We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Ranked #183 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Endicott, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Acceptable but not great”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was acceptable; basic and serviceable accomodations. Overall it was clean, but the carpet was stained and the bathroom tile needed re-grouting. Disappointing that the bar was not open in the afternoon and our room was not ready for an early check-in as requested. Close proximity to the #1 subway stations was excellent.

Room Tip: Double - double is the only two-bed option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    219
    44
    7
    4
See reviews for
141
164
27
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
477 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Was not expecting such a comfortable oasis on SOHO. We were greated by the front desk staff, made to feel welcome and they fixed the error in our reservation promptly. Close to the subway, many great restaurants down Spring Sr walking distance from the hotel. Very comfortable room, clean, and functional. The lobby is a great place to relax, get coffee, something to eat or sit and read. Liked it enough to return someday.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Reasonably priced hotel on Varick street convenient to shopping, restaurants, and subway. Nice room with fridge, tv, safe and very comfortable bedding. King bed with ample room size for NYC. Helpful, friendly staff that make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Coming down the street, there was trash in some spots swirling around, but surprisingly not in front of the Courtyard. The entrance was very clean. I like how the door automatically slides open since most business traveler's hands are full. This is the first hotel I've stayed at with only 4-5 rooms on each floor. I was on a very high floor, but no view to speak of so it didn't matter. I think I was looking at the A/C unit on the roof of the neighboring building. The room was very small. I needed to constantly adjust the desk chair and move my stuff around to make room. The decor was very modern. The breakfast was ok. Pre-cooked and the staff heats it up. But the coffee decent. Mostly, after a long day, there's plenty of night life, shops and restaurants. The hotel sells beer and wine as well so one can relax without pounding more pavement.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights on a combined business trip/family get away. I reserved a double double room through my Marriott account. I am a platinum elite member approaching 100 stays this year. I arrived to a room the size of a shoe box who's "separate sitting area" was a chair at the end of the bed. I could literally put one foot on the bed and one foot on the door. I'm no newbie to the Marriott brand or New York for that matter. I checked my reservation and started looking at other options to stay elsewhere. Imagine my surprise when the rates I had just booked 2 weeks prior were now 100.00 lower a night. Even in NYC 379.00 a night for such a tiny room billed as a double double is questionable. So lets be clear- the rooms here are much smaller than other marriott hotels in the city. I went to the lobby to discuss the rate. Maybe it was late at night, maybe I was annoying, but when an extremely loyal customer points out she did not get the best rate- just give it to her. Don't imply that she should be checking every day to see if it goes up and down- not exactly confidence inspiring as to the best rate guarentee. To their credit, they did give it to me. But did not offer to move me to a new room- until I elevated it the next day to the manager on staff. He was very polite, very helpful and gave us a room that wasn't tons bigger but much better configured. And was very nice about it to boot. - the room is clean - beds ok- not as comfy as Marriott or JW. Virtually no amenities - but it is a Courtyard - not a full service Marriott. No doubt this is a great location - subway just steps away, Soho, the Village- restaurants, bars, wine bars. Loved that. Skip the coffee/beer/snacks bar in the lobby, I was charged almost double for a latte that was only filled 2/3 full. And it took 5 minutes to correct the overcharge - I in fact had to point it out. How does that happen? While I loved the area, there wasn't much about this place that would compel me to return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lawdogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel exterior doesn't look very inviting but inside it is smart and modern. The room size was adequate, very clean with a good bathroom, plenty of towels and toiletries. It's around the corner from the subway and within walking distance to lots of bars, restaurants and shops. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Longhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I recently returned from a trip to NYC with 5 other college women friends (1972 graduates).We try to visit different cities every year! I am originally from NYC and chose this hotel for the group because of the location. The hotel was great. The subway line is directly across the street. You can be in Times Square in 10 minutes. It is also within walking distance to all of the Soho shops, Greenwich Village, NYU and close to Little Italy.I just love the area.The rooms are a decent size and extremely clean. The staff is wonderful. Thank you to Martina for the welcome e-mail, Maritza, Russell, Ron, Julio and Angel at the front desk for all of their help and to Gregory(Denzel) in the restaurant. They were so friendly and helpful especially during the rain storm. We had a great time! This hotel will definitely be my choice hotel when in the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#333 of 468 in New York City
913 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel Hugo
Hotel Hugo
#224 of 468 in New York City
1,200 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#148 of 468 in New York City
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#298 of 468 in New York City
1,657 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#111 of 468 in New York City
582 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#185 of 468 in New York City
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Address: 181 Varick St, New York City, NY 10014-4602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
#118 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore a great lower Manhattan hotel in SoHo, convenient to New York University and the West Village. At the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo Hotel, you'll find a lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, easy access to the latest news, weather and airport info via the GoBoard, and Table 181 SoHo Cafe offering healthy breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee beverage options. Our guest rooms feature contemporary, modern design, plush bedding, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms even offer views of the Statue of Liberty and NYC's beautiful skyline. The Courtyard SoHo Hotel is near Greenwich Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and Canal Street, 10 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 12 miles from Newark Airport. We offer a well-equipped fitness center; a 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing area. Houston St. And Spring Street metro stations are also nearby. Your stay at our Courtyard SoHo NY hotel will be comfortable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing