We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Ranked #197 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Great stay at the Courtyard Soho. Effortless check-in, room was just as we expected: plenty of room by NYC standards, comfy bed, spotless bathroom. Location was perfect for us as our daughter lives just around the corner. We will definitely return!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank SHC-MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the overall location. Thank you for selecting the Courtyard by Marriott, Manhattan/SoHo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 569 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

We had a lovely stay. We spent a week here and set out in the morning for sightseeing and did not return until time for bed. There are subway stations close by, one just 1/2 a block away. The bed was very comfortable. The West Village is close by and there are a few casual eateries within a block radius. We did not try out the hotel restaurant. The front desk staff were pleasant and eager to help. Our room was next to the elevator, however we heard no noise from it nor other guests. There was some street noise, especially on a Sat. night, so a slight rating ding for that. I would stay here again, given I could get a similar Priceline Express Deal on the room rate, as I did for this stay.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Noodlie066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your week long stay with us here at the Courtyard by Marriott, Manhattan/SoHo. We hope when your travels bring you back to New York City that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back. Please feel free to contact the Hotel prior to your next stay and we can assist with your room preferences. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I had the most amazing weekend of my life at the Courtyard Marriott SOHO. My boyfriend of 5 years proposed to me in room 1905 with amazing views and ambiance. The entire hotel was in on it and it was absolutely amazing. The location, the views, the people, the food. All amazing and very reasonably priced. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and was very impressed. I am a Platinum Marriott rewards member and have stayed at my fair share of Courtyards, this one surpasses them all.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade, the views from the top floors are amazing and totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review and congratulations! The Team truly enjoyed assisting in this amazing time in your life and I am so happy hear you enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you back soon. Congratulations again from all of us here at the Courtyard by Marriott, Manhattan/SoHo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The room was tiny but clean. The check in clerk was in a bad mood - kept telling my husband to calm down when he asked a question and he wasn't even raising his voice. The location is just OK for us as we tend to spend most of our time in the Midtown and East Side but we wanted to try this location. It's very safe and easy to get around from here. If you want to spend time in lower Manhattan this is a good location. The hotel room was too small for us.

Room Tip: We were on the alley side which is better if you don't like the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesliebauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Hello and thank you for your recent review. I am happy to hear that you found the Hotel to be clean and safe. On behalf of my Team, I would like to extend my sincere apology for your arrival experience. Providing a warm and friendly experience is a primary goal of our Hotel and I was very dissapointed to see that this was not the case with you. As a part of our continuous improvement methods, I have taken the opportunity to share this review with my Team in an effort to prevent this from recurring and thank you for your honest feedback so we can improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

I stayed here in November with two friends for a girls weekend. Two shared the king-sized bed and another was on the pull-out couch. Though the pull-out was not the most comfortable, the room was large enough to accommodate all three of us and our luggage. The hotel was very clean and in a perfect location with the 1 right outside. We were able to walk to great restaurants and shops in all locations. The area of the hotel is very safe at night as well. The only suggestion I have is that you get a room at the back of the hotel. We stayed on the fifth floor facing Varick. Great people watching but we were kept up all night by the nightclub nearby and the street traffic and voices. I would definitely stay here again but choose my room location better.

Room Tip: Stay in the back of the hotel away from Varick street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Hello and thank you for your review! I am delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and the location of the Hotel! Feel free to contact me prior to your next stay and it would be my pleasure to assist you personally with your room location requests! We look forward to serving you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Me and fiancé stayed at the courtyard over the thanks giving holidays. It was a great location to get around close to the subway to get anywhere you needed, but tucked away enough to be out of the hustle and bustle!!

The hotel was ideal for us who were there to sightsee. The room was plenty big enough with a great comfy bed. The staff were so polite an couldn't do enough for us.

Would definitely recommend to friends or family!!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for your review and for staying with us! It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and the overall Hotel. We hope to welcome you and your fiance back when your travels bring you back to NYC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Couldn't say more about the hotel and it's service. Grocery near by-coffee-McDonalds if you must. But so much great food!! I like the SoHo area of Manhattan so I could not ask for more. Subway on the corner!! Yoga near-by if that's an interest.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank TravelBunny91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martina S, General Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay including location and service! We hope to welcome you back when you return to NYC. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#317 of 469 in New York City
959 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel Hugo
Hotel Hugo
#210 of 469 in New York City
1,352 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#304 of 469 in New York City
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#111 of 469 in New York City
891 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#140 of 469 in New York City
1,470 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#168 of 469 in New York City
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo

Address: 181 Varick St, New York City, NY 10014-4602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#116 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $199 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore a great lower Manhattan hotel in SoHo, convenient to New York University and the West Village. At the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo Hotel, you'll find a lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, easy access to the latest news, weather and airport info via the GoBoard, and Table 181 SoHo Cafe offering healthy breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee beverage options. Our guest rooms feature contemporary, modern design, plush bedding, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms even offer views of the Statue of Liberty and NYC's beautiful skyline. The Courtyard SoHo Hotel is near Greenwich Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and Canal Street, 10 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 12 miles from Newark Airport. We offer a well-equipped fitness center; a 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing area. Houston St. And Spring Street metro stations are also nearby. Your stay at our Courtyard SoHo NY hotel will be comfortable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing