We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Ranked #182 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

Spent 4 nights in NY, 3 of them at this hotel and it was great. The woman that checked us in was so helpful and very friendly. And each staff person we came across throughout our stay, be it front desk, housekeeping, security, restaurant, etc. - everyone was very friendly. If you're unfamiliar with NY or the area, please take advantage of the front desk. They know the city well and are very willing to help out.

The rooms are comfortable. We were on the 5th floor and our room faced the street, which we enjoyed thoroughly. You're in Manhattan, so if you're concerned about street noise I would suggest requesting a room on a higher floor and away from the street.

The hotel is centrally located near many trains that can get you anywhere in the city. It's also close enough to many great restaurants and shops that you may not even need a train. During our stay, we used the train just twice and were able to walk everywhere else.

Thanks for a great stay, Courtyard!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamilleAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    219
    44
    7
    4
See reviews for
141
164
27
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Just got back from 4 nights in NYC and this hotel exceeded our expectations. It's a new property so everything was nice, comfortable and in working order. The staff were great -- very friendly and very helpful. It's in a great location -- both the East and West Village are just a couple of blocks away. If you're a "hang out in the room on vacation" person, then you might want to go a little more upscale. But if you're a "I'm in NYC, want a comfy bed, clean shower, great location to hang my clothes while I go explore" person, then you can't go wrong. Two local restaurant recommendations are Aqua Grill (go for champagne and oysters at lunch) and Johns Pizza on Bleeker Street (coal-fired ovens since 1929!). Also, if you're a music lover, check out City Winery, which is 1 block away and is a great venue. And the NYC Fire Museum is just 2 blocks away and a fun place to kill an hour or so. We used Marriott points (LOVE my Marriott Visa card!) so the room expense didn't come into play.

Room Tip: If NYC traffic gets to you, then inquire regarding room location, but we were on 7th floor (of 18) a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG_IslandHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
118 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I wanted to stay in Soho this time around and after browsing around found out this place well rated at TA. I had enough Mariott points for a free night, and after making sure that this wasn't one of those bland cream colored units nearby airports I decided to give it a try.

What a great find! At first I thought this wasn't quite in the thick of things in Soho, but that's actually a great thing since you are also nearby the West Village and its wealth of restaurants. Add to it a subway stop quite across the street - and the one that can take you to the air link connection to JFK 3 blocks away - and you simply can't beat location (for comparison purposes, you are half a block from the 4 P's by Sheraton and three from the Trump Hotel).

It gets better. The building is crispy new, the room looks like a traditional Marriott (though much more compact) and that great bed and million pillows are the same! Self controlled air con, perfectly working wifi (included), flat screen TV, iron and coffee/tea making equipment. There was a good sized bathroom with walk in power shower. All this well cleaned and groomed.

Last but not least, as already stated by all reviewers, all the staff here certainly make it to the friendliest and most willing to help hotel crew you are ever likely to meet. Nothing was too much trouble, be it an info, a room change or a restaurant or commuting tip. It makes you come back just to see these folks again. Thank you!

This is a comfortable, well appointed hotel with great service. I am sure that you can't beat the value, especially during high season when the prices of hotels triple from current winter levels. It is perfect for business (forgot to mention the 4 computers with printers free to use at the lobby), friend's getaway and family travel. Bear in mind though that this is not a luxury hotel (though it delivers better service than many), so you won't find a chef starred restaurant, bath robes, slippers or luxury beauty products for your romantic getaway. It gets a 5-star for the value it delivers at this price category. And I really wish to be here pretty soon again!

Room Tip: Rooms 1, 7 and 8 are on the back hence quieter (there are 8 rooms per floor), 1 is probably best as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lune14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I stayed at this Courtyard for two nights and enjoyed every minute of it. The fitness center is immaculate and well stocked. (It is always nice when the machines are clean and they work!) The room was comfortable and clean, and there is a Starbucks in the lobby. I cannot say enough about the staff. They were all incredibly helpful and friendly. Added bonus: great location! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarianaWhitmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights at the end of December 2011. We loved all the restaurants and the variety of same, within a short walk as Varick Street borders Little Italy. We travelled north, turned right at Carmine St and then up to Bleeker St. Lots of price ranges to suit all budgets. Also several Jazz clubs that area. When you walk out of the hotel, you can turn left or right to grab an inexpensive breakfast, only a minute or two either way. The subway was just on the corner of W Houston St (left out of the hotel). There's a guest self-serve laundry (with complimentary wash powder from the front desk) next to the gym. Oh, and the staff were always in a good mood, always willing to assist. As others have mentioned, the room wasn't that big and I agree with past comments, it was clean, comfortable, quiet & secure, you need your room swipe card to operate the lift. Varick St turns into 7th Ave as you head north and not too far from the 5th Ave shops (east). Don't eat at King Wok in Varick St unless you like bland food.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzAverageTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Can't beat this place in NYC for location and price and friendliness. Room was the expected small, but comfortable.and clean and quiet! We felt like a part of the neighborhood and made good use of the Number 1 just up the block. There was an extra nice attendant at the wine bar -you should stop in and say hello to him; and the wines were some of California's nicest. Stayed 4 nights. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Our particular room did not have good cell phone reception, but others may.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsParke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I have recently started traveling to New York City on business and I have stayed here 4 times in the past year. I like the location, close to Soho and Chelsea and great restaurants without feeling too crowded. The subway is a block away and the staff always makes me feel welcome. They even recommended a terrific car service (Toche Global Chauffeured Services) that I will review separately. They meet me at La Guardia on time and when I need to leave at 4:00 or 5:00 a.m. to go home they are always waiting in the lobby when I come downstairs. The rooms in this hotel are small, but certainly in line with other New York City rooms. The hotel is fairly new, I think about a year old, so it is in great shape. I enjoy having the Starbucks in the lobby and the staff there is always cheerful. I use the exercise room and it has everything one would need for a good workout. My room had a nice view out to Staten Island and I was on the top floor, so I felt completely comfortable with the shades open. One thing about this hotel is that the prices for the rooms can vary widely depending on what is going on in the city - I have been surprised a couple of times by price hikes of as much as $300 (this was during "fashion week" in September). Overall, this is a really great hotel in a good location. I will stay here whenever I am in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Staten Island and an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank criswelldavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan SoHo Village
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#335 of 468 in New York City
913 reviews
Manhattan
Hotel Hugo
Hotel Hugo
#229 of 468 in New York City
1,195 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#151 of 468 in New York City
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
Hampton Inn Manhattan-SoHo
#297 of 468 in New York City
1,653 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#113 of 468 in New York City
582 reviews
TriBeCa
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribeca
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Tribe...
#176 of 468 in New York City
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo

Property: Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo
Address: 181 Varick St, New York City, NY 10014-4602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#71 Family Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
#118 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore a great lower Manhattan hotel in SoHo, convenient to New York University and the West Village. At the Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo Hotel, you'll find a lobby with inviting spaces to work or relax in, easy access to the latest news, weather and airport info via the GoBoard, and Table 181 SoHo Cafe offering healthy breakfast and Starbucks(R) coffee beverage options. Our guest rooms feature contemporary, modern design, plush bedding, and complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms even offer views of the Statue of Liberty and NYC's beautiful skyline. The Courtyard SoHo Hotel is near Greenwich Village, Little Italy, Chinatown and Canal Street, 10 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 12 miles from Newark Airport. We offer a well-equipped fitness center; a 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing area. Houston St. And Spring Street metro stations are also nearby. Your stay at our Courtyard SoHo NY hotel will be comfortable and productive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/SoHo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Soho Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing