We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$189
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$235
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$301
$239
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$396
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$257
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$213
$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,754)
Filter reviews
2,754 results
Traveler rating
655
967
636
288
208
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
655
967
636
288
208
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstone streetbattery parkthe staten island ferrystatue of libertynew yorklower manhattanwarm cookieswall strooms are smallbrooklyn bridgefreedom towerworld trade centerbusiness triparound the cornercity viewsubway stationconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
2,046 - 2,051 of 2,754 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here for 2 weeks. Room was okay size for NY standard. Staff were friendly and always ready to help, which was nice. But the big disappointment was the elevator issue. There were times when it literally took 10 minutes to wait for an elevator. Other than that, it's not a bad place to stay especially when working in FiDi. Also, I'm not a big fan of having to pay for internet in your room when other hotels nearby are offering it for free. It was quite a hassle going to the lobby for two weeks just to get free internet access.

Room Tip: lower level floors great option if you don't want to wait long for elevators.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmante2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear jmante2,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are very glad that our staff were friendly and helpful to you during your stay.
We are doing everything we can to improve the elevators. Thank you for your patience.
Should travel brings you to New York in the near future, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

There are 44 floors and only 3 elevators. Not just that, but each elevator can potentially stop at every floor: there isn't one for, say, floors 1-20, one for 21-30 etc. I was initially on one of the top floors, but managed to be moved to a much lower floor after, one morning, I had to wait literally 20 minutes to come down to have breakfast. On top of that, the elevator has been broken for a few days: it takes many people forever to come down, which is absurd because it defies the whole point of being in the financial district - I might as well have stayed in New Jersey!
Comparing with colleagues who stayed at the same hotel, I understand that within the same price category rooms can change quite a lot in size. I had a big one - no problems there. I do however object to the lack of a minibar/refrigerator, the extortionate rate for wifi in the rooms, and the poor insulation: the very second you switch off the heating, the temperature in the room plummets.

Room Tip: Get a low floor and specifically inquire about the size of the rooms available
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlo211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGDT, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear Carlo211,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and feedback. We are very sorry for the long wait for elevators. We are doing everything we can to have the elevator repaired.
Thank you for letting us know about the guest room ventilation, our engineer team is looking into this matter.
We appreciate your business. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel isn't terrible but I can't say there aren't many better options in the area for the same price. The hotel layout is cramped. The most frustrating thing is the elevator situation. They have only three elevators and they all go to every floor which I believe this hotel has something like 40. This leads to extremely long wait times and long lines in the lobby for an elevator. The lobby bar is plain and boring with staff that could care less about the customer. Also many of the floors are under construction and visibly under repair. Stay somewhere else while visiting the great city of New York.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolffe41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcello M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing feedback on your recent visit to our hotel. We’re sorry to hear you were unhappy with your experience and apologize for the long waits associated with our elevators. We appreciate hearing from you and wanted to let you know that our current renovations to update our rooms and amenities will be complete in the coming months and we are sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We know you have many choices of hotels when staying in the city and we appreciate you choosing ours. If you travel again to our area, we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Excellent location very close to metro stations, the NY harbour and battlefield park, the financial district and quite near Brooklyn Bridge. Room quite small, but clean and well equipped, staff helpful and all together a convenient hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katarina2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcello M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feed back. We are happy to hear we have met your expectation with the hotel. The team is committed to providing our guest at the DoubleTree Financial District a great stay. We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Me and my best friend recently went to NY for the first time and choose to stay at this hotel. When we arrived our hotel room was not readty but it was to be expected because we arrived early. From that point on everything about this hotel was lovely. Wonderful and helpful staff. Clean rooms and theyu even give complimenatry soft cokies at check-in. This hotel was in a perfect location. We would both would stay here again with no questions asked.

Room Tip: Located in the Fiancial district so some tings close early or not open on the weekends.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcello M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Greetings from the DoubleTree Financial District. Tracy we are so happy to hear of your great experience and we are very appreciative of your time to provide us with your feedback. Thank you for your patience while waiting for your room. I am glad you enjoyed the trademark Doubletree cookie, we baked those fresh daily. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews