We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be staying here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District
Ranked #368 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Not all bad, but bad enough to not stay here again.
Pros:
- We got turned around tryinging to locate the correct parking garage and our GPS kept losing the signal. Called the hotel and Robert stayed on the phone until we found our way. Very nice, very patient, and gave very good directions.
- Accomodated our early check-in request.
- Room was clean and tidy.
- Didn't pay for a river view, but that's what we were given.
- R train is across the street and you can get the 4 and 5 train within a couple of blocks.

Cons:
- Three elevevators for 44 story building. And the elevators were tiny...fits maybe five adults, without luggage.
- The lobby is on the second floor. This only creates added use for the few elevators.

Even though there were more pros then cons, it was enough of a hassle to not stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barabra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,095 - 2,101 of 2,540 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

Wife and I traveled with our 2 boys (8&12) and stayed here for 2 nights. I had some hesitations about staying in the Financial District, but it was a very smart decision to stay here.

The room, it's NYC!... so it was average size with 2 double beds - VERY clean, A/C worked great, bathroom was modern, clean with good water pressure. We showed up at 12h30pm and our room was ready, had to wait a few minutes at the lobby as there was only 1 staff member, but when the manager noticed 3 people standing & waiting to be served he came out from the office to help out. The lobby is on the second floor, TAKE THE STAIRS and walk up to check-in, park your car direclty across the street(mention you are staying @ hotel and they will honor the $35/day). We had NO problems with the elevators, most we ever waited was maybe 3-4 minutes.

Breakfast was included with our room, it is a good breakfast Hot & Cold, bacon/pancakes/eggs/fruits/cereal/juice/coffee/danishes/croissant/yougurts/etc. I strongly recommend talking the breakfast option, a breakfast like this in any hotel in any city is easily +$20. The staff, friendly, accomodating, no 'attitude'..make you feel like they appreciate your business and you being there. One of the men working on the main floor actually ran to the street corner to get us a taxi!

The best part of this hotel is it's location and here's why - NYC is C R A Z Y busy & noisy so when you get back from your day out visiting busy TimeSquare/Cental Park/Rockfeller Center or wherever else you can actually relax and unwind and let your mind rest from all the noise & activity of the city. Financial district during weekdays 8-6 is busy like everywhere else in NYC, if not more so - but after 6pm everyone goes home and on weekends it's quiet for 2 days :)

Anothe BIG advantage of staying here, you walk 50m to the corner of the street and you have 2 subway stations. This is what we used to get around with our kids, we took the GREEN number 4 to Grand Central Station/Time Square/ Yankee Stadium. If you have any worries about taking the subway as I did, there is TRULY nothing to worry about - as mentioned we traveled with our 2 boys and not only was it safe and people VERY friendly & willing to help with directions, but the subway wagons are CLEAN!!! Th whole city acutally is pretty clean considering the number of people there...only rude people you will find are other tourists, go figure!

I will DEFINETLY stay here again - great service!,clean room! friendly staff, fantastic location, and cheap parking(for NYC)

P.S. A cab ride to Little Italy $7 / Century 21 dept. store 10min walk / Statue of Liberty ferry5 minute walk / cab ride Rockfeller Center $14. Don;t hesitate to drop me an email if you have any questions JValente_ca@Yahoo.ca

Room Tip: DoubleTree Website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jvalente_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at the Doubletree this past weekend and it was perfect! Since we were only going to be in the city for a short time, we checked to see if by chance, we could check in early and change after a 3 hour drive. Otherwise we would have had to in the car! Sam was working at the front desk and graciously checked us in with out a problem! at 9AM! It was a huge relief. He was extremely friendly and helpful and went above and beyond to help us with our car parking situation we had with a lot that was not affiliated with the hotel. Thanks Sam! You are an asset to the hotel.

As far as the elevators, it is clear to see, if you look on the map of the hotel, that they have as many elevators as possible given the layout of the hotel. We never had to wait more than a minute or two, not a big deal at all. I don't have a ton of patience either. For those complaining about the layout of the hotel (having to go through the restaurant?? Seriously, figure it out) You come through a bell stand area, the restaurant is to the right of it, through glass doors...it's not difficult to figure out. Then you go to the second floor to the lobby and to check in. I don't see how anyone could complain about this but I guess some people will look for anything to complain about. The hotel's location worked absoulutely perfect for us. We walked about 5 minutes to Battery Park to get the ferry to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, WTC Memorial was about 10 minute walk and the subway to get to Times Square was just 5 minutes away. Saturday night Times Square was absolutely crazy, as expected, so we came back and just had a couple drinks at a quiet little Irish bar right next door to the hotel. It was great!

The room was perfect and what you would expect for NYC-it was actually better than I expected. Beautifully appointed with all the necessities! We couldn't have chosen a better hotel for our stay in NYC, would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I was on a business trip to NY and had to select this hotel due to the proximity of my workplace.

This hotel is very conveniently located to a lot of eating joints, wall street, subways. About 10 minutes cab drive to Times Square, Broadway. Me being from India we are used to big hotel rooms however i found this place very cramped. The bathrooms were nice and clean but small.

Internet costs are $12 a day and believe me its not worth it, the quality was just too bad and the worse part is if you use two devices its $12 a device (which is very strange).

There is Chipotle/Subway/Pharmacy about 50 mts distance from the hotel so you wouldnt sleep hungry for sure. There are couple of nice pizza joints located bang opposite to the hotel if you like Italian.



Niket

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiketShah11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Pricelined this hotel for a quick city overnight. Very happy with location, walking distance to South Street Seaport, Battery Park, and the Staten Island Ferry (free boatride!). Also right down the street from a delightful cobblestoned section of restaurants and bars, also on Stone Street, heading East. The street is blocked and has community tables in the middle, very European! (Hint: there is a building standing in the middle of Stone, you have to walk around it.). Hotel itself is small, yo they have very few doubles, but you can ask for a king. NO ROLLAWAYS...we brought a rolled up foam mat for my son and used the extra pillows and down comforter from the closet. Hot chocolate chip cookies on check-in; very clean room with a huge flatscreen and four HBO channels, really helpful staff down to the guys at the door, and simply everyone else. Free internet on three computers in the lobby, no charge to hold your bags in storage. There's a Chipotle across the street and the Native American Museum, nearby, is free. Downside: Elevators can be slow, but were generally quick and the continental breakfast isn't free for some room levels (we went for a diner one day, fast food the next). Really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesinjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed here 2 nights on our first nights on a trip to America. Hard to find reasonable priced hotels but decided we would give this a try. Lovely new hotel, fresh, smart and comfortable room, staff friendly and very helpful. Tube very close by which is excellent for travelling to other parts of London and of course Statue of Liberty is very close by.

Agree with comments about the lifts, but really its not a huge problem. Had wonderful nights sleep, beds were lovely, after a long flight. Also thought the gym was pretty well equipped and although wi-fi is chargeable in the rooms, the business centre there is convenient and a last internet connection. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyHops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I had a great time in this hotel. Allthough it's not in Midtown the location is great if you want to see the statue of Liberty (as we did) and only in town for a short while. We had booked a family room but were placed on the 33rd floor which was too high for one of the family members. The front desk responded quickly to get us to one of the lower floors however the carpet there turned out to be wet. Again Michelle and Sara came with solutions and giving us a free upgrade to other rooms! Please make sure to make use of the Waterstreet diner as well. Again LOVED this hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice1024752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Hilton Garden Inn NYC Financial Center/Manhattan Downtown
Hilton Garden Inn NYC Financial ...
#283 of 470 in New York City
67 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#243 of 470 in New York City
590 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
Club Quarters Hotel, Wall Street
#225 of 470 in New York City
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall...
#353 of 470 in New York City
746 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#230 of 470 in New York City
1,358 reviews
Financial District
Four Points by Sheraton New York Downtown
Four Points by Sheraton New York...
#342 of 470 in New York City
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District

Address: 8 Stone Street, New York City, NY 10004-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #368 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $124 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New York City - Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing