We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Element New York Times Square West
Ranked #300 of 469 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 17, 2013

When we arrived at the Hotel I was really surprised how central it is. The Time Square was only a few minutes away. The Check In was great and as requested we got a really nice room with a wonderful view of New York City including the Empire State Building. The Room was very clean but quite small (although it was a superior room), but that is typical for New York. The room was a bit noisy due to other guests and the elevator. But I had no problem to fall asleep. We never ate breakfast because the breakfast area was not comfortable at all and was always crowded. When we saw the buffet we decided to take the breakfast elsewhere. However, I really enjoyed my stay in New York. And if the prices stay the same I will go definitely go back to the Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deadenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Zay, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Deadenise,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to NYC. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you would consider us for a future visit. As you mentioned, our free breakfast buffet draws a number of guests each day so we hope that you can still see the value in this important amenity. We hope to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,671 - 1,677 of 4,156 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

Need a hotel that has (a) good location (b) includes breakfast (c) free coffee at all times (d) functional rooms inclduing fridge, microwave, hob (d) clean (e) good shower (f) comfortable bed (g) reasonable price.
This hotel has all of above. Can't really fault it.
Lift wait was really not an issue, sometimes no wait at all, sometimes up to 5 mins.
When in New York there is lot's to do, and your hotel really has to be functional but comfortable place to rest your weary feet and sleep. Element does that. Perfect.

Room Tip: away from the lifts. If a family, get adjoining rooms which tend to be corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbey999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Zay, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Abbey999,

We are so happy that you enjoyed our hotel amenities and location for your recent trip to NYC. Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to host you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Element TImes Sq. New York. Just stayed there with my wife for 10 nights. Studied the all the Tripp reviews first. Did not encounter any of the cited troubles: elevators functioning as it should and nicely maintained, decent breakfast every day, okay business centre, competent concierge, excellent happy hour Monday through Thursday (wow), coffee and tea complementary in the rooms as well as in the lobby. Good gym. Near bus lines and subways. Nice rooms, good beds. So: recommended, indeed.

Room Tip: High up I would say with a view on the Hudson
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n_wiedenhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Zay, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear N_wiedenhof,

Thank you for taking the time to research our hotel before you booked your ten night stay! We are very happy that you chose our property and that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to host you again on a future trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I'm here now and have been since Monday. This is a Starwood property and I come to NYC monthly, with an office 4 blocks away. I was hoping that this would be my go to place. It is clean and the service is good. It has a kitchen but they comprised there by putting a small closet near the bed that is pretty cramped. The biggest issue here is very spotty internet service...which may be a deal killer :( If you need that, it might be best to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_Zay, Starwood Hotels at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Chris M,

Thank you for choosing our property for your recent trip to NYC. We are sorry that our free high speed internet was insufficient for your business needs. This is something that we seldom hear from our guests so we hope that you are able to give us another chance in the future. We would like to be your home away from home for your monthly trips to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Spent 4 days at this darling hotel in the Garment District and within 5 to 6 blocks of Time Square and all the Broadway theaters. Although very small it was perfectly clean with all the amenities (ironing board and iron, room safe, free wireless, morning breakfast and afternoon happy hour). The room has a nice desk and comfortable desk chair. Closet size kitchen with nice refrigerator and freezer, two burner stove, microwave and coffee maker. I have stayed in many areas and all levels of hotels in the city but this is a great and affordable option.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Fantastic Hotel, rooms bright and modern, kitchenette a nice surprise. During the week they have a "Happy Hour" when you can get finger food, bottled beer and minerals at no charge.
There is an Irish bar next door which serves great food.
There is a little area with desktop computers and a printer where you can print your boarding passes also at no charge.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have just stayed four night at the Element Hotel, The room was spotless, the beds are so comfortable, kitchenette is well equipped & the Bathroom is very modern, clean & has a wonderful rain shower. The location is great, so close to time square, subways & many good restaurants. I have been to new York before & this Hotel is top of my list & I would definately return, it has the added bonus of a free breakfast, not many hotels offer that!

Roof view is amazing

The staff have been most helpful & very professional

No complains from me & I'm fussy

Room Tip: Had a City View room, no noise, was on the 31st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulu557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#150 of 469 in New York City
5,712 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#178 of 469 in New York City
2,258 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#294 of 469 in New York City
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#233 of 469 in New York City
1,873 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#70 of 469 in New York City
5,343 reviews
Midtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Times Square
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#238 of 469 in New York City
1,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Element New York Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element New York Times Square West

Address: 311 West 39th Street, Between 8th and 9th, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $153 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Element New York Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element New York times square west is an eco-friendly Manhattan boutique hotel near Times Square and Broadway. Our hotel has 2 meeting rooms, complimentary breakfast, free wifi, and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Element New York Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element New York Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing