We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience New York City Urban Adventures
from $79.00
More Info
from $40.00
More Info
from $79.00
More Info
from $79.00
More Info
Reviews (1,673)
Filter reviews
1,673 results
Traveler rating
1,568
79
7
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,568
79
7
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cocktail tour lower east side brian hoffman walking tour great tour our tour guide knish brownstone brooklyn east village bites tour new york food and culture tour midtown sights dumplings arthur avenue food tasting food stops
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 1,673 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friends and I couldn't get tickets for the musical and chose this tour instead. We were so pleased we did!! We got to learn so much about US history through the Hamilton's amazing life. Greg was an outstanding guide, very well informed, fun, caring, very effective in bringing to live this unique character in the most hummane way. We loved the whole experience, which ended at historic Fraunces Tavern for Happy Hour. Simply the best!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Sandrafny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Thank you Josh for a fun and informative tour of Midtown. This was my 4th time to NYC & I really wish I had done this before. Loved the small group, the local eats and historical buildings you walk by but never go in!! So interesting! I will definitely take another Urban Adventure in NYC and any other major city I visit as it a great way to get a local's perspective on the destination. Excellent!!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank plaintalktravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Start with the good:
Guide was good. History of immigrants was interesting.

And now the food:

1) Cookie from the tour guide backpack, not bad, not good. Kind of pointless. Why not stop at a bakery?

2) We had dumpling in chinatown, they were really tasty. Would recommend going here and skipping the tour. This is the place

3) Oldest Italian cheese shop in NY. Parmesan cheese balls, warmed in the microwave, they were not good.

4) Knishery = mashed baked potato with some mild spices. Not good.

5) Pretzel at a german pub. Pretzel was good. But you can get them everywhere. You can buy drinks if you want.

Felt like they did select the cheapest options for every stop. Total "food budget" per person was probably around 10$ for all stops.

We have been on many food tours in many cities this was by far the worst of them all.

But the food in the Lower east side area in NY is amazing. Amazing!
And we had a blast staying in this area.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank VazuG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nycurbanadventures, Manager at New York City Urban Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the feedback on your tour experience. We try to tell the immigrant story through food while also showing that you do not have to spend a lot of money to try many different cuisines in NYC. We bring our guests to these mom and pop shops to support them, because that's part of our mission.

We would love to offer you a discount on a different tour in the hopes you'll see what else we have to offer and to make up for what you found was lacking. Kindly call our office at 347-878-8444 so we can arrange it.

The Team at NYC Urban Adventures

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Go on a walk into the past with Brian and Urban Adventures in the East Village New York City to discover its prohibition history, secret bars and modern cocktail delights.

Brian is a genuine and entertaining host guide with a pocket full of fun facts and interesting stories. He is well prepared and a good story teller. Then of course there are the cocktails en route to make it the walking tour with the edge.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank 589jang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fun filled, very entertaining and informative. Brian our guide was very knowledgeable and very friendly. The alcohol laced cupcakes were a great little touch! Loved the tour and highly recommend it.

Thank HelieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews