We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Ranked #361 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Collingswood, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Decent enough hotel”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel last weekend for 2 nights. The room was fairly spacious by NYC standards with a large and comfortable bed and of sized bathroom. The place was very clean. The TV came with HBO on demand (free) so I watched a couple of movies at night (no, not the pornos). The location was way down at the bottom of Manhattan 4 blocks from the Staten island Ferry station. A huge plus was there were multiple subway stops within 3 blocks of the hotel which I used to go up the West side (1,2,3) and the east side (4,5,6), plus the R line (to union square and penn station). I attempted to use the J line on Saturday near Wall Street to go to the LES but it is closed on the weekends, so I took a cab instead. I had several issues with the hotel in terms of service. The key card machine was broken when I came to check in but they called security who let me into my room with minimal wait. I was hoping to check in early but no such luck. There were plenty of bags in storage with the Concierge so I assume I wasn't the only one who couldn't check in. The biggest fault I had with the hotel was the exceptionally slow elevators and so I docked the place to a 3 instead of a 4.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 6th floor so I could walk down instead of waiting for the elevators. While waiting f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear KT3,

We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.
We do experience a little delay with our elevators during the rush hour times when our elevators do get crowded with everyone coming in and leaving at the same time. On the up side Free HBO is pretty great at our hotel a many guest enjoy it. We did have a short period of time when our key system froze up but it was resolved fairly quickly. We do hope to have you as a guest again should your travels bring you back to New York City.
Thank you for the review! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    876
    555
    234
    172
See reviews for
424
725
159
745
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Overall I would rate this hotel as average although the concierge was quite helpful.
One thing that happened gives you an idea of their level of service: On check-in I was told my room was ready but I could not have a key as the system was down. I inquired how long the system had been down and was told they did not know - I did not ask when it would be back I asked how long they had been trying to solve the problem and they said they did not know - Really you don't know how long you have been unable to give customers keys? Another guest on the elevator told me he had been waiting 'hours'. The solution to their inability to create keys was that a person would take you to your room and let you in. So you check-in and then wait for someone to come to walk you up to your room. I was told to 'keep checking back' to see when I could get a key as there were 'too many guests' to notify when they could make keys. Have you ever been in a hotel where there was a fire - if you have would you ever want to be on the 28th floor and not have a key to get back in to your room should you need to? Isn't that one of the top fire safety rules for hotel guests : always take your key if the fire alarm goes off because if you cannot get down the stairs the safest place is to return to your room and await rescue? Yes, the chances of a fire are low but you remember that one time it happens and just think differently about large hotels afterward. They did not seem at all distressed by the key situation. I on the other hand was less than thrilled.
Both our rooms were fine. Everything worked. Very clean. Basic amenities. Standard Hilton. No issues in room. $9.95 per device for internet access. However, at about 3 or 4 in the afternoon as we got off the elevator on the way to the room there were dirty linens piled high in the corridor, room service trays also awaiting collection by the elevator, all in all not an outstanding welcome.
Website said views of Ellis Island and Statue of Liberty. From the 28th floor the views are of the sides of other tall buildings. I inquired at the front desk and was told that I must be mistaken about the website as there were not rooms with such views in the hotel (he did not said none were available - he said that there were none in the hotel). So I went and rechecked just out of curiosity and it the Hilton website says: ...."magnificent views of Manhattan, Brooklyn and Ellis Island...". Views are not critical to comfort of course but that was one of the things that made us choose this hotel. So if you care about views take note this is not the hotel for you. The restaurant was on the ground floor so it wasn't even a case of restaurant on top floor had nice views and rooms did not.
Did not eat at restaurant so can offer no input.
Saturday night there was a party in the room next door with loads of people coming and going and doors slamming at 2AM but the soundproofing is excellent as the noise was not heard inside my room - just the consistent door slamming that was persistent enough to disrupt sleep multiple times.
Location is literally a five minute walk from Staten Island Ferry, Battery Park, Wall Street, Ellis Island Ferry, which is convenient if you are playing tourist. As the hotel name implies it is in the Financial District so if you are there on a weekend be prepared that many of the little cafes / street vendors / food trucks etc. that are open during the working week are closed or have limited hours on the weekends.
Checkout was efficient - bill under door - ring the reception when you leave.
All in all at best I would rate them average - I can't imagine that I would try them again. I am a Hilton Honors member (previously Diamond or Gold but now quite low in the system) but was not terribly impressed with this property.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chimneysweep1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Chimneysweep19,

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience experienced during you stay. We did in fact have a small issue with out key machines that was resolved in about an hour and a half. I am sorry you were not given an exstimated time of resolution however the staff at the htoel did work diligently to correct the issue as soon as possible in order to prevent extended periods of inconvenience to our guest.
As for the views from our rooms, we do have maginifcent views however those are based on the room type you have reserved. Our standard rooms are usually on lower floors and would not have viewes as we are in the Financial District and surrounded by other highrises. We do have specific room types lebeled River view and City views which will provide the views you have expected.
Should you decide to give us another try please contact the hotel directly when booking your reservation and we will ensure you receive the best possible room location with the views you were expecting to see.
Thank you so much for your review and we do hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I stayed over a weekend at this hotel. It is in a wonderful location in the Financial District, with the benefit of not having as much crowd or noise at in Midtown. 4,5 and R subway lines are just around the corner. Rooms are typical for NYC, and are well furnished. The staff is friendly - nice warm cookie was a bonus at check in! One hiccup though - there was little or no warm water one morning, while I was trying to take a shower. Apart from this annoyance, it was a decent stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dadoc001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Dadoc001,

We are so glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is quite nice and quieter than most parts of Manhattan providing a more relaxing NYC getaway for visitors. We apologize for the hot water inconvenience and are investigating the reason for it. We do hope this does not keep you from visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

My wife and I arrived at the hotel on Friday and checked out on Monday. I was concerned because some reviewers claimed this hotel was noisy. Quite honestly I wonder if we stayed in the same hotel.

First, the hotel is very quiet. The rooms were well appointed and quite comfortable. I am a light sleeper and I slept soundly since it was so quiet. Plus, the personnel at this hotel are simply outstanding. Every employee I came in contact with was pleasant and helpful.

The location is excellent. Since this is at the tip of Manhattan every subway is nearby.

The only meal I had there was breakfast and I thought the value for a Manhattan hotel was excellent.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

The only downside of the hotel is that there are 3 small elevators and at time you had up to a four minute wait. However, the value of this hotel far overshadows the one downside.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ackvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Ackvil,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to have the pleasure to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This is a hidden gem in that it is a quiet getaway in a city where most things are loud, overpriced, and crowded. The more often I stay here, the more I enjoy myself. The hotel staff are always courteous and hospitable. They rarely fail to put me in a room that makes me comfortable. I love the proximity to the subway, the pharmacy, yoga, the water, and a number of small dining places. All in all, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPPNewYork, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Carina H,

Thank you for continuing to chose our hotel for your stays in NYC. We certainly appreciate the business of our repeat customers and I am happy to see that our service level is and continues to be of satisfaction to you.
Check in with our concierge during your next stay to hear about new restaurants, lounges and even some shopping that has recently been added to the Financial District. You may be interested in checking them out if time allows.

We look forward to seeing you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here last weekend for a business trip.

The hotel is pretty well located, espcially for Battery Park, WTC, Wall St. etc. Cheaper than staying in Midtown on weekends and plenty of places to eat, drink and be merry near to hotel.

The rooms are quitre small, but are nicely furnished and the flat screen TV has a very good selection of channels. The room was very clean and bed bug free!! The kig bed was comfy!

As previosuly mentioned by other travellers, the elevators are small and slow and you can wait a long time at busy times, such as check-out and breakfast. The lobby is awkwardly located on the 2nd floor. All staff very friendly and helpful.

For the first time in a long time, the internet was was fast and reliable! Why can't other properties follow suit??)

For the first time I booked with Hotwire and got this hotel for $119 a night, which is spectacular for NYC. No HHonors benefits as expected, but overall a good choice in the neighbourhood.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor to avoid outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethParry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPPNewYork, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear GarethParry,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay. Our elevators can present a little challenge during rush hour times in the hotel but overall are some of the fastest elevators we've ever been in. We love to hear guest feedback and are happy you have enjoyed the fast internet service. That usually is a compliment hotels rarely receive :)

Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to having you to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
787 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The DoubleTree Downtown is located in the financial district, close to all of the sights and activities in the area. It has convenient subway access, and a surprisingly good restaurant on site with lots of additional choices nearby. This is a true high-rise hotel with only 9 rooms per floor and 43 floors. Not a pretentious place but more than acceptable - it's new, clean, quiet and comfortable. Don't overpay.

Room Tip: If you don't like to wait for the elevator, ask for a room on a low floor. The x07 rooms are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yellowpixels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPPNewYork, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Yellowpixels,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#237 of 467 in New York City
544 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#218 of 467 in New York City
1,251 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#215 of 467 in New York City
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#104 of 467 in New York City
1,487 reviews
Financial District
New York Marriott Downtown
New York Marriott Downtown
#204 of 467 in New York City
1,819 reviews
Financial District
The Wall Street Inn
The Wall Street Inn
#275 of 467 in New York City
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Address: 8 Stone Street, New York City, NY 10004-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing