We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we could have wanted and more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Element New York Times Square West
Ranked #314 of 473 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I don't know where to start with the positive things I have to say about this hotel. I took my boyfriend to NYC as a surprise for his 30th birthday and, knowing very little about Element, I was incredibly nervous that it wouldn't live up to expectations. I was so wrong! From the minute we arrived, we were greeted by friendly, helpful staff. Check-in was effortlessly easy and we were told we had a room with a view on the 39th floor. That was an understatement. The view was outstanding. We got to wake up to the sight of the Empire State Building every morning! The room was amazing - clean with a fantastic bathroom and kitchen. The bed was huge and it immediately felt like home. We arrived on Friday and happy hour is only on Monday-Thursday but on the two days we got to experience happy hour during our trip, it was great! Beer wasn't watered down rubbish, it was corona, or wine. And there was a great selection of appetisers. The free breakfast was simple but ideal. Free tea and coffee 24/7 was also a massive bonus.
The staff were all incredibly accommodating - whenever we had questions about where to eat or the best way to get from a to b, we never felt as though we were asking too much. When we lost our key, we didn't get a sigh and a fee, we got two new keys without hassle.
Check out was just as easy as everything else. We didn't need to leave for the airport for 2 and a half hours after check out so the hotel kept our luggage safe while we enjoyed the city for a couple more hours and even booked a taxi to be waiting for us when we got back.
If I had one minor gripe (and I mean minor!) it would be the elevators. Being on the 39th floor with 3 elevators meant that we could be waiting for some time. But if I'm being completely honest, I couldn't really care less. There's no way that waiting a couple of extra minutes for an elevator would ruin my opinion of this fantastic hotel. My boyfriend and I would return again and again without hesitation. Thank you, Element, for being the perfect hotel for a memorable birthday trip!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lianne-and-Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Assistant General Manager at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi Lianne-and-Andy,

Thank you both for your recent stay and Andy, belated "30th" birthday wishes from all of us here at the Element NYTS. By your posting it sounds you had a wonderful time experiencing the amenities we had available for our guests and enjoyed them all. Good for you guys, that's the way to enjoy life, relax and restore your health. Andy, maybe you would like to return with Lianne for her next birthday celebration?- We hope so and look forward with open arms to greet you back here at the eloquent Element NYTS.

Be Well,
Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,903 - 1,909 of 4,345 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

The elevators in this hotel are a major issue. I had to wait 25 minutes one morning and 30 minutes the next morning. There is no service elevator, so you can wait forever only to find yourself squeezed into the elevator with employees taking out the trash. During our stay one of the elevators had been taken out of service for the entire day, delaying movement even more so. The rooms are nice and well appointed. The stools in our room were laden with dust. I guess they don't get used often, and they never get cleaned. It's a fine hotel. If you stay, request a room within the number of floors you are willing to walk. Otherwise, it is a clean and modern hotel with numerous amenities.

Room Tip: Get a room on a lower floor so you don't have to deal with the elevator issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

I stayed overnight on a Friday while in NYC to see the Lion King. The Hotel had all the basics and is close to the theatre district. The location was a little awkward as it is two doors down from a male review and in order to get to the theatre, we had to push our way through the crowd waiting in line.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillyburbs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Element 2/5-2/11...we liked the hotel & would stay here again. The location is good...subway entrance a 1 block away on 40th...39th is a good location, not right on 8th ave which is really busy...the staff was great...very helpful...the woman concierge during the day was really good at giving us directions for the subway & mapping our route. The room was small...we were on the 40th floor...had good views....we liked the room ....it had a little kitchen set up...refrigerator...dish washer.....stove top & microwave. we could make bacon & eggs for brkfst in the am. the hotel does have free breakfast ---cereal, juice, fruit, oatmeal...which we did ...also a business center downstairs for internet...plus free wifi in the room. the hotel was clean & pleasant. We were pleasantly surprised ...not having been here before...we would stay here again.

Room Tip: we were right across from the elevators & thought maybe it would be noisy....not at all....the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed at the element from 5th feb till 10th feb and what a fantastic hotel for the price we paid. Check-in was efficient arrived early and rooms was made available for our parties. Rooms were a great size for New York with little kitchenette as an added bonus. Big rainfall shower was lovely and warm way to start your day off after a ridiculously comfy bed which you have to pull yourself out of as loads of sights to see,one word for bed WOW.Complimentry toiletries were topped up every night. Breakfast was plentiful choice and a nice addition as not many hotels in NY do it. Location is great 10 mins walk to Times Square,15 mins walk to Empire State Building and 20-25 mins walk to Central Park so location is a massive thumbs up. Looking at previous reviews we had no problems with elevators. Mon-thurs 17.30-19.00 there was a complimentary drinks(bottled beers,wines,tea and coffee) and nibbles which was a nice touch.Tea,coffee and lime infused iced water is available 24hrs in reception. All staff were friendly,courteous and very helpful. The four of our party would have no hesitation to return to the Element.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Griffs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Element in Times Square, New York and had a fantastic experience. From checking in the staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast each morning was brilliant and even left our party of picky eaters happy! The rooms were spacious and clean, even our request for adjoining rooms was fulfilled. Monday through Thursday there is free drinks and snacks, anything from beer to wine. We had a few queries whilst we were there about what to do and see and the friendly concierge was always happy to help. Overall we had an excellent stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone. Hope to visit again soon :)

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charl0tte87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Assistant General Manager at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi Charl0tte87.

Delighted that you had a "fantastic experience; here at the Element NYTS and thank you for your positive feedback. It is always a pleasure to hear complimentary remarks about our property, staff, service and amenities we provide to our most valued guests. Look forward to seeing you again back at the Element in the future.

Be Well,
Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Best bits:

- Friendly front-desk staff - especially the lovely Millie!

- Small kitchen area in the bedroom. Great for making cups of tea and coffee and keeping snacks in the fridge

- Free breakfast - a good range of cereals, baked goods and hot breakfast rolls. Jet-lag meant I was up at the crack and beat the morning rush but if it is a little busy, just take stuff back up to your room and have it there!

- Free wifi. It still amazes me that so many hotels (are you listening, big chains?) have the cheek to charge for internet access. There was wifi throughout the hotel and also a little office area with PCs where you could print out your boarding pass.

- Location wasn't picturesque and a bit touristy for me (not a big Times Square fan) but walk a block over to 9th Ave and up towards 45th St for some great restaurants, including Five Napkin Burger, Nizza and Marseille. Oh, and if you want a cooked diner breakfast, try the Galaxy Diner near these places for a cheap, authentic NY experience.

- Big, comfy bed. Not sure what the 'Heavenly One' is like which folk keep referring to here, but this was comfortable, warm and enormous.

- We stayed for seven days - we were both working in NYC - and the hotel was very good value when I booked through Booking.com - around £750 for seven days. Almost unheard of in Manhattan.

Could do better:

- The shower ran lukewarm a couple of mornings in a row. We were told to let it run for 10 to 20 minutes to see if it got hotter - not great for the hotel's 'green' credentials. It still wasn't hot and it was then suggested that around 8am was just a busy period. Again, for a busy hotel this really shouldn't be an issue. Interestingly, we overheard other guests complaining about the shower's water temperature and they were told that this kind of complaint was very rare. (Mmmm....)

- The initial room we were offered had the TV on a kind of sideboard at right-angles to the bed. Not very practical so we asked to move and got a slightly better room. Don't be afraid to ask to change, if you're not happy.

Room Tip: There are less than ten rooms on each floor with several either next to or adjoining the elevator. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliet83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn W, Assistant General Manager at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Juliet83,

Thank you so much for your recent seven day stay with us here at the Element and all your kind remarks about our property and friendly front-desk staff, "especially the lovely Millie!"- I shared your TripAdvisor posting with the team and we sincerely tell you, "Thanks."-Happy that you were able to utilize our free Wi-Fi throughout the property and enjoy our complimentary breakfast and "Happy Hour." We apologize about the lukewarm water situation you experienced a couple of days in the morning hours and the positioning of your room television. Delighted that we were able to resolve the problem to your satisfaction immediately and didn't cause any further inconvenience during your stay with us.-Thank you again for selecting the Element NYTS as your hotel of choice in Manhattan and please come back and see us soon.

Be Well,
Lynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#156 of 473 in New York City
5,872 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#184 of 473 in New York City
2,316 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#290 of 473 in New York City
2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#224 of 473 in New York City
1,911 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City
Distrikt Hotel New York City
#66 of 473 in New York City
5,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Element New York Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element New York Times Square West

Address: 311 West 39th Street, Between 8th and 9th, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $139 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Element New York Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element New York times square west is an eco-friendly Manhattan boutique hotel near Times Square and Broadway. Our hotel has 2 meeting rooms, complimentary breakfast, free wifi, and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Element New York Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element New York Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing