We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to our heart!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Ranked #185 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our daughter lives in the west village, so on a visit for Thanksgiving, we wanted to stay as close to her as possible. The Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho fit the bill ... & better than ever expected. The staff was amazing, helping with our luggage, putting us in a room with a wonderful view, and ready to answer all our questions ... & offer valet parking for those of us crazy enough to drive into the city. The rooms are cozy & contemporary with very nice bathrooms. The location is perfect for anyone visiting anywhere in Manhattan ... great for walking and close to the subway ... & best for us, very close to our "heart."

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dkshafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 572 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

My daughter and I go to NYC every year after New Years. This is the first time we've stayed at this hotel and we were extremely pleased. The staff at this hotel is first rate. I saw that someone else mention the barista at the Starbucks. When I would order lattes for my daughter and me, the barista would put it in a carrier and walk it to where I was sitting. The little touches mean a lot. On another occasion, I walked into the elevator where a nice man was cleaning. He apologized but then asked me how my stay was and said that if I needed anything at all to just ask at the front desk, they would be happy to help. The hotel itself was clean and in a very good location. The view from my room was one terrific. All and all, this was one of the best trips that we had.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the street can be noisy but the view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband, stepson and I went on a quick pre-Christmas trip to NYC. It was my 10 year old stepson's first trip to New York, and this was a great place to stay. The subway stop is literally across the street, and it's just a short walk into the heart of Soho. We found it to be a wonderful base for our trip. My stepson was very impressed that there was a Dunkin Donuts right next door (although there seem to be Dunkin Donuts everywhere in NYC these days!!). The room was small, but clean and modern. Everyone at the hotel was very kind, and made us feel welcome. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TooChickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and utterly enjoyed it - great service from front desk and Starbucks Greg (the barista that served us). The hotel is located between downtown and uptown and walking distance to gems for great coffee, shopping etc. Very comfortable room, the bed was fantastic to sleep on and everything worked. Really no complaints or improvements that I can think of. Only thing is, beware of a rude guy that worked in Dunkin Donuts a few doors away, he literally shouted at my friend who placed an order...it was rude to the point of being funny. Anyway, this hotel was near Houston Street subway stop (1 min walk) and only 4 - 5 stops from Times Square.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kleeym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for one night (1/26/13). I was impressed with the cleanliness of the lobby, seating area and the room itself. It was the perfect location since we were seeing a band perform at the City Winery, which is literally a block away. The staff was friendly, the hotel was within walking distance to several restaurants, bars etc. and it was safe (you need a room card to work the elevator so people just can't come in off the street and have access to the rooms). The room is small but certainly adequate and has a large shower and bathroom (shower can fit two comfortably). The only reason I am not giving this a higher rank is the room I was in was facing Varick st and it was noisy; we could hear the traffic. All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masspedirn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Great location in Soho. Very helpful staff and I was pleasantly surprised by this new and modern property. Clean and comfortable with a great stall shower. Walking distance to Greenwich Village. I plan to stay here again when visiting NY.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mschorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last October and found it to be great. It is on Varrick St which can be busy but we were at the back of the hotel and it was really quiet. Our room as I said was at the back of the hotel and we had a view of the sun setting over the Hudson, pretty good. The staff were all excellent and very happy to help in any way they could. As it is quite a small hotel they quickly get to know you. Room was an average size for NYC with everything you need. Bathroom was a little small but very clean. Position on the edge of SOHO is just great. Some much within walking distance and a subway station on the next block. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baysidegirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#318 of 470 in New York City
965 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel Hugo
Hotel Hugo
#204 of 470 in New York City
1,379 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#304 of 470 in New York City
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#118 of 470 in New York City
898 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#166 of 470 in New York City
1,479 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#139 of 470 in New York City
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo

Address: 181 Varick St, New York City, NY 10014-4602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#116 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $192 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore a great lower Manhattan hotel in SoHo, convenient to New York University and the West Village. At the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo Hotel, you'll find a lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, easy access to the latest news, weather and airport info via the GoBoard, and Table 181 SoHo Cafe offering healthy breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee beverage options. Our guest rooms feature contemporary, modern design, plush bedding, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms even offer views of the Statue of Liberty and NYC's beautiful skyline. The Courtyard SoHo Hotel is near Greenwich Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and Canal Street, 10 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 12 miles from Newark Airport. We offer a well-equipped fitness center; a 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing area. Houston St. And Spring Street metro stations are also nearby. Your stay at our Courtyard SoHo NY hotel will be comfortable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing