We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, helpful staff, convenient location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Ranked #231 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel, helpful staff, convenient location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Reasonably priced hotel on Varick street convenient to shopping, restaurants, and subway. Nice room with fridge, tv, safe and very comfortable bedding. King bed with ample room size for NYC. Helpful, friendly staff that make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    209
    44
    7
    4
See reviews for
134
157
26
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Coming down the street, there was trash in some spots swirling around, but surprisingly not in front of the Courtyard. The entrance was very clean. I like how the door automatically slides open since most business traveler's hands are full. This is the first hotel I've stayed at with only 4-5 rooms on each floor. I was on a very high floor, but no view to speak of so it didn't matter. I think I was looking at the A/C unit on the roof of the neighboring building. The room was very small. I needed to constantly adjust the desk chair and move my stuff around to make room. The decor was very modern. The breakfast was ok. Pre-cooked and the staff heats it up. But the coffee decent. Mostly, after a long day, there's plenty of night life, shops and restaurants. The hotel sells beer and wine as well so one can relax without pounding more pavement.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights on a combined business trip/family get away. I reserved a double double room through my Marriott account. I am a platinum elite member approaching 100 stays this year. I arrived to a room the size of a shoe box who's "separate sitting area" was a chair at the end of the bed. I could literally put one foot on the bed and one foot on the door. I'm no newbie to the Marriott brand or New York for that matter. I checked my reservation and started looking at other options to stay elsewhere. Imagine my surprise when the rates I had just booked 2 weeks prior were now 100.00 lower a night. Even in NYC 379.00 a night for such a tiny room billed as a double double is questionable. So lets be clear- the rooms here are much smaller than other marriott hotels in the city. I went to the lobby to discuss the rate. Maybe it was late at night, maybe I was annoying, but when an extremely loyal customer points out she did not get the best rate- just give it to her. Don't imply that she should be checking every day to see if it goes up and down- not exactly confidence inspiring as to the best rate guarentee. To their credit, they did give it to me. But did not offer to move me to a new room- until I elevated it the next day to the manager on staff. He was very polite, very helpful and gave us a room that wasn't tons bigger but much better configured. And was very nice about it to boot. - the room is clean - beds ok- not as comfy as Marriott or JW. Virtually no amenities - but it is a Courtyard - not a full service Marriott. No doubt this is a great location - subway just steps away, Soho, the Village- restaurants, bars, wine bars. Loved that. Skip the coffee/beer/snacks bar in the lobby, I was charged almost double for a latte that was only filled 2/3 full. And it took 5 minutes to correct the overcharge - I in fact had to point it out. How does that happen? While I loved the area, there wasn't much about this place that would compel me to return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lawdogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel exterior doesn't look very inviting but inside it is smart and modern. The room size was adequate, very clean with a good bathroom, plenty of towels and toiletries. It's around the corner from the subway and within walking distance to lots of bars, restaurants and shops. Would stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Longhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I recently returned from a trip to NYC with 5 other college women friends (1972 graduates).We try to visit different cities every year! I am originally from NYC and chose this hotel for the group because of the location. The hotel was great. The subway line is directly across the street. You can be in Times Square in 10 minutes. It is also within walking distance to all of the Soho shops, Greenwich Village, NYU and close to Little Italy.I just love the area.The rooms are a decent size and extremely clean. The staff is wonderful. Thank you to Martina for the welcome e-mail, Maritza, Russell, Ron, Julio and Angel at the front desk for all of their help and to Gregory(Denzel) in the restaurant. They were so friendly and helpful especially during the rain storm. We had a great time! This hotel will definitely be my choice hotel when in the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The room itself is a good size for new york and the bed comfortable and room clean. We were staying for 2 nights and our friends the same in another room. I picked it due to its great trip advisor scores and our friends moved from a tiimes square hotel to be in the same one. Do not take room 1207. Unfortunately on arriving we had to call to say the room smelt of damp/wet dogs and could something be done. Housekeeping arrived with a spray and asked if he should do it or do it ourselves - so I spent 5 minutes spraying the carpet. At 7am I got up in a dark room and as I walked in the bathroom found my foot covered in water, quite a shock to be stood in water unexpectedly. We had a flood that was coming over the lip onto the bedroom carpet, covered the entire bathroom and was dripping from the toilet. We had to throw clothes on without a shower when not ready to get up and move our cases away from getting wet. Maintenance arrived with lots of towels to dry the floor. we went to reception and said we would get breakfast while they sort it. We returned to find fans in the room to dry out the carpet. So we could now shower. We told reception this was not good enough and were advised that the manager was being contacted. We never heard anything from the manager or reception and never once hear an apology. My husband spoke to reception who were surprised nobody had spoken to us and guess what - still no apology. Terrible service from marriott hotels, we didn't exactly want any compensation but moving to another room would have been good or an apology - instead they accepted that I would write a negative review on trip advisor as we left!! Keep away from 1207.

Room Tip: Do not take 1207. Our friends were in 1102 and that was ok but street noise kept them awake
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigger32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel and once again I was impressed. The previous stay here was during hurricane Sandy and I couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel, especially the staff.

The entire staff was once again very welcoming and some even remembered me from the "Sandy" stay. When coming or going from the hotel I was always greeted with a "welcome home" or "have a great day". One morning I was told I would need an umbrella as I was walking out the door and then offered one as a courtesy, all without asking – a nice touch in my opinion. Also, I was given a room with a really nice view of the Empire State building which was quite nice.

When my travel plans take me to manhattan, I have no doubt I will be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Upper floors on the street side have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#344 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#164 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#293 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#112 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel Hugo
Hotel Hugo
#219 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
SIXTY SoHo
#69 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Address: 181 Varick St, New York City, NY 10014-4602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#119 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore a great lower Manhattan hotel in SoHo, convenient to New York University and the West Village. At the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo Hotel, you'll find a lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, easy access to the latest news, weather and airport info via the GoBoard, and Table 181 SoHo Cafe offering healthy breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee beverage options. Our guest rooms feature contemporary, modern design, plush bedding, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms even offer views of the Statue of Liberty and NYC's beautiful skyline. The Courtyard SoHo Hotel is near Greenwich Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and Canal Street, 10 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 12 miles from Newark Airport. We offer a well-equipped fitness center; a 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing area. Houston St. And Spring Street metro stations are also nearby. Your stay at our Courtyard SoHo NY hotel will be comfortable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing