We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Element New York Times Square West
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
AC Hotel Times Square(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,403)
Filter reviews
4,403 results
Traveler rating
1,598
1,809
568
254
174
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,598
1,809
568
254
174
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfasttimes squarefull size fridgebagelsnew yorkport authoritystove topfree happy hourmini kitchenevening receptionsmall kitchenettelower floorrooftop terracepenn stationthe breakfast areacoffee makerhell's kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,600 - 1,605 of 4,403 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was our second time in NYC and we wanted to be quite close to Times Square and this hotel was excellent for that. The staff were very friendly and when they found out it was our honeymoon, they sent us up a bottle of wine and gave us a late check out which was very kind.

Our room was very nice, we had booked a suite so in New York that gets you a normal size room! There were a few rough edges, such as our smoke alarm was missing it's front cover and they hadn't quite finished painting the green feature wall in our room! However, none of these things affected our enjoyment of the stay so are irrelevant really, but they just take away from those finishing touches that hotels usually aim to achieve.

The hotel provide complimentary tea and coffee all day in the lobby which is nice when you are heading out in the morning. They also offer breakfast which was quite good along with complimentary beer, wine, soft drinks and some buffet food on weekday evenings which is rather impressive and quite rare in NYC i think!

The only real downside to this hotel is that it doesn't have enough elevators to accommodate the number of guests staying. You can be waiting for it for up to 10 minutes in the morning to get down to breakfast! If you can't be bothered with that then request a room on a low floor so you can use the stairs.

Overall this hotel was good, and location wise, you can't beat it for being close to Times Square.

Room Tip: Low floor if you can't be bothered with elevators. High floor if you want a view and it to be quieter!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Zay, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Laura Y,

Congratulations on your recent nuptials. We are so happy that you chose our hotel for your honeymoon and we hope that you come back and celebrate your anniversaries here in the future. Thank you for sharing your feedback online.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is close to Times Square, broadway theaters and the garment district. Very busy, crowded at breakfast time and happy hour. The elevators were very frustrating, you had to go up to go down, an elevator going down wouldn't stop at any floors. The rooms were small, but usual for NYC hotels. Staff was friendly and apologetic for the crazy elevators. Would possibly stay here again...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suze912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is a gem. Period! Hands down the best value! Free breakfast and free cocktails in evening. Close to subways, close to numerous tourists attraction. You can even walk easily to other parts of Manhattan. Hotel is very busy but staff managed to stay positive and friendly. Yes the elevators can be slow in peak time. However you can factor in the extra time and plan accordingly. This is NOT a ding point for hotel! Other non peak time, you just breeze in and breeze out. The location is so convenient. You are not in the smack middle of TS so you do not have to deal w the insanity! It is noisy because you are kinda in a middle of TS. Wear earplugs. If you run around all day long in NYC, you'd be so tired that you will not hear any noise! Oh then you get this amazing and fabulous and absolutely FREE view of Chrysler and Empire state buildings on the rooftop at any time! It is never crowded! This will be my hotel of choice for NYC. HANDS DOWN!

Room Tip: Why would you stay in the room when you are in NYC? My room faced Empire State Building. 3305
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLD31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Zay, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear MLD31,

Thank you again for your kind words about our property. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and that we are now your preferred choice in NYC. We look forward to hosting you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I stay here often and think it's a great hotel for business. Staff is very professional and rooms are up to date and well equipped. But this stay I was sorry to see that the room was not cleaned very well and the sheets had signs of wear. I will notify the front desk staff.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank dpwct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Zay, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear dpwct,

Thank you for bringing these challenges to our attention. We appreciate your loyalty and would like to keep you happy so you return for future visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great location if you want "The Middle Town experience". Good service and clean rooms. The rooms have a minimalistic feel. There is a kitchen with coffemaker, refrigerator, freezer, and a microwave. You also have the basics in cutlary. Free wifi and king size beds.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Zay, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Ronny R,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to NYC. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience online and we hope you return to us for a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews