly a value at the rate we paid.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here on our last few days in NY over the weekend, as rates cheaper than closer to Times Square Fri and Sat night. Great decision! Wonderful check in, upon realising it was our honeymoon we were treated to not only the complimentary warm cookies but a few extras too. Top floor room meant a couple of extra long waits for the lift (mainly check out time) but not that big a deal. Although we were told this area may be a bit 'dead ' at night, we found quite the vibe along a strip of bars and restaurants 2 minutes away. The Irish pub next door was great too (we recommend the Long Island iced teas!). Close to Statue of Liberty departure point and of course with NY's great subway you can be anywhere in no time from this location. Business centre handy for organising flights etc too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The customer service, cleanliness and knowledge of staff is like no other in NYC. I loved this place and recommend to all. The location is the best! The friendliness and readiness to assist from the staff was appreciated to tourists like us. My girlfriend and I couldn't have asked for a better location and room. We were central to everything and near the train at the corner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Gisela727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hilton Garden Inn NYC Financial Center/Manhattan Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn NYC Financial ...
#179 of 471 in New York City
106 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#236 of 471 in New York City
596 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#349 of 471 in New York City
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#221 of 471 in New York City
1,393 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#217 of 471 in New York City
1,536 reviews
Financial District
Four Points by Sheraton New York Downtown
Four Points by Sheraton New York...
#351 of 471 in New York City
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District

Address: 8 Stone Street, New York City, NY 10004-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $97 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing