We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Element New York Times Square West
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$184
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$389
$314
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$165
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$235
$219
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$187
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$354
$203
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$283
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,438)
Filter reviews
4,440 results
Traveler rating
1,605
1,823
577
257
178
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,605
1,823
577
257
178
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree breakfasttimes squarefull size fridgebagelsnew yorkport authoritystove topfree happy hourmini kitchenevening receptionsmall kitchenettelower floorrooftop terracepenn stationthe breakfast areacoffee makerhell's kitchen
Filter
Updating list...
2,131 - 2,136 of 4,440 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here for business in September, and was not impressed. At first I thought I had walked into a hostel, not a hotel. 3 tiny elevators service the entire hotel, AC wasn't working, ect... This doesn't live up to what I expect from Starwood. I've stayed at other Element hotels in other cities that were much better kept and run.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean_0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Having stayed in many hotels around the world and knowing New York to be expensive, the Element was a delight. Great breakfast considering, staff friendly and efficient, rooms clean and tidy plus the added benefit of "happy hour" What a bonus. Only negative, lifts are a pain, very slow unless on floor 1.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank Johngittings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Six of us stayed at the Element from September 19th to 22nd. From the front desk staff to the concierge to the doorman we couldn't have been treated better. Our rooms were great and extremely clean. The hotel was full but the wait for the elevator was really minimal. For those who complained about how busy breakfast and cocktail hour were they should remember this is free and where would you find this offered in another hotel plus the food was good. We used the roof top patio every night. Quiet and relaxing after a day's sightseeing. I wouldn't walk around at night alone on this street but probably wouldn't on most New York streets. I would recommend that you get the hotel to book your transportation to and from the airport. We took Go Airlink from JFK and it was a nightmare but the hotel arranged a private SUV to take us back to the airport for the same money. We all would strongly recommend the Element for a girls trip away to NYC.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet6365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, Guest Relations Manager at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

janet6365-

Thank you so much on your recent comments. We hope to see you back soon.


All the best,
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Element Hotel for four nights from the 13th September. In all a pleasant stay, the room was clean with a nice shower and a well equipped kitchenette. We had a room on the 33rd floor with a view of the Empire State building. However, the lifts were not really adequate, especially at busy times in the morning, and on several occasions we had to wait several minutes as lifts seemed to pass by our floor. My advice would be, if you're on one of the upper floors to press both up and down buttons and get in the first lift that stops. Also I found the air conditioner to be a bit noisy and had to switch it off to get to sleep on a couple of occasions.

The breakfast is self service consisting of hot food usually in the form of a roll or wrap, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, pastries and the usual coffee and juice. However, the breakfast room is usually completely full, which meant we had to eat in the lobby or take food back to the room.

The Wi-Fi Is free and worked fine. However beware the cost of phone calls. My partner's mobile phone wasn't enabled for international roaming so we debated whether to use the hotel phone to call back to the UK. After seeing a list of prices in the room quoting $2.50 /minute with $0.50 dollar connection fee for international calls we made a 5 minute phone call to the UK. However when we checked out, we were presented with a bill for nearly $100 for the call. That's nearly $25 a minute. The manager argued that the extra costs are charged by the phone company and that they do not have any control over them. We found his attitude to be very patronising, "My advice would be don't use the phone in a hotel". Well my advice would be to advertise the true cost of phone calls.

To summarise, we had a very enjoyable stay in New York, and at the Element hotel, slightly spoilt by the excessive phone charges and attitude of the manager. Hence the 2/5.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LLJ88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

4 nights on a return visit to NY, room clean but had noisy air con and road noise.
We were on low floor facing road.
Previous reviews mention the time of the lifts, one of the benefits of a low floor we took the stairs especially after one of the lifts broke down during our stay. Staff reassured and quickly released the occupants.
3 out of 4 mornings had little hot water to our shower.
Very busy lobby,happy hour and breakfast a battle.
I think I was spoiled by the peace and calm of our hotel last year, Casablanca. Number one for a reason.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor to help with noise
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacpte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, Guest Relations Manager at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Jacandpete-

We appreciate your recent review on your experience at the Element Hotel. We do except all feedback good and bad to assure exceptional service for all guests. Should you ever find yourself planning to come back to NYC please reach out directly to me and I will take care of you personally.

All the best,

Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews