We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 night stay by Ozzie couple” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Element New York Times Square West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Element New York Times Square West
Ranked #250 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“4 night stay by Ozzie couple”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

4 nights on a return visit to NY, room clean but had noisy air con and road noise.
We were on low floor facing road.
Previous reviews mention the time of the lifts, one of the benefits of a low floor we took the stairs especially after one of the lifts broke down during our stay. Staff reassured and quickly released the occupants.
3 out of 4 mornings had little hot water to our shower.
Very busy lobby,happy hour and breakfast a battle.
I think I was spoiled by the peace and calm of our hotel last year, Casablanca. Number one for a reason.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor to help with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacpte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, Guest Relations Manager at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Jacandpete-

We appreciate your recent review on your experience at the Element Hotel. We do except all feedback good and bad to assure exceptional service for all guests. Should you ever find yourself planning to come back to NYC please reach out directly to me and I will take care of you personally.

All the best,

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,491
    1,607
    458
    184
    115
See reviews for
859
1,573
218
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I think the key factor for any hotel is the comfort of the bed itself - many of the other amenities are nice but assuming you're out for most of the day, the bed is the deciding factor! Luckily, the Element has very comfortable beds with extra pillow that is hard to find anywhere else

The free breakfast and happy hour are also bonus perks if you're on a budget. While hotels in New York can be pricey, sometimes you can get a great rate here if you do the last minute deal (pre-paid).

One word of caution - if you're taking the elevator in the morning during breakfast (8 to 9 "ish"), it can take forever to catch a ride on an elevator. If you're in the lower to middle floors, you'll likely be faced with every elevator door opening to a very full crowd - if you're up for it, I would recommend just taking the stairs down as it will be MUCH faster. If you can't take the stairs, press "up" on the elevator to catch a ride up first and then come down to reserve a place :)

Although the hotel name has "Time Square" in it, it's not directly on time square - it's only a few blocks away but if you're looking to be right on the square, would recommend looking to another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canuckaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, Guest Relations Manager at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
canuckaye-

We are certainly glad you enjoyed your stay with us and best of all found our Westin Heavenly beds comfortable. Thank you so much for leaving a review on Tripadvisor.


We hope to see you back soon.

Best,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

My review might be tougher were I not staying at this property on Starwood points.

The strong points of this property includes its location, especially as it relates to multiple subway lines. While not in the best neighborhood, it does provide a good "base" location for tourists. The rooms are also clean - a perception which is enhanced by its room design and furnishings. The RESTORE is also handy on the way back from dinner or drinks on the way to bed. The options are broader than I would have expected. I was also provided with a room on the 38th floor with a nice view, especially for someone paying with points. In essence the room and the location are top notch. Wi-Fi is free and a solid B+ for connectivity. I have stayed in 1000 dollar a night hotels with worse.

The points for improvement - and there is a LOT of room for improvement in these areas - focus on the hotel's public spaces. First and foremost, this hotel has a MAJOR elevator issues. With eight units on each of the hotel's 40 floors, it amazes me that only 3 elevators service the building. In fact, all housekeeping personnel use the same elevators as the guests. Between 830-900 AM, prime time for guest use, the maids all get in the elevators with the guests at the same time, further congesting an already overused system. Plan 10 minutes to every ride up and down. Be prepared to catch an elevator going up in order to get down to the lobby. Its war in the elevators and not a good way to start or end a day. The lobby is intense, even for NYC standards. Too many people trying to get a free breakfast all at the same time and its bad throughout the day. Its a lobby for action, not one to transition from the hustle and bustle of the city to your room. In fact, the street outside is often quieter than the lobby. Its anything but calming. The irony is not lost on me that this hotel is the closest hotel in America to the New York Times building yet the only newspapers they offer are USA Today and the Wall Street Journal. Very odd. The starbucks across the street sells the NYT - and a much better cup of coffee. Finally, I attempted to charge an item from the RESTORE to my room and the "concerige" - Melko (sp?) - informed me she was the concierge and I would need to go to the front desk for that. I guess team play is not on her list of attributes on LinkedIn. The staff attitudes were mixed - some good and some not - with Melko being the poster child for the latter.

In summary, if you travel light, by yourself, and just need a "base of operations" in NYC, this self-serve, well located hotel will serve your purposes. If you value the calm a hotel lobby can provide and doting staff, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing north. The views are good for the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithAHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I won a two night stay here from a Ticketmaster/Facebook promo. The hotel worked out really good for our needs. The rooms were ultra clean and very modern. The location was great too a quick walk to TS but keeps you away from most of the crowds. Port Authority is right around the corner for the subway. The free breakfast was good too, much more choices than a normal continental breakfast. Make sure to visit the rooftop patio. What a beautiful view of the city. The staff were also very freindly. I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glasgowcelticgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, Guest Relations Manager at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
glasgowcelticgirl,


Thank you so much on your recent comment. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Element. We hope to see you back in the near future.


All the best,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for one night before going on a cruise to Quebec.It looked like it had just been refurbished, everything was right andnew. The reception staff were very helpful and always cheerful and if they did notknow theanswer they always found out. It is only a couple of blocks from times square and broadway just a bit further away but we walked to see the Chicago show which was also very good.
I would have no hesitation to stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROGLANDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, Guest Relations Manager at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello ROGLANDER,


Thank you for sharing with the WORLD your recent Element experience. We hope to see you back soon.


Best,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
telford
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay at the Element and would definitely recommend and stay again. Room was spotless and with a great view. Staff were friendly and attentive, dealing promptly with a couple of enquiries. Breakfast can get busy so recommend getting down there well before 8. Great location just 10 minutes walk to Times Square and with decent bars and eateries within walking distance. Well worth a visit.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank harveydo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, Guest Relations Manager at Element New York Times Square West, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
harveydo,


Thank you on your recent review on Tripadvisor. We do hope to see you back soon!


Best,
Michelle C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel is simply fantastic. Great location, clean rooms, comfortable bed and very helpful staff. I had a very nice view of New York from my room.I can reccomend this hotel to everyone going to New York. Good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinSegal66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#133 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,398 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown - Times Square
Four Points by Sheraton Midtown ...
#173 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Midtown
Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square
Candlewood Suites New York City ...
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,774 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#265 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Midtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton New York/Midtown Manhattan Times Square-South, NY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Element New York Times Square West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Element New York Times Square West

Property: Element New York Times Square West
Address: 311 West 39th Street, Between 8th and 9th, New York City, NY 10018-1401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Green Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Element New York Times Square West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 411
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Element New York times square west is an eco-friendly Manhattan boutique hotel near Times Square and Broadway. Our hotel has 2 meeting rooms, complimentary breakfast, free wifi, and a fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Element New York Times Square West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Element New York Times Square West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing