We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location to get around the cities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Ranked #352 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good location to get around the cities.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Attended the 5 Boro Bike Ride, had a blast. The hotel man it easy to everything in New York. Subway was across the street, the fairy was in walking distance, and a cool little area with several English pubs. I think we sent every night at Growlers.

Room Tip: No spa no pool, so not terrible. The elevators are extremely slow. Room typical New York Size ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSHotelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear SSHotelman,
We are happy to know that you had a great time attending 5 boro bike tour and we are glad to know that our location was convenient to you. We hope to have you back for next year's bike tour. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    833
    525
    217
    158
See reviews for
391
692
146
718
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We all know NY is not famous for good hotels at reasonable price, but this one is really far below average. Rooms are so small you wonder if they were designed for guests or for their luggages; toilets, too, are so small you have to contort yourself if you want to use the sink with the door open. I was staying on the 30th floor and I could barely see some external light -forget about the views...totally non existent. Plus, only 3 elevators (used also by the hotel staff, including cleaners!!!): can you imagine how long you have to wait at 8 am...and what about if you forget something in the room??? Breakfast, too, was far below Doubletree's standards. Last, even TV remote control was not functioning. You want to know the rate for this? $350+taxes per night. You judge!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Al S,

Thank you for your contributing your review. We are saddened to read about your unsatisfactory experience while staying with us.

We value all feedback whether it be negative or positive, and we regret to see it was the former in this case. Thank you for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Calabasas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Clean hotel, wonderful staff, easy access to subway (1block) taxi always available, very quiet property, amazing bed and pillows, Family stayed there last year and loved it. Returned based on their experience. Far from central activities, but transportation is easy and available. Safe area to walk in both day and night. Luggage storage is unsecured in the lobby. Used a luggage storage facility in the garment district.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel staff make extra effort to make everyone feel welcome, from the smiling guys at the entrance to check-in, room service etc.... Rooms are comfortable and quite. I always stay here and enjoy the walk through Battery Park to the World Financial Center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank E8984XLmichaelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Let me start off by saying that my wife and I previously lived in NYC. As a result, we don't do tourist stuff and the size of a New York hotel room never surprises us.

As we would expect from a Doubletree, we were greeted cordially with warm cookies. Our room was clean and modern. For a NYC hotel, the room was spacious. We brought our two bikes with us and Doubletree graciously allowed us to bring them into the room (many hotels in the city require you to store them in a baggage room). So two people, two bikes and two suitcases fit into this room. We were "cozy" but the door still closed so we were happy.

The location is primo. About a block and a half away from the South Ferry station and about a block away from Battery Park meant that we were right where we needed to be. We could be at the Houston Street station (for SoHo and Greenwich Village) in 10 minutes, and a bike ride to the park took about 5.

If you are traveling on the weekend, you will love the fact that traffic on Whitehall street is very light. This is great if you are riding your bike to the park or trying to herd children.

From Battery Park you can ride (or walk or jog) into Hudson River Park just north. The bike/jogging paths run all the way up the west side of the island and about halfway up the east side (they connect via bike lane through the north to complete the circuit). These are some of the nicest bike paths you will ever see. You will ride alongside the Hudson, pass Chelsea piers and see all of the city bustle without having to share the road with cars.

If you just want to explore the city, the South Ferry station gives you access to the city via the 1 train (local, but you can pick up the 2 train express at rector street). You can also pick up the R if that fits your travel plans better.

The hotel staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Self parking is directly across the street from the entrance. This is a huge bonus when you depart as you don't have to weave through city traffic to get back to the hotel to load your bags. And at $35 a day, it is affordable and safe.

Now some bad news:

1. The elevators. The entrance is on the ground floor, but the lobby is on the second floor. Aside from being mildly disorienting upon arrival, it also causes some intense elevator congestion. If an elevator is traveling down, it will stop at the lobby (2nd floor) even if the people waiting there pushed the "up" button. The result? You are standing in the basement with your bags, ready for check-in and a shower only to have the elevator doors open and find it full of people. Three elevators and 44 floors. If you miss it, you're going to wait. This may not sound like a big deal, but after the third or fourth time getting stuck on the ground floor waiting for an empty car, it gets frustrating. If you have bikes with you, it gets very frustrating.

2. WiFi is only free in the lobby. If you want wifi in your room, you have to spend $10 per day. Considering it would have cost me more to do that that buy a Monty's worth of data on my ipad, I opted out of their Internet plan. Yeah, I get it, it's a business, monetize everything, blah blah blah. But $10 for wifi in 2013? The room may be affordable by NYC standards, but it still isn't cheap. This was undoubtedly put into place because this hotel likely sees more business people than tourists and it is easier to bilk an extra $10 per day out of someone traveling on a corporate expense account than someone looking to take pretty pictures of the Statue of Liberty.

3. If you book through a discount site, that site will invariably list "breakfast buffet" as an amenity. Unfortunately, if you book through said site, your breakfast isn't included and will cost $18 per person. Apparently if you book directly, they throw it in at no extra charge. Don't give them the satisfaction. There is a Starbucks on the corner of Stone and Whitehall, a Duane Reed with fruit on the opposite corner and a little breakfast/lunch place one street over.

NYC hotels are rarely liberal with free amenities. But it just seems like you get nickel and dimed a bit more blatantly at this hotel. Again, this is likely because when traveling on the company coin you can get away with it.

All in all, it was a pleasant experience in a clean/modern hotel in a great location. If I can get a good deal on this place in the future, I would stay again if only for the friendly staff and convenience of the parking garage. Happy travels.

Room Tip: The ice machine is very loud (even when not dispensing), but there isn't a machine on every floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Tim O,
We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share detailed stay experience on tripadvisor. We are very happy to read your last paragraph that you would stay again for the friendly staff. It is always our pleasure to be at your service. We look forward to seeing you again during the bike tour next year. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Elevators were SLOW!!! Breakfast is buffet only with room even though the 'voucher' says to give to the wait staff after you 'order'!!! We were with another couple and when reservations were made, we were 'assured' our rooms would be adjacent or across the hall....WE WERE ON DIFFERENT FLOORS AND THE FRONT DESK STAFF DIDN'T CARE!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joe_Traveler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Joe_Traveler45,

Thank you for sharing your experience, as all feedback is very useful, enabling us to monitor and improve the overall guest experience.

I hope our email communications over the weekend was sufficient in answering any questions and concerns you had regarding your stay. If there was anything not covered in our email exchange, please feel free to contact me directly. Thank you again for your time and understanding. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

3 slow Elevators for 40 floors. Expect long waits Cable TV box is 20 years old Coffee Machine does not work Very slow internet Guys at bell desk are great! Since the Hotel is in the financial district most restaurants close early on the weekend are not open at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Jim B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you endured while staying with us. Your concerns will be addressed to the appropriate departments.

Regarding the restaurants in the area, we have a concierge on property everyday from 10AM to 6PM. They will be more than happy to provide recommendations to restaurants that are open during weekends. We also have a restaurant on site on the ground level serving breakfast, lunch and dinner between 7AM to 11PM, as well as room service. Travelling to midtown is merely a couple of minutes walk to the subway, or our bell staff can call a taxi for you.

We regret to see you were unhappy with your stay and we hope to have another chance to make things right for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#212 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#322 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,443 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#209 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#328 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#362 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Address: 8 Stone Street, New York City, NY 10004-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing