We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful three night stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Ranked #177 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful three night stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The location of this hotel was wonderful! There were so many great restaurants just a five or ten minute walk away! The subway was across the street! We asked for a room on an upper floor and got the19th floor with a great view of the Empire State Bulding, Chrysler Building and mid town. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Not large, but there was everything we needed, including a small fridge and coffee machine. The staff was excellent

Room Tip: Opt for city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas P, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your recent comments about our SoHo hotel. I agree the local options for dining and entertainment are great in this wonderful NYC location. We hope you can visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Pappagallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    190
    41
    7
    3
See reviews for
128
147
23
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Do not expect a lot of room to move around but it is adequate. TV, refrigerator, new shower makes it comfortable. Staff is nice. Do not bother to take the breakfast option, it is disappointing. Dunkin Donuts is right next door and has a well rounded breakfast menu.

Room Tip: We were on the 19th floor and street noises were still prominent but it is NYC. This hotel is in Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas P, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the SoHo Courtyard Marriott. I will be sure to share your feedback with my team as we are always looking for ways to improve. We hope you can visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Pappagallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Right in the middle of everything. 20 min walk to Ground Zero. 5 min. walk to the Village. Very clean and with updated decors. Helpfull staff. Starbuck ind the lobby - I love it. Super sleep quality and with restaurants and shopping all around you. You can´t go wrong here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanishTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlie A, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo was enjoyable.
Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

As a first time visitor to New York, I decided to arrive without a hotel booking, opting a good walk around before booking in. I was on my way to New Hampshire having finished a conference in Washington D.C. In D.C. I stayed at a Marriot hotel and was impressed with their service, and after walking around in NY for a few hours decided that I would try the above mentioned hotel. Obviously it seemed extremely expensive from a South African perspective, but after having a chat to the staff, we got to an agreed rate, and I booked a room. Due to its location, I enjoyed the walks up and down small side streets, getting the sound and smell of New York. The subway is located across the street so after havi9ng walked most of the night I took the subway to 42 street avenue to enjoyi the city that never sleeps!

To the staff at the Mariott, thanks for making my first stay in New York such a memorable experience!

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Laubscher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlie A, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We strive to make every stay a memorable one and knowing that we were able to do so for you during your recent stay makes us thrilled. I would have to agree with you, the location is very convenient for many things, dining, shopping and even transportation! Thank you for the wonderful comment and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

What made this stay nice was the friendly staff. One in particular went way beyond the call of duty and manged to get us a room as an early check-in and then helped us find a metered parking space and actually went and fed the meter for us for a period of 3-hours until we left for a meeting.

The rooms are all fresh and updated if not small, but hey good price good location in SoHo. I would recommend it as a good launch pad for touring NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Varick Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iacxred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlie A, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I can't wait to share your response with our staff. I am please to see you were able to enjoy the service our staff is so great at giving and we look forward to serving you again during your next visit to NYC. Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was my second stay at this property and once again, I arrived and left smiling. The staff is incredibly friendly (you can tell they truly enjoy working together). The rooms were clean. Bed comfortable. The location is just perfect for anyone that likes wandering around SOHO and the Village ---- so many great bars, restaurants and shops. Not to mention fun people watching. I emailed the general manager the day before asking for early arrival and they were able to accommodate. It's also reasonably priced compared to other NYC hotels, and I'd certainly rather spend my money on fun things to do in NYC rather than on a fancy, frilly room.

Room Tip: We stayed on a high floor and couldn't hear any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MG_IslandHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashlie A, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We appreciate your response and are excited to see that you enjoyed your stay. SoHo is such a lovely area with so much to do and when you visit again if you need any recommendations please let us know as we would be happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
284 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

It was a pleasure to visit this Marriott location. Kudos to the reception personnel. They were friendly, accommodating, and they made me feel welcome, not just another guest. The room was comfortable, clean, and everything worked. I'd stay again when visiting this area of Manhattan.

Room Tip: 207, the handicap suite was a bit tight in the bedroom, but with a bedroom and a "living room&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KVM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas P, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on our SoHo hotel. Our staff prides itself on providing great service, I will be sure to share this with them. We hope to have you back soon.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Pappagallo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#322 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 827 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#180 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#176 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#112 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel Hugo
Hotel Hugo
#229 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#269 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Address: 181 Varick St, New York City, NY 10014-4602
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Business Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore a great lower Manhattan hotel in SoHo, convenient to New York University and the West Village. At the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo Hotel, you'll find a lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, easy access to the latest news, weather and airport info via the GoBoard, and Table 181 SoHo Cafe offering healthy breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee beverage options. Our guest rooms feature contemporary, modern design, plush bedding, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms even offer views of the Statue of Liberty and NYC's beautiful skyline. The Courtyard SoHo Hotel is near Greenwich Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and Canal Street, 10 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 12 miles from Newark Airport. We offer a well-equipped fitness center; a 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing area. Houston St. And Spring Street metro stations are also nearby. Your stay at our Courtyard SoHo NY hotel will be comfortable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing