We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stress-free experience, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Element New York Times Square West
Ranked #301 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Theater district and time square just a few minuets from the hotel. Great mid town location.

This 40 floor Hotel has 11 rooms per floor. When we arrived there was a bellman there with a smile here and ready to unload our luggage and take it up to our room. The desk staff and concierge were friendly and very helpful.

The room was well appointed it was actually a mini sweet. It had a kitchenette with stove, refrigerator, dishwasher, and it was stocked with dishes, glasses, silverware, cooking utensils and everything you could need to fix a meal, great for someone visiting on a budget. The room and bath was modern and clean.

After getting settled I noticed that there was not a hairdryer in the bath and the standing light was not working. I called down to the desk to within 5 minutes a new hairdryer was brought to the room with apologies for the inconvenience and seconds latter a maintenance man came to replace the light. Great service!

Breakfast came with the room. It included continental delights as well as breakfast sandwiches, toast pancakes, fruit etc. Monday through Thursday there was a free happy hour with beer wine and soft drinks as well as munchies.

If you drive there is a parking garage directly across the street for $39 dollars a day, a real bargain for New York City.

Overall a great experience and I would defiantly stay again.

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms 03, 04, on each floor they are next to the elevator and you can hear everyone c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseMatolcsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Zay, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear DeniseMatolcsy,

Thank you for detailing your experience and sharing it online. We are glad that you enjoyed everything our property and location had to offer and we hope to welcome you back in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,405 - 1,411 of 4,164 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

I paid over $500 a night for a tiny room, wedged between 2 elevators,with dirty walls,and a breakfast in a high school cafeteria. The room was so small, I had to crawl over the bed to close the blinds. The only chair was a desk chair on wheels that shot away from me when I sat on it to put on my boots.This was my first time in NYC and I knew things were expensive but this was ridiculous.Lest I sound like a total rube, I have stayed at plenty of swanky joints in big cities and I have never paid so much for so little.The location was good,and all staff were pleasant and there was coffee in the lobby.....but come on. I was out all day, arrived back at the room late afternoon, and it still hadn't been serviced. Of course for the brief time I was in the room to try to change for dinner, housekeeping arrived.But, given all the other glowing reviews, I guess I must be crazy.

Room Tip: Definitely don't pay extra for an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadaTravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Zay, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear CanadaTravelchick,

We are sorry we did not exceed your expectations during your recent trip to NYC. We do our best to supply the best service possible to our guests and we have shared your comments with our team. We recognize that all of our guests will not have the perfect stay but our consistency, dedication, and location lead to hundreds of happy travelers per day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We visited just before Christmas - 2 mums with teenage daughters. We wanted a central location for shopping and the theatre and the Element didn't disappoint. The rooms are very clean and the people are friendly and helpful. There's a complimentary breakfast with cereal, toast, bagels etc - really good although quite busy which meant we had to loiter to get a table once or twice. The kitchenette in the room is handy and the air con can be switched off and the window opened slightly which is good. It's in a busy location though so choose a room fairly high up...there are 40 floors. However, the downside of this is you need to use the lift. There are 3 and they are fairly speedy but always seemed very busy. We resorted to getting in and going up to come down in the morning for breakfast and once waited about 10 minutes. It was a minor issue though - this is a good hotel I would definitely recommend it.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Suequ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This hotel was awesome from when we pulled up out front until the day we left. The hotel staff was always nice. We arrived earlier than check-in, several hours earlier, and there was a room ready for us. We stayed in room 811. The view was not great, but who cares. We were only there to sleep. The rooms are a little tight, but we made do. We had 4 girls stay in one room and it was fine for us. The only problem I encountered was the small amount of closet space. Our room had two double beds, a desk, tv, nice size bathroom with a huge shower (very hot water!) and a small kitchenette. We had everything we needed. The refrigerator and freezer were a nice size. The hotel is very clean and modern. The beds are super comfortable!! The elevators are not slow, it's just the amount of floors it has to stop at. Several times we just took the stairs. The free breakfast was very good and enough food to start our day. There is coffee 24 hours a day down in the lobby. The hotel is on a quiet street and is close to Times Square. I would highly recommend The Element!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Located just outside of times sq, this is a newish and clean hotel. On a bit of a dead street, but it's quiet. Good value for the location compared to other properties. Good for business or families going to the theatre.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank mpolatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We stayed for a week on the 21st floor - spacious room, with the comfiest bed in any hotel I've stayed in, good size bathroom and fully kitted out kitchen ( microwave,full size fridge,hob, dishwasher, pots pans etc etc). Room is nicely decorated and in good condition, shower could be better but adequate, plenty of towels and toiletries provided. Room always cleaned to a high standard. Included breakfast is basic but good - bagels,cereals,hot sandwiches,pastries. Happy hour is a nice touch - free drinks and finger food. Staff are pleasant and attentive, only downside is the elevators - on most days only 2 out of 3 were functional, meaning long waits for the lifts (top tip: if you are on a lower floor get on even if its going up - it fills with people from floor 40 so by the time it gets to 15 theres no space!)
Easy walk to times square, theaters and subway station. Cute little roof terrace with views over new york is worth a trip. Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in central NYC.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki00280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

If your goal is to see Time Square, Empire States Building, Rockefeller, Central Park then this hotel has the location you are looking for. It is clean, small, but, cozy rooms and the heavenly comfy beds are what your body craves after all those New York 'minutes'!! The breakfast is nothing to write home about. Don't let it be the deciding factor when choosing this hotel, let it be the location and service. Everyone was super friendly and safety was NEVER an issue.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor. Absolutely no view there, but we were only in our rooms to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsag00dlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#151 of 469 in New York City
5,719 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#180 of 469 in New York City
2,259 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#294 of 469 in New York City
2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#231 of 469 in New York City
1,874 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#71 of 469 in New York City
5,358 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#238 of 469 in New York City
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Element New York Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element New York Times Square West

Address: 311 West 39th Street, Between 8th and 9th, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $108 - $466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Element New York Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element New York times square west is an eco-friendly Manhattan boutique hotel near Times Square and Broadway. Our hotel has 2 meeting rooms, complimentary breakfast, free wifi, and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Element New York Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element New York Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing