We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wake up call that never came but luckily no harm done”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Ranked #365 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one night to take my mom to JFK ealier this month. We have been to NYC several times before and mostly stayed at either the Mariott in the Financial District or the Holiday Inn in China Town, but the last time we were there was in 2008. We decided against staying in either one because we heard that the Mariott had some damage from Sandy according to some reviews just from Dec, and the Holiday Inn seemed to have aged quite a bit. So we booked this hotel instead.

Very close (less than a min walk) to a subway station (believe it was for the R train) and relatively close (5 min walk) to another subway station serving among others the A train. Parking garage (non valet) right across the street from the hotel at $35 per 24 hrs. You have the valet option too which would cost $ 50. A couple or three doors down from the parking garage there is a decent Thai/Japanese restaurant upstairs, they make tasty food. The hotel is relatively new, quite clean although the dark-colored carpeting in the lobby or the guest room made the inside look darker. Surprisingly the mattress felt old and overworked, it felt more like a mattress you would find in a motel.

The room was very small. Sufficient lighting in the room. The bathroom was also tiny. There was only one hanger behind the door for you to use. There was a small towel hanger under the sink positioned so low that you would not be able to hang your bath towel unless you fold it in two. The closet in the room was located on the other end of the room and not directly right in front of the bathroom. One of the walls in the bathroom would have enough surface area for a good size towel hanger but instead they chose to hang a big picture there that serves no purpose. The standing shower was so narrow. I am a size 4 petite woman, and even for me I did not have enough room to extend my elbow completely on either side before hitting the shower wall/door.

The staff at both the front desk and concierge were very friendly and helpful. The guy at the front desk checked us in before 2pm even though the reservation stated 3pm. They also were willing to give us 1 hr extra for check out (we ended up not needing it). We were given very good directions to get back to the hotel from JFK by the guys at the concierge. One of them actually took the time to look up some info for us on his phone. We ordered a taxi to JFK, and it arrived at the hotel very punctual.

We ordered a wake up call and the guy at the front desk actually had to take the request for us as our call to the wake-up call area was unanswered. We never got the wake up call, thankfully I had set my own alarm as the backup otherwise we might have missed my mom's international flight! It had never happened to us that the hotel did not fulfill our wake up call request.

No breakfast came with the room but they did give us 3 nice warm cookies, and yes they were good!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marcopoloRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear marcopoloRI,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. First of all, I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for not providing you with a scheduled wake up call. I want to assure you that we will look into this matter to ensure it will not happen again.

Secondly, we regret to read about your dissatisfaction with our guest room size. Your suggestion about the towel hanger is appreciated and it will be shared and reviewed with the Executive Management team.

We are very happy to read your comments about our friendly and helpful hotel staff, and I will make sure to share your compliments with all team members.

We hope you would choose to stay with us again and allow us to make things right for you. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,479)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,799 - 1,805 of 2,479 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

Got a great deal via Priceline on this hotel with a couple of hours notice. Room had a great city view (which I requested). Service was excellent from bell station--storing bag, answering questions and parking and retrieving a car. Conveniently located one block from Bowling Green subway stop and Broadway. Easy walk to downtown/financial district locations, including Battery Park. Room was compact a la NYC standards, but well appointed with good lighting and contemporary furniture.

Room Tip: Request a city view. Because this hotel is on a very small street and so many rooms so high up--noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Durham123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Durham123,

We are very excited to know that you had a great experience while staying with us. Thank you for sharing your excellent feedback with us and all tripadvisor members. It is our pleasure to provide you with comfortable accommodations and exceptional service. We look forward to being at your service again. Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

For native New Yorkers who have traveled a great deal, we were pleasantly surprised by the extraordinarily efficient and friendly staff right in our home town. Delicious food at hotel's restaurant. Nice change of pace from midtown. Perfect location between Wall Street and Battery Park next to the Staten Island Ferry. Stone Street is one of the few remaining vestiges of Old New York. Lots of shopping and dining all around.

Room Tip: Take a lower floor to avoid long waits for the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Carol M,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and all tripadvisor members. It is very rewarding to be described as the best hotel, best location. Your compliment is very motivational and it will be shared with all team members. We strive to provide 5 star service to all our guests and are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We are happy to be at your service and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Central location in downtown Manhattan. In an area I felt very safe in. Very convenient. Close walking to Wall St./ 9/11 Memorial/ Staten Island Ferry/Statue of Liberty.

Clean inside. Friendly staff.

Bowling Green metro stop not even a block away.

No breakfast or coffee offered

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear Sarah D,

We are very happy to see that you were pleased with your stay. Being located in a prime location in downtown Manhattan within walking distance to several train stations and from many attractions is a convenience we are glad you enjoyed. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again should travel bring you back to NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here a few weeks ago on a business trip. The rooms are compact, but neat and modern. The internet access is a tad sluggish, but better than many other hotels. I was working in the Financial District to the location is great, plus many subways are nearby.

I didn't use any other services, like the restaurant/bar or laundry.

Overall, a good hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcgull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Dear tcgull,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the tripadvisor community. We are very happy that you found our location convenient and that you had an overall positive experience. We thank you for choosing us and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This hotel is centrally located in the downtown of Manhattan, in the south of the island. A drugstore is right at the corner, little restaurants are around and some metro stations are in walking distance. Staten Island Ferry and Battery Park are just a few minutes walkway away. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Check-in and check-out was the fastest I have ever experienced. The reception offers free cakes on requests and internet is available in the restaurant and the lobby for free. The lobby is very comfortable and invites to spend some time. Breakfast selection is very wide and service is just great. The rooms have all amenities but are a bit small. Upper floors have great view to WTC and the Hudson River. There aren‘t any international TV-channels.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryMuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear GaryMuc,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are elated to have you call us the "perfect stay." Our goal is to provide guests with a perfect experience with a focus on exceptional service . Thank you for complimenting our lobby and our efficient check-in and check-out process. We are pleased to know that you found our location convenient, as we are within walking distance to public transportation and attractions such as Battery Park and the NYSE.

We hope we can be at your service again in the near future. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel before. It is in a great location in lower Manhattan. Lots to see and do. The hotel staff is very accommodating. Anthony at the front desk is wonderful. Water bottles and warm cookies when you check in. High floors have wonderful views. A real gem.

Room Tip: try top floor ending in 01 or 07
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trowland57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear trowland57,

We are thrilled to earn 5 stars from you on tripadvisor as it is our goal to provide exceptional service to all our guests. Your feedback is fabulous and we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments to Anthony are very motivational and greatly appreciated. Your review will be shared with Anthony and all team members.

We look forward to be at your service again when travel brings you back to NY in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#240 of 469 in New York City
573 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#227 of 469 in New York City
1,305 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#215 of 469 in New York City
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#354 of 469 in New York City
517 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#225 of 469 in New York City
409 reviews
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#178 of 469 in New York City
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District

Address: 8 Stone Street, New York City, NY 10004-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $135 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing