We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Ideal location, defo recommend!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Element New York Times Square West
Ranked #251 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing! Ideal location, defo recommend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Just returned from an amazing trip to New York for my 21st and cannot recommend this hotel enough. On arrival we were upgraded to the 40th floor with 2 double beds and the most amazing view thanks to Ivory on reception. The rooms are well-equipted with dishwasher, microwave, sink, fridge and two hobs if you decide you want to make your own food or even heat leftovers up as the portions in NYC are massive! The beds are the comfiest things ever making it hard to get up for breakfast which was hit and miss but was a definite bonus especially the days they did pancakes! Times square was right round the corner about 5-10 mins walk and empire state, madison square gardens was like 15 mins walk and it is also close to subways which is ideal for memorial, lady liberty etc. No problems with lifts and we were on the top floor and the staff are so helpful and go out of their way for you. Would definitely stay here if i was lucky enough the visit NY again and we are already recommending it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Higher floors for the amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,489
    1,605
    458
    184
    115
See reviews for
857
1,572
217
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Jura, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Wonderful location. Super rooms. Helpful staff. We had no problems with the elevators during our 4 night stay, longest wait once 3 minutes! Fabulous breakfast. All round an amazing place, not forgetting the views from the rooftop area. Comfiest bed ever!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed here as part of a member of the Starwood Preferred Guest but I chose to make a review at Tripadvisor due to the number of visitor traffic. My stay was on 24th Jan 2014 - 26th Jan 2014. My review is as follows:-

Location:
- the hotel is within walking distance to New York Times Square and all other things adjacent or near to this landmark (Port Authority Terminal, Empire State, Rockefeller, theaters such as Chicago, and etc)

Features:
- i love the rooftop which was fully accessible at anytime.
- the gym has modern cardio equipments from Life Fitness (the machines support TV but no channels were available). the weights were quite decent
- the room was large enough and air conditioner / heater worked just fine
- the TV was modern flat screen and had enough channel to keep me busy
- i love the fact that they had a working kitchenette (electric burner) and a spacious fridge with freezer. I am a muslim and a fitness enthusiast, so i cook wherever i go. the dishwasher also fit a lot of dishes and pots etc.
- there was also a set of iron and ironing board. some starwood hotels do not have these basic items.
- the staff were friendly and nice including those at the front desk. check in and check out were a breeze.
- the free wifi was fast

What i didnt fancy:-
- rubbish bags for all floors were kept at the emergency exit stairs. this created a stench to whomever is in the staircase area (for whatever reason) and i think element should do something about this
- using fake plants at the hallways reflects lack of taste
- the elevator can be slow and at times either stop at the wrong floor or didnt stop at the lobby and shoot to the upper levels when it should not have

other than that, i think Element Times Square West is a good place for everyone looking for a short stay in NYC at West Manhattan. I actually did plan for another go mid february but the price fluctuated and went up to close to usd300 per night. I chose another place instead.

Room Tip: SPG provides points but the price can be really expensive. Depends on what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muzzil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

we stayed for 4 nights in february, what can we say, the hotel was great, 18th floor, room was lovely. ok not massive ( are any rooms in NY) but we had all we wanted and more, full fridge freezer in room, 2 ring hob, sink, dishwasher and coffee machine, which i used to get hot water for tea, massive most comfortable bed we have ever had, sofa, air conditioner /heater , great ensuite, huge shower, 32" tv on wall.
the staff were lovely and helpful, the breakfast was a good choice, from toast to cereal. and scrambled eggs or pancakes hot muffins etc and bagels, tea coffee fruitjuice and yoghurts enough to fill you up. also 24 hr tea coffee hot chocolate in front entrance area. and mon - thurs eve the hotel does complimentry evening snacks,, which included beer / wine cokes etc and hot snack buffet. The hotel was I thought well placed and we walked to most places with no problem, just off times square and broadway 3 mins walk. have to say if we go back to NY we will be staying here. the rooftop views are amazing to. thank you element for making our NY stay a memory that will stay with us. never had an issue with lifts while we stayed

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paramedic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Spent 5 days here in Feb in a suite next to the elevator on the 27th floor. Never heard the elevator from our room. Only had the long wait for the elevator a couple of times. The elevators are small and housekeeping uses them too so we all just smiled and got cozy for the ride. Staff was great and so friendly, especially housekeeping. Location was good too. Just understand that this hotel is near to Port Authority and in the Garment district so very busy and fast-paced. Having a kitchen saved us money and time because the hotel offerings of food were not to our liking and ran out early. We did not care, just brought yummies home from outside and enjoyed our food with the view. Bathroom was clean, no mold or dirt and there was plenty of storage. The king bed was very comfortable. Only small issues were dim lighting in the bathroom with mirror too far from us and a couple of outlets didn't work. There were plenty of outlets in the room so we just informed the hotel upon our departure. A printer and the four computers in the lobby were most helpful for printing boarding passes and free wifi was so nice!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lifelearners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

This hotel is truly a hidden gem! We got an unbelievable deal through Expedia so of course we weren't expecting too much... but oh were we wrong! The hotel is chic and modern-looking. Our room was small-ish but not too small to the point where you couldn't handle it. We have a nice, fluffy, clean king-sized bed, full kitchen and a spacious bathroom. The staff was so nice and even let us check in at 8:00 a.m. since our flight arrived super early! The free breakfast was good and filling.

All in all... this is definitely where I will be staying for every NYC visit.

P.S. Location was also great! Short walking distance to Broadway!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liliana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Desert, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

everyone at the hotel overall were polite except for the overnight front desk hispanic girl, I believe her name was Elizabeth Rivera. She was really rude and unhelpful. Other than that my stay was ok, its hard to say if I would recommend this place to a friend because of my terrible experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grace_fyf_er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,393 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#208 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,772 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#266 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Element New York Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element New York Times Square West

Property: Element New York Times Square West
Address: 311 West 39th Street, Between 8th and 9th, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Element New York Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element New York times square west is an eco-friendly Manhattan boutique hotel near Times Square and Broadway. Our hotel has 2 meeting rooms, complimentary breakfast, free wifi, and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Element New York Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element New York Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing