We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Ranked #190 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location and within easy walking distance to a number of good restaurants. While the room was small, it had everything that we needed, was clean, and was very quiet, especially considering that we were there on a Saturday night. The staff were pleasant and helpful, accomodating our request for a delayed check-out and securing the cab for us when we left. We found the breakfast quite good as well. I would not hesitate to stay there again should we travel to NYC in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim_Paulon, Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

Wendy: Thank you so much for your feedback! On behalf of the team, we are delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay, and we look forward to hosting your next stay with us real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 569 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

We spent a Saturday night in Soho and we wisely chose this hotel. It is a short walk from virtually everything Soho has to offer. And the IRT subway entrance is on the opposite corner. The friendly front desk did accommodate our request for a high floor room, and early check-in. We had initially been offered a room on the third floor but did not like its location, but the staff did its utmost to put us in a room more to our liking. The room itself was comfortable, quiet, clean, nicely decorated and furnished, with excellent air conditioning, and it had a small refrigerator. Sleep quality was quite good. The food service downstairs serves breakfast items in the morning, and fresh complimentary coffee is available. Check out was quick and smooth and the staff did help us hail a cab. We'll be sure to stay here again when we revisit this part of town,

Room Tip: Go for higher floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCArchT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The Courtyard New York Soho makes no pretensions and doesn't need to in order to be a top notch destination Manhattan hotel. The staff is extraordinarily friendly, the location is terrific (comfortable walking distance to the many restaurants and shops of Soho and beyond, and adjacent to the Varick St/Houston No. 1 line subway station). The rooms are small-ish but well appointed and efficient, with Paul Smith amenities in the well-lit bathroom and a glass-enclosed "rain shower" to die for. The wi-fi is free and fast, the bed comfortable and the diminutive in-house restaurant/snack bar perfect for a light meal and/or drink. Can't think of a better or more reasonable property if it's in the Soho district you want to stay. PS: Individual rooms are probably best for a solo businessperson and/or a couple.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SantaFeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Thank you so much for the great review! On behalf of the team, we are so happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel. We look forward to hopefully hosting your next trip in NYC real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I travel back to NYC several times a year and I have stayed and reviewed in numerous NY hotels. This was my first stay at the Courtyard SOHO. Let me say right off that it was the best experience I've had in a long time. The staff could not be friendlier. Every time I came in or out I was greeted with smiles and courtesy. The room is small but very comfortable. The basement gym is well equipped and underused. The bar/breakfast counter off the lobby serves starbucks coffee and basic breakfast items and the staff there was extraordinarily nice and helpful.
Finally the location cannot be beat. Both the 1 and the E or C subway lines are a short walk away. A few blocks to the river and the pathway for running in the morning. A few blocks the other way and your on Prince or Spring Streets in the heart of SOHO. Tribeca is a short walk away as is Little Italy and the Village. Why stay anywhere else- seriously folks this is the place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

bccrab: If it is one thing we pride ourselves on, it's our top notch staff! We are so thrilled to hear you had an enjoyable time at our hotel, and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again real soon. Thank you for taking time out of your day to give us a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I stayed here recently using Marriott points so my expectations were to be relatively happy with whatever I got for free, especially given the usual prices for hotels in NYC. However, this place went way beyond my expectations, I really liked it and would pay to stay here next time. Everyone working there is personable and helpful, every single person I encountered. The hotel is small enough so that you can get in and out quickly, it doesn't take 20 minutes to get through a crowded lobby and up to the room. The elevators were quick, too. In the lobby they have everything you need - small breakfast place (where they had our bagels and cofee in a bag and ready to go, exactly what we needed on a very busy day) a little bar for a glass of wine at the end of the day , a couple of computers, in short, just what you need and nothing else. The hotel room itself was quite small, but it was very very clean, the bed was excellent, and I got a great night's sleep. What more could you ask? As the title says, I have already recommended it to friends who are in the city a lot.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RdSxfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

First, I'd like to start by saying this hotel did more than just meet my expectations, it actually exceeded them. I stay at Marriott brand hotels many times a year and this one did not disappoint. You can't beat the Soho location on Varick between King and Charlton. I arrived hours before check in and they already had a room ready which was unexpected so I was immediately pleased. The room was very clean and comfortable. I have been going to NYC a couple of times a year for many years so I have stayed in several other hotels in town. In my opinion, this room is a pretty decent size for rooms in this city. This area is pretty quiet at night so I had no problems with a lot of noise when I was trying to sleep. The bed is one of the most comfortable I've slept in. The bathroom is very nice and has a huge, walk-in shower, though the water pressure was lacking. The AC works GREAT. There is also a fridge AND a safe in the room, both being a huge plus. Unfortunately, there is only one ice-maker in the building and it's located on the lower level which is a bit of an inconvenience but luckily the elevators are quick so you don't have to wait too long to get down there and back.

I loved the location. It's really convenient to so many of the city's attractions along with great shopping and wonderful restaurant's. It is located a block from the red line (i.e 1-2-3 train) subway. This train will take you to or close to, just about anywhere in the city you'd like to go.

I would also like to mention that the customer service was outstanding. Everyone was just very friendly and it was very much appreciated. I look forward to staying at this hotel again in the future and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet, clean, comfortable and affordable place to stay in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MBCMemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Had a great four night stay recently and it was great. The staff could not do enough. They greeted us every time and were very friendly and helpful. The room was fairly typically Courtyard but that's not bad and every thing was new and very upscale. The location is just blocks from all the great sights of Soho and Greenwich Village. The subway is just at the end of the block. Really a nice, nice stay. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BonVoyage2U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#319 of 469 in New York City
958 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel Hugo
Hotel Hugo
#208 of 469 in New York City
1,351 reviews
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#304 of 469 in New York City
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#113 of 469 in New York City
889 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#141 of 469 in New York City
1,469 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#168 of 469 in New York City
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo

Address: 181 Varick St, New York City, NY 10014-4602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in New York City
#115 Business Hotel in New York City
#116 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $202 - $586 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore a great lower Manhattan hotel in SoHo, convenient to New York University and the West Village. At the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo Hotel, you'll find a lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, easy access to the latest news, weather and airport info via the GoBoard, and Table 181 SoHo Cafe offering healthy breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee beverage options. Our guest rooms feature contemporary, modern design, plush bedding, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms even offer views of the Statue of Liberty and NYC's beautiful skyline. The Courtyard SoHo Hotel is near Greenwich Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and Canal Street, 10 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 12 miles from Newark Airport. We offer a well-equipped fitness center; a 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing area. Houston St. And Spring Street metro stations are also nearby. Your stay at our Courtyard SoHo NY hotel will be comfortable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing