We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Ranked #356 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location for area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Room is small. Halls are so narrow - very claustophobic. Super nice staff, great location for my needs, good selection of restaurants (Italian restaurant across the street is fantastic!!) and bars near buy. Bedding is comfortable, towels are nice. HOWEVER, my 2nd day the water turned cold toward the end of my shower (I reported it by phone). The next day, in THE MIDDLE of my shower the water turned COLD. I waited (had to - too cold to get in and with shampoo in my hair, no options), and the water finally became warm enough (barely) to rinse. I went to the front desk to complain. They handled it wonderfully - apologised and sent engineering up again to see if there's soemthing they could do, including moving if needed. At the end of the day, they sent up a great fruit/cheese plate and bottle of wine.
My husband convinced me that the water was running cold because of the time of day - lots of business travelers getting ready at the same time.
Saturday morning I got into the shower at 10:45 and COLD WATER. This time the front desk told me just to let it run. I let it run for over 2 minutes and finally got warmish water. It did get warmer after that, but then got cold at the end again.
If I come here for work again, I'll make sure to NOT get this room since it doesn't seem as though anyone else is complaining.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Amy B,

We are very excited to read your compliments about our staff and are happy to see that you enjoyed the cheese platter and bottle of wine. It makes us proud to hear that you will stay with us again. It is our goal to ensure our guests have a flawless stay and we sincerely apologize for the hot water issue you experienced during your stay.

When work brings you back to NYC, please feel free to contact us directly prior to your arrival, and we will do our best to accommodate you with a comfortable stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    812
    512
    212
    155
See reviews for
378
674
146
701
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is at the opposite end of NYC, where it is dead at night, not many places to eat or things to do near here. Staff were helpful, I had organised for a couple of large packages to be delivered here prior to our arrival, the staff were excellent and had them in our room on arrival. Restaurant is yummy and bartender was nice and very chatty. Be sure to try the appletini's here. Wifi is only available for free at the restaurant and the lobby. Room was small for this end of NY but adequate. Not all the rooms have fridges, so be sure to ask for a room with a fridge if you need one. Not far from little Italy, be sure to try some restaurants on mulberry st. some of the best meals we had in NY were here. Cable tv was good also.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tambyistherajah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear tambyistherajah,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are glad to see that you were pleased with our restaurant and found our staff excellent and helpful. It is our goal to make sure our guests are more than satisfied with our overall service and accommodations. We hope to have another opportunity to be at your service when travel brings you to New York in the near future. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
273 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Not a lot of options in the financial district and this is often among the most reasonably priced. Good location. Close to subway. Staff is helpful and efficient. Room clean. Standard warm cookie at check in. Standard Doubletree breakfast with enough tables to seat everyone. This hotel is a very good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 150nightsperyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear 150nightsperyr,

We very much appreciate you taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor and are happy to have earned such great comments from you. Our goal is to provide guests with an enjoyable stay and we are proud to see that we did not disappoint. We are glad that you found us to be a very good value and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This property is very convenient for travelers who need to be in the heart of the Financial District of New York City. On the weekends it can be a very quiet with mostly tourists in the area. Even though, there are several subway stations nearby which can take you anywhere else in the city.

The layout of the entryway and reception is a little odd though. From the street entrance, there's not much room to maneuver about to get to the lifts that take you to reception and the rooms. The reception area is rather cramped, and with several tourists milling about, it made it a bit difficult to check-in, climbing over the crowd.

The room was very clean, comfortable and up to Doubletree standards. I utilised the small exercise room there as well. Overall, I did enjoy my stay here and would come back again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank richiedix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear richiedix,

Thank you for sharing your experience with all of us on the tripadvisor community. We are glad to see that you found our location convenient and took advantage of the nearby subway stations for traveling outside the financial district. It is very fulfilling to know that you enjoyed your stay and will come back again. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at two different Doubletrees in New York and had two disparate experiences. The Financial District location was great. The entire staff -- from the clerks to the bellhops to the room service deliverer -- was warm, friendly, and really went out of their way to help. We received the signature cookies twice, plus complimentary bottled water, which is such a small thing, but makes you feel welcomed and not like you'll be nickled and dimed. In fact, when our room service was delivered, the delivery person expressly said that gratuity was already included and so she needed only a signature. What's more, the location is very convenient to several subway lines, the building is tall (45 floors) with nice views of the Freedom Tower, and the rooms are well-equipped and updated, particularly for New York where rooms are always small. My only complaint is there was a bit of noise from the other rooms.

Room Tip: A room on the higher floors means a great view, but the elevator may take a little longer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blhp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Blhp68,

Thank you for your wonderful review and comments. Providing our guests with a warm welcome and friendly service are just a few of the many things we treat as high priority. Our goal is to ensure all our guests feel home away from home while staying with us – Doubletree by Hilton Financial District. It makes us all very proud to receive compliments such as yours.

We would love to have you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I chose this hotel for the location. I was led to believe that this location was the best to explore NYC!.

Reservation was easy and seamless. However, the support from the DoubleTree helplines were poor. I felt that there was very little information provided by the support team. At one point, I felt that I should choose some other hotel.

I arrived late and had called in. I expected a swift check-in but it was delayed a bit. Maybe 20 mins more than normal but not appreciated when you are coming in late.

The room was good. I had expected something more tastefully designed and better lit. However, there was nothing to complain about.

Service can be rated as average. For all queries, there was quite a long delay in providing information. The Concierge seemed to assume that you were a New Yorker or had been to NYC quite a few times to know the streets and the local lingo. Not much help there.

Dining options at the hotel are limited. I feel that there should be more on offer considering the hotel is in the financial district. Alternatively information on all night deliveries could have been provided.

The good points are easy access to Battery Park and the Metro.

In short, a decent hotel for a short stay. I rate it 3/5.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the higher floor towards the rear of the building. The view is better here compared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArunKrishnaPillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear ArunKrishnaPillai,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and the tripadvisor community. We are glad to know that you found our location conveniently located close to Battery Park and the subways.

I would like to extend my apologies for the average service you received and would like to assure you that we have enhanced our customer service training program since the last time you stayed with us in August, 2012. We strive to provide guests with a more than satisfactory stay and we hope to have another opportunity to be at your service should travel bring you back to New York in the near future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here for one weekend in July 2012. Received a warm cookie upon checking in. The staff was very courteous and accommodating answering our questions about restaurants, subway, etc. The room was a single king bed, not tons of space, but okay for only two people. Had no problems with the room itself other than that. There's a subway station at the beginning of the street, that's on a major line. Also a Starbucks is right down the small street. There are also great restaurants within a 15-20 minute walk where we got a whole lobster dinner for only $19! Only complaint is there are only 2 elevators and they run kind of slow. But other than that for the price it was great!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBreezy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Shanna B,

Thank you for your kind words. We are very excited to read your awesome compliments about the hotel staff members and the excellent customer service you received while staying with us. We are glad to know that our hotel location is convenient to you while traveling in NYC. We look forward to seeing you again and it is our pleasure to be at your service. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#214 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Metropolitan - ...
#320 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,352 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#205 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#176 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#322 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Address: 8 Stone Street, New York City, NY 10004-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #356 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing