We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free wifi and great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Element New York Times Square West
Ranked #256 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Free wifi and great location!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed for seven nights in this hotel for our first trip to NYC and we loved every minute of it! Great location, just a stone throw away to Times Square and walking distance to all tourist spots. My favourite thing about this hotel is the free (and fast) wifi - very handy! Also the laundry facilities were good, staff were helpful, very clean rooms and a fantastic bathroom. Loved the full fridge and kitchenette, very handy to store our Magnolia Baker cupcakes and other goodies! We can't wait to get back to the big apple and stay in this hotel again. Also, there is free breakfast but we stayed out late every night and couldn't quite get up early enough for it but it's really good they offer brekkies to guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,504
    1,641
    472
    194
    120
See reviews for
885
1,601
223
490
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (819)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We checked in the hotel for a night and we were supposed to take a bus to DC. I checked with the reception if they can find out if there is any cancellations due to the storm they assured me that there has been no cancellations to my surprise it was cancelled. Avoid this hotel at any cost

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Archith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Zay, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Archith,

We are sorry to hear that your bus was canceled during one of the recent storms in our area. We would caution all guests traveling during inclement to monitor their own travel arrangements. Our team does their best to provide the most up to date travel information to our guests but we are not responsible for cancellations outside of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed here on a business trip in January 2014. Firstly, I have no idea why this place is listed as "other accomodation" while it clearly is a hotel. Secondly, it does definitely not follow a green policy.

Good things:
* Large rooms
* Nice views
* Fairly new equipment
* Good deal for very central (but not tourist Times Square/Broadway) location
* Fridge in the room (might be useful in sping/summer)
* Free coffee/tea in the lobby

Bad things:
* Traffic jam when using the elevators - patience required
* Awful breakfast (do not try the breakfast burgers)
* Awful breakfast served on throw away plates
* Too small reception area for size of hotel*

Room Tip: High floors come with a nice view but the well-known downside of elevator jams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerAnimateur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REDDITCH, WORCESTERSHIRE,UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Superb experience at this fabulously located hotel. Just a few blocks from Times Square & all the Metro lines.
Spotlessly clean, modern rooms, comfortable beds & all mod cons including a fully fitted kitchenette.
Breakfast was a bit of a scrum but was hot & inclusive, which was an excellent rate for any city let alone New York.
Number of very good neighbourhood restaurants nearby.
Excellent choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rioja-forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at the element in December 2013 and was happy with our choice of hotel. The location is excellent. We walked everywhere and only used the train once in our weeks stay! The breakfast was a little busy but if you get down early you will get a table and you can always take breakfast back to your room and use the kitchenette. The lifts were not a problem at all for us on the 17th floor and we never waited more than 5mins (even at peak times). All in all the hotel was excellent and we will be staying here again on our next visit. It is great value for money and you get what you pay for. If you want pure luxury and 5***** accommodation then there are other hotels in NYC that would meet standards but this is a lovely clean friendly and stylish hotel and we loved it

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah-Jayne1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, Falkland Islands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I've stayed in hotels of various *** ratings in NY, and this little gem is way above the rest. A brand of Westin, but not owned by them. I've stayed in the Westin TImes Square, which is a much larger / higher rated hotel, and i would rather stay in the Elements any day. Why? because its a better location i think, more personal and the front staff are more friendly and courteous, and there nice touches like coffee waiting in the lobby. And the rooms are the same size anyway, so why pay for the Westin's big lobby? Only warning - they only accept credit cards at check-in, cash is not king here (dumb policy)

Location
-----------
Initially, I thought it was a bit too off Times Square area for tourists folks, situated on 39th street. but actually, its about 10mins 3 blocks walk away, and pleasant to not be right in the bustle / hassle. but the advantage is it is also a convenient 10mins walk from 34st shopping area and Empire State Bldg, so you can get around most of the main touristy bits. I was visiting an expo in Jacob Javits, and its a convenient 10mins from there as well. Great since often when expos close there are 10,000 visitor and no cabs, so you can yomp home (Times Sq is a bit of a walk away from JJ). A bit quiet at night in that 39th st area, but seems perfectly safe

Property
-----------
Not much to look at, imagine an IBIS for those who are familiar. narrow, tall property with just 3 lifts. so you might need to wait a bit...especially when the expo people swarm back. one time i couldn't be bothered waiting, so left my stuff in reception and went out. well, if you want to pay $100 extra for more elevators, feel free to do so. Lobby is small, with a few sofas, and a nice touch of free coffee/tea so you can have a cuppa (while waiting for the lifts :-) ). Warning, the floors are confusing...well to someone like me, i got out of the lower level, and couldn't figure out which level was the lobby. Why not stick little signs next to the the lift buttons for "lobby", "gym" etc. Lobby argued that the "*" on the button mean exit floor. Sorry, there are 250 countries in the world, and we don't all know what the little asterix means. And the electronic lift sign is dumb....lifts are labelled ABC, but the digital sign indicates to wait at lift 1,2,3

Cafe
------
a great brekkie joint out the back of the lobby area, kind of a conservatory area. You get gallons of coffee (cheapo earthy robusta....but then again all NY coffee seems to be like drinking from the Hudson), turkey/cheese muffin things, fruit, croissants, bread etc. extremely pleasant start to the morning.

Rooms
---------
small, but so is everywhere else in Manhattan. Spotlessly clean, nothing at all to grumble about, which is my forte. The fantastic thing about the Elements is a small kitchenette in the room, with full fridge, sink, microwave, kettle, condiments, glasses/cups etc. Now its too small to have a kitchen table inside, otherwise for kids would be great to eat cereals there. but anyway. very handy. The TV is 40+ in LCD, plenty of channels, but a bit unusual lodged between the bed (6in away!) and kitchenette. never mind. small 2-seater sofa, glass desk, electric heater, and those roller blind thingies like in the Westin (bit clinical, would be more cosy with curtains). Bed is clean and comfy, not hard, not squidgy-American like riding in a Cadillac, with a decent mattress top, white duvet and plenty of clean soft pillows. slept like a log...brill

Bathroom
------------
perfectly clean, newly fitted, separate bath/shower room with glass door, sunflower shower. water is hot, but not quite scorching enough; could be a bit stronger. usual toiletry stuff, clean thick towels

Overall
---------
I can be picky, but since i could not find any faults, it was cosy and welcoming, great location and decent price, i gave this a 5*. Would highly recommend to budget-concious tourists and visitors to JJavits. Just take cash deposits....duh!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin-E-Rice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Zay, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Colin-E-Rice,

Thank you for the incredibly detailed review of our property. We are so glad to hear we made you happy and would be thrilled to be our New York City hotel of choice whenever your travels bring you back to the big apple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2014

It was very nice to have complimentary breakfast and happy hour. There were times when it seemed impossible to take the elevators down because the "supply could simply not keep up with the demand." Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Zay, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Rosie W,

We are happy that you chose our Times Square hotel to ring in the New Year! We apologize for the challenge with our elevators and we appreciate you sharing your feedback online about your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#129 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,506 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#162 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,143 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#216 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#287 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Element New York Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element New York Times Square West

Property: Element New York Times Square West
Address: 311 West 39th Street, Between 8th and 9th, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Element New York Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element New York times square west is an eco-friendly Manhattan boutique hotel near Times Square and Broadway. Our hotel has 2 meeting rooms, complimentary breakfast, free wifi, and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Element New York Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element New York Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing