We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in a very nice location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Ranked #182 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level Contributor
371 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great place in a very nice location!”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Great modern hotel near the action of the West Village, SoHo and not far from Chelsea. I used to live in this neighborhood for years. Great place!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiriusSkier23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    219
    44
    7
    4
See reviews for
141
164
27
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naugatuck, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We recently stayed at the Courtyard Soho and found it to be a nice change of pace from Times Square and Midtown hotels. So quick on the subway up to the hustle and bustle and nice to "come home" to a quieter part of Manhattan. Great area near Chinatown and easy walk to 9/11 Memorial. The hotel is super comfortable and the staff is just awesome! Self parking in a lot around the corner worked out well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BARussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
155 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

My husband and I Love to stay at this small friendly hotel in soho. The location is perfect for walking, great restaurants and so convenient to the subway for getting to midtown. The hotel staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. They seem to know all their guests and call you by name! The rooms are immaculate...but small. Shower has a great shower head with great pressure and the bathroom is a decent size. The only reason I gave 4 stars VS 5 is because of the room size....but when in NYC you should not be spending time in your room! So much to see and do!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oatti0252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Texas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed here while visiting family. Fair price for NYC ; nice and modern. Highlight for me was the staff. Very friendly and helpful throughout my stay. I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickkcir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

New hotel boasting excellent and modern facilities. Rooms are a little small though, but not at all unusual for NY. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Good location and value for money... Will definitely stay there when returning to NY!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avaotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed here overnight on a weekend with a winter rate of $169. Hotel is new and clean with the rooms on the smallish side, which is apparently the norm in NYC. What sets this hotel apart is the extreme friendliness of the staff. Everyone went out of their way to say hello and ask how our stay was--housekeeping, maintenance, front desk as well as management.

I liked the location since there was a subway stop across the street and we were able to easily walk to the West Village. Lots of restaurant choices and jazz clubs.

The lobby is small but had cozy chairs and 4 computers. They had Starbucks coffee in the lobby as well as some food but it seemed a bit pricey for what you got.

Our room wasn't ready at noon so they held our bags. I had requested an upper level floor to try to minimize street noise but we were put on the 7th floor. Unfortunately the horn honking and screaming on the street did wake us up a few times.

The front desk accidentally gave us a wake up call at 6:30am which was awful since we were looking to sleep in for a change! They apologized immediately and let us check out at 2 which allowed us to tour the area a little more. The manager immediately sent us a email apologizing as well.

I forgot my cell phone charger and called when I got home. They had someone immediately go up to check the room and called me right back. They not only found it but put it right in the mail for me!

Overall if I were to travel to this area again, I would most certainly stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mapsNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

This was the third time that we stayed at the hotel. The hotel is located in a convenient area- relatively a short walking distance to China Town and Little Italy. On a nice day it is a nice walk to the Village. There is a subway station around the corner. If you drive in from the south, it is right near the Holland Tunnel so you don't have to drive through the city. We like the fact that it is not in the nosiest, busiest part of town.
The staff is fabulous- welcoming, friendly, helpful. Always with a smile on the their faces.
The rooms are cozy, clean with comfortable beds. The room size is typical for many NYC rooms. In the past, we paid much more for smaller rooms. The price for NYC is very reasonable.
Two things to consider. The breakfast is not worth the money. You can get a cheaper and better breakfast nearby. If you are driving in, don't pay the hotel to park the car. There is a cheaper deal around the corner (On Spring street)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chefDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#335 of 468 in New York City
912 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel Hugo
Hotel Hugo
#229 of 468 in New York City
1,193 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#151 of 468 in New York City
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#297 of 468 in New York City
1,653 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#113 of 468 in New York City
582 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#176 of 468 in New York City
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Address: 181 Varick St, New York City, NY 10014-4602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#118 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore a great lower Manhattan hotel in SoHo, convenient to New York University and the West Village. At the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo Hotel, you'll find a lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, easy access to the latest news, weather and airport info via the GoBoard, and Table 181 SoHo Cafe offering healthy breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee beverage options. Our guest rooms feature contemporary, modern design, plush bedding, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms even offer views of the Statue of Liberty and NYC's beautiful skyline. The Courtyard SoHo Hotel is near Greenwich Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and Canal Street, 10 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 12 miles from Newark Airport. We offer a well-equipped fitness center; a 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing area. Houston St. And Spring Street metro stations are also nearby. Your stay at our Courtyard SoHo NY hotel will be comfortable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing